We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic family break, in a location with excellent local rail connection with Malaga Airport.”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 21 August 2012

What a great break. We stayed for 14 nights and have no complaints. Meals - largely from the Andalucian region, as you would expect being located in said region of Spain. Some British guests were not satisfied with the meal choices but i believe that if you want British choices then you should consider a break in the UK. Our 6 year old daughter always managed to find a meal selection that she enjoyed. There was always plenty of fresh produce and fruit and thankfully little junk food. We were always able to find a table in the large restaurant, even during busy periods. We would generally have our evening meal at 21:00 as the Spanish guests tend to eat slightly later and the dining room then becomes very busy. The bedroom - was more than adequate in size, two single beds and a substantial 'Z' bed for our daughter. Double wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a desk / dressing table. Rental of the electronic safe is approx 19 euros a week plus a 10 euro deposit. Our balcony had a sea view and although not large it was adequate for us and provided an excellent facility to dry clothes and beach towells. The cleaners would change bath towells as required and always cleaned the room and bathroom to a high standard. The Pool - excellent and popular facility for all. The main pool was approx 20m x 10m, 1.5m deep at the shallow end increasing to 3m at the deep end. The child pool was an adequate paddling pool adjacent to the main pool which gave the younger children the opportunity to have some serious water splashing fun. A life-guard was also present 7 days a week from 11am-7pm. Entertainment - a weekly rotating programme provided activities during the day for children (table tennis, bowling, boules, craft sessions etc) and an evening programme that included dancing, games, picture colouring etc. Other entertainment included a reptile show, birds of prey show, Spanish dancing and light entertainment variety shows for adults including a light hearted Bingo game and audience participation Mr & Mrs game. The current entertainment programme doesn't provide any entertainment on a Monday. Gardens - colourful and well kept, plenty of lawn areas to relax if you choose not to be pool side. All the communial areas are kept very clean and tidy and for those guests that rise early you will see the dedicated cleaning team in action preparing the hotel for the forthcoming day. All staff are polite and will always assist you where they are able to. Transport - excellent links within a few minutes (4-5) walk fom the hotel to the Renfe train line running between Malaga and Fuengirola every 20 minutes. The last train from Malaga is approx 22:30 and from Fuengirola approx 23:20, dependant on season. Cheap travel for approx 1.65 euros single. Definately a hotel we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a sea view. The evening entertainment can often run past midnight and takes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorky-Biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear customer,

We greatly appreciate your review. The customer satisfaction encourages us to keep improving every day. We hope to have you with us soon :) As comets our buffet offers a variety of food, meat, fish, pasta, rice, salads and grilled food. We offer a Mediterranean and international food, no junk food, as you said. Cleanliness is one of our strengths. We strive hard to make everything perfect for our customers. We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for our news and specials.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having returned from an eight night stay at this hotel, i still cant get over how disgusting the pool was. After contacting the manager with our complaint on the first day, he admitted that it hadnt been cleaned at the beginning of the season, but!!!! they were treating it with a cleanser due to health issues!!!Enter pool at own risk! This put a big damper on our holiday as we all enjoy a dip in the pool. The only way of cooling off was having a shower which was next to the ses pit! Gardens were lovely, friendly staff, food ok, rooms could do with a lick of paint. Also complained first day about dead bird jammed in air condition unit at front of hotel, still there on departure, i will never return here EVER!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharoniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear customer,

Our pool is in perfect condition and complies with all relevant legal permits. There is no risk to health, as you said. I sincerely believe that your complaint is not based on objective fact. It should not make such accusations without arguments, since they generate a false alarm. As you said he received a good service in our hotel and facilities seemed adequate.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here with my husband, brother and sister-in-law and loved it. The rooms were a good size, clean and well presented, and air conditioned. Bathrooms were very clean and tidy and although mine was a good size, my brothers was cramped and bath rather small. The food was exactly as I expected and better than what you get in most spanish hotels at this price. Good selection in buffet and I know there has been bad reviews of food but we went half board and I am not sure what people expect when hotels are catering for large numbers arriving at differrent times but we all found more than enough choice. Good selection of fish dishes which I particularly enjoyed.
I agree that the entertainment is geared towards Spanish but then this is not your run of the mill hotel geared for British package trade. I for one was glad as we could relax around the pool without usual boisterous behaviour and language. the pool is a little deep for children who are not good swimmers and I would not be happy allowing younger chidren in without an adult in with them.
I found all the staff very helpful and in particular the outside bar staff in the evening. On evenings when they were running quis type entertainment they realised some on the Spanish phrases were over our head and helped us out.
Hotel is a few minutes from the beach and promenade which is beautiful and stretches for miles. Very busy at night with roller skaters and skateboarders. Hotel is not in town centre but a train that runs from airport right down to Fuengirola runs behind hotel about 2 mins walk away. We used this to get around and it is very cheap compared with UK and service into Torremolinos is very frequent. All in all a great stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Rooms to back and higher floors have a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviamcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We love having you here again :) We invite you to follow us on our social networks (Facebook and Twitter). See you soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just got back today after a week all inclusive at the Royal Costa Hotel and we had a lovely time. The weather was brilliant, the location was brilliant for families, couples and young people. We were 3 mins from the train station and just 5mins on the train from Torremolinos. The beach near the hotel (los alamos) was lovely...lots of great little seafood restaurants-turned lively bars with lounge chairs and four poster bed things! Torremolinos town was lovely and we would stay there if we went to costa del sol again.

The hotel was clean, modern and spacious. Our room didn't have a great view but it was spotless clean, no bugs and had massive wardrobe! My main problems with our holiday were to do with the all inclusive food and drink... and the staff.

The all inclusive bar didn't include many different spirits and the cups were tiny and plastic- people that were paying directly for drinks got a real glass- of good size which annoyed me thinking about how much we paid for the holiday. I know i read the reviews about bar staff serving spanish people first; but i didnt realise just how bad it would be. Not sure if its just a British thing of queuing, but if a spanish guest came to the bar i was completely ignored- and its down to one thing, that I am English. The food was ok... my boyfriend handled the food better than I did, but i am fussy. The themed nights of 'indian and mexican' are non existant- it was the same grated carrot, grated beetroot, pork and fish! i still managed to eat though so cant complain. We ate at the snack bar one lunch time- burger was 7euros and came raw and cold in the middle...would not recommend.

As a young couple we got on ok here as we were off doing our own things, but for people relying on entertainment, making friends and those who have kids- i would not recommend at all. the resort of los alamos is a place for spanish tourists only. Although the entertainment staff can speak English they choose not to translate- so poor little English kids are sat there with nothing to do and we were trying to guess the spanish numbers in bingo and trying to guess the games that were going on on stage!

It was a very enjoyable holiday to just relax and explore but I wouldn't visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you soon in our hotel during your next vacation. We will take note of all your comments to further improve our service. Our all-inclusive resort offers a variety of food, sorry you have not found anything of your liking. We invite you to follow us on our social networks (Facebook and Twitter).

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I spent 5 days here in July with my mother and daughter in a triple room (2 singles and a camp bed) on an all inclusive basis. We purely booked it for a relaxing break in the sun to get a tan before my brothers wedding. The staff were all really lovely and the rooms were fine and had air con which was a bonus. The bathroom was a bit of a nightmare though as the door only opened about 18 inched before it hit the bidet so you had to go in sideways! The bath was also recessed so you had to climb in the sloped end which was quite a challenge. The food however was pretty dire! There was a themed menu each night ranging from Indian cuisine, Italian and traditional Andalucian food but despite this the food was exactly the same each night! The salads looked brown (the lady popped out and grabbed a handful of the brown leaves from the top of the bowl every now and then) The spirits were quite obviously watered down but the beer (San Miguel) and the Sangria was nice.
No entertainment as such in the evening which was a bit of a shame although they had kids discos etc.

Usual reserved sun loungers each morning, we did complain and they said staff go round at 11am each day to take towels off beds that are being reserved which basically means people can reserve beds until just before 11am!

It was a 10 minute walk to the local beach which was really lovely, much nicer than the one at Torremolinos, 4 Euros for a sun lounger for the whole day with a huge thick mattress like cushion.

All in all it was a lovely break and the terrible food helped with the pre wedding diet!I would go back but only on a bed and breakfast basis and walk to the restaurants near the beach for meals. We only paid £100 a night for food, drinks and accommodation for 3 adults so can't really complain, I would have been gutted if it was my main holiday of the year, no way could I endure the food for 2 weeks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clarah-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Friend,

Thanks for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again. We will take note and pass your comments to the relevant departments.

Greetings from Torremolinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we were staying in this hotel and it was booked for us by our insurance when my son was not well enough to fly, we satyed for 5 days and found it to be very clean, ALL the staff were very helpful and friendly.
the food was ok exactly what you would expect in the style of hotel. all the other peolpe i spoke to and i spoke to alot all said they were enjoying it.
in relation to the comments i have just read about were it was situated most people would look were a hotel is situated prior to booking it. Myself and my son went in to town evry night (5 no.) by train 7 minutes only at a cost of £3.20 euros. I live in newcastle with my family and as per hotel costa we live in a part of the city, i see it unbelievalbe some one complains about having to get a bus into taown when they could jump on a bus some distance away to get on when they could jump on a train that 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff on reception could not do any more for us, i found them all to be over helpful, the toilets clean (very) the rooms clean and cleaned every day.
i would return to this hotel with my family any time and find it some people just want to complain.
THANK YOU HOTEL COSTA FOR HELPING US AND MAKING THIS TIME VERY ENJOYABLE !!!!!

Room Tip: i would have a room over the pool on the 4th or 6th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNewcastle450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. We are delighted to know that our clients spend a great holiday in Hotel Royal Costa. The daily feedback with our guests makes us keep improving. Doubly appreciate your review, and we know that it is unusual for people coming to Tripadvisor to say how much they have enjoyed. We hope to see you again with us and we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

(WE DIDNT ENCOUNTER ANY RACISM) We stayed for 10 nights with two young children. The hotel was clean, the rooms spacious, the pool nice, the staff pleasant. There could do with being more entertainment in the evenings particularly. The entertainment staff could do with speaking a little more english too. The only thing that would prevent me from staying again would be the food. I do expect it to be fairly repetitive when on All Inclusive but this food really was quite poor. It was salty, oily and not much selection either. Too much pork/veal.

The Lifeguard who works on a Weds and Thurs is miserable and rude but the guy the rest of the time was lovely!

Room Tip: Rooms without a pool view seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation. As you said our staff is friendly with all our cleitnes, regardless of nationality or culture neustros visitors. We regret that we have not met your expectations in our All Inclusive ralación offer great quality - price. We will pass your comments back to the animation department.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#52 of 71 in Torremolinos
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#34 of 71 in Torremolinos
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
533 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £44 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing