We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment Poor”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Overall we had a great holiday but that's because of the people we met. The hotel is very clean and food was edible. Lifeguard on duty was fantastic Train station is 5 minutes away so fantastic to get about. My daughter is 7 and I feel if she had not met up with her friend from Liverpool she would have been bored to tears. Nothing was translated into English so she was very reluctant to join in with anything. If you went to the bar and you didn't speak English you were served last. We played Bingo one night and was given a toothpick, bingo card but numbers were called in spanish!!! Another night it was mini disco and my daughter braved it with her friend but rep spent more time going out back to get tennis bats for people so my daughter gave up and left the stage, On our last night the Children's entertainment didn't start while 12AM and it was to model best wear then swimwear? I find it bizzare that bar closes at 11PM but children are encouraged to stay up but I guess that's so we spend our money! You also have to vacate bar area at 1AM (wasn't aware as no information stating this) so if you did buy drinks you were unable to finish them. I found the entertainment really poor and to be honest very ignorant as nothing was aimed at the English.Monday night no entertainment or music and its the same entertainment week in week out. I got to see the owl show twice as we stayed 10 nights. All I can advise is if your after Kids club and some good entertainment then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Hi Sam,

Thank you very much for trusting Hotel Royal Costa. We appreciate your feedback, satisfaction of our customers is very important. We will take note of your comments on animation to further improve our services. Sorry for the inconvenience. As you said the cleanliness in our hotel is a maximum. hope to see you here soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Royal Costa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just got home from 7 days all inclusive. Weather was fantastic and hotel very clean. The food is ok but a bit predictable. Some parents found it difficult to feed young children as the choice was very limited. Their are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and the all inclusive runs from 11am till 11pm so it's difficult to get even a soft drink or a coffee before and after these times. The evening entertainment is rubbish for British guests as it's all in Spanish so the Brit kids find it hard to join in and there is very little aimed at adults so most people found they had to got out for the eveining which makes going all inclusive a bit pointless. The pool is clean and warm and manned by a lifeguard but is very deep. We heard alot of comments from nervous parents with small children about safety.
On our last night we were having a farewell drink with a couple of families we had become friends with ( which we had purchased as it was after 11pm) in the outside bar area. The childrens entertainment hadn't finished until 12.30 so we were finishing our drinks when we were asked to leave the area by a member of the hotel staff. He was not happy that we wanted to finish our drinks first and was very rude. There were a couple of Spanish families still finishing drinks too but he only spole to us. After about 5 minutes he returned and said we would have to leave the area as it closed at 1am ( something we were not aware of after spending a week there). He then said that if we didn't leave he would call the police. None of us took him seriously as we felt that 3 women, three men and two sleeping toddlers in buggies sitting at a table chatting wasn't really a threat to national security. However he did call the police and 10 minutes later 3 ploice cars with lights flashing and 6 officers with batons turned up. They were very aggresive, particularly to the women. They asked to see our passports threatened to arrest us if we didn't co operate. What an absolutely ridiculous situation. After nearly half an hour, the only police officer that spoke any English managed to sort out that the hotel reception guy had called them to tell them that we were playing loud music and fighting. What a liar. He had also spoken to us in English earlier and yet suddenly lost the ability when we asked him what it was we were supposed to have done. All in all a very scary and stressful end to our holiday. We complained to the hotel staff the following morning but there was no manager or duty manager available to speak to although the guy on reception did apologise. So if you stay at the Royal Costa make sure you don't stay up past your bedtime or you may end up in jail or worse.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

What a great break. We stayed for 14 nights and have no complaints. Meals - largely from the Andalucian region, as you would expect being located in said region of Spain. Some British guests were not satisfied with the meal choices but i believe that if you want British choices then you should consider a break in the UK. Our 6 year old daughter always managed to find a meal selection that she enjoyed. There was always plenty of fresh produce and fruit and thankfully little junk food. We were always able to find a table in the large restaurant, even during busy periods. We would generally have our evening meal at 21:00 as the Spanish guests tend to eat slightly later and the dining room then becomes very busy. The bedroom - was more than adequate in size, two single beds and a substantial 'Z' bed for our daughter. Double wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a desk / dressing table. Rental of the electronic safe is approx 19 euros a week plus a 10 euro deposit. Our balcony had a sea view and although not large it was adequate for us and provided an excellent facility to dry clothes and beach towells. The cleaners would change bath towells as required and always cleaned the room and bathroom to a high standard. The Pool - excellent and popular facility for all. The main pool was approx 20m x 10m, 1.5m deep at the shallow end increasing to 3m at the deep end. The child pool was an adequate paddling pool adjacent to the main pool which gave the younger children the opportunity to have some serious water splashing fun. A life-guard was also present 7 days a week from 11am-7pm. Entertainment - a weekly rotating programme provided activities during the day for children (table tennis, bowling, boules, craft sessions etc) and an evening programme that included dancing, games, picture colouring etc. Other entertainment included a reptile show, birds of prey show, Spanish dancing and light entertainment variety shows for adults including a light hearted Bingo game and audience participation Mr & Mrs game. The current entertainment programme doesn't provide any entertainment on a Monday. Gardens - colourful and well kept, plenty of lawn areas to relax if you choose not to be pool side. All the communial areas are kept very clean and tidy and for those guests that rise early you will see the dedicated cleaning team in action preparing the hotel for the forthcoming day. All staff are polite and will always assist you where they are able to. Transport - excellent links within a few minutes (4-5) walk fom the hotel to the Renfe train line running between Malaga and Fuengirola every 20 minutes. The last train from Malaga is approx 22:30 and from Fuengirola approx 23:20, dependant on season. Cheap travel for approx 1.65 euros single. Definately a hotel we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a sea view. The evening entertainment can often run past midnight and takes...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorky-Biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear customer,

We greatly appreciate your review. The customer satisfaction encourages us to keep improving every day. We hope to have you with us soon :) As comets our buffet offers a variety of food, meat, fish, pasta, rice, salads and grilled food. We offer a Mediterranean and international food, no junk food, as you said. Cleanliness is one of our strengths. We strive hard to make everything perfect for our customers. We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for our news and specials.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having returned from an eight night stay at this hotel, i still cant get over how disgusting the pool was. After contacting the manager with our complaint on the first day, he admitted that it hadnt been cleaned at the beginning of the season, but!!!! they were treating it with a cleanser due to health issues!!!Enter pool at own risk! This put a big damper on our holiday as we all enjoy a dip in the pool. The only way of cooling off was having a shower which was next to the ses pit! Gardens were lovely, friendly staff, food ok, rooms could do with a lick of paint. Also complained first day about dead bird jammed in air condition unit at front of hotel, still there on departure, i will never return here EVER!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharoniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear customer,

Our pool is in perfect condition and complies with all relevant legal permits. There is no risk to health, as you said. I sincerely believe that your complaint is not based on objective fact. It should not make such accusations without arguments, since they generate a false alarm. As you said he received a good service in our hotel and facilities seemed adequate.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here with my husband, brother and sister-in-law and loved it. The rooms were a good size, clean and well presented, and air conditioned. Bathrooms were very clean and tidy and although mine was a good size, my brothers was cramped and bath rather small. The food was exactly as I expected and better than what you get in most spanish hotels at this price. Good selection in buffet and I know there has been bad reviews of food but we went half board and I am not sure what people expect when hotels are catering for large numbers arriving at differrent times but we all found more than enough choice. Good selection of fish dishes which I particularly enjoyed.
I agree that the entertainment is geared towards Spanish but then this is not your run of the mill hotel geared for British package trade. I for one was glad as we could relax around the pool without usual boisterous behaviour and language. the pool is a little deep for children who are not good swimmers and I would not be happy allowing younger chidren in without an adult in with them.
I found all the staff very helpful and in particular the outside bar staff in the evening. On evenings when they were running quis type entertainment they realised some on the Spanish phrases were over our head and helped us out.
Hotel is a few minutes from the beach and promenade which is beautiful and stretches for miles. Very busy at night with roller skaters and skateboarders. Hotel is not in town centre but a train that runs from airport right down to Fuengirola runs behind hotel about 2 mins walk away. We used this to get around and it is very cheap compared with UK and service into Torremolinos is very frequent. All in all a great stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Rooms to back and higher floors have a good sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviamcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We love having you here again :) We invite you to follow us on our social networks (Facebook and Twitter). See you soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just got back today after a week all inclusive at the Royal Costa Hotel and we had a lovely time. The weather was brilliant, the location was brilliant for families, couples and young people. We were 3 mins from the train station and just 5mins on the train from Torremolinos. The beach near the hotel (los alamos) was lovely...lots of great little seafood restaurants-turned lively bars with lounge chairs and four poster bed things! Torremolinos town was lovely and we would stay there if we went to costa del sol again.

The hotel was clean, modern and spacious. Our room didn't have a great view but it was spotless clean, no bugs and had massive wardrobe! My main problems with our holiday were to do with the all inclusive food and drink... and the staff.

The all inclusive bar didn't include many different spirits and the cups were tiny and plastic- people that were paying directly for drinks got a real glass- of good size which annoyed me thinking about how much we paid for the holiday. I know i read the reviews about bar staff serving spanish people first; but i didnt realise just how bad it would be. Not sure if its just a British thing of queuing, but if a spanish guest came to the bar i was completely ignored- and its down to one thing, that I am English. The food was ok... my boyfriend handled the food better than I did, but i am fussy. The themed nights of 'indian and mexican' are non existant- it was the same grated carrot, grated beetroot, pork and fish! i still managed to eat though so cant complain. We ate at the snack bar one lunch time- burger was 7euros and came raw and cold in the middle...would not recommend.

As a young couple we got on ok here as we were off doing our own things, but for people relying on entertainment, making friends and those who have kids- i would not recommend at all. the resort of los alamos is a place for spanish tourists only. Although the entertainment staff can speak English they choose not to translate- so poor little English kids are sat there with nothing to do and we were trying to guess the spanish numbers in bingo and trying to guess the games that were going on on stage!

It was a very enjoyable holiday to just relax and explore but I wouldn't visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you soon in our hotel during your next vacation. We will take note of all your comments to further improve our service. Our all-inclusive resort offers a variety of food, sorry you have not found anything of your liking. We invite you to follow us on our social networks (Facebook and Twitter).

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I spent 5 days here in July with my mother and daughter in a triple room (2 singles and a camp bed) on an all inclusive basis. We purely booked it for a relaxing break in the sun to get a tan before my brothers wedding. The staff were all really lovely and the rooms were fine and had air con which was a bonus. The bathroom was a bit of a nightmare though as the door only opened about 18 inched before it hit the bidet so you had to go in sideways! The bath was also recessed so you had to climb in the sloped end which was quite a challenge. The food however was pretty dire! There was a themed menu each night ranging from Indian cuisine, Italian and traditional Andalucian food but despite this the food was exactly the same each night! The salads looked brown (the lady popped out and grabbed a handful of the brown leaves from the top of the bowl every now and then) The spirits were quite obviously watered down but the beer (San Miguel) and the Sangria was nice.
No entertainment as such in the evening which was a bit of a shame although they had kids discos etc.

Usual reserved sun loungers each morning, we did complain and they said staff go round at 11am each day to take towels off beds that are being reserved which basically means people can reserve beds until just before 11am!

It was a 10 minute walk to the local beach which was really lovely, much nicer than the one at Torremolinos, 4 Euros for a sun lounger for the whole day with a huge thick mattress like cushion.

All in all it was a lovely break and the terrible food helped with the pre wedding diet!I would go back but only on a bed and breakfast basis and walk to the restaurants near the beach for meals. We only paid £100 a night for food, drinks and accommodation for 3 adults so can't really complain, I would have been gutted if it was my main holiday of the year, no way could I endure the food for 2 weeks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clarah-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Friend,

Thanks for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again. We will take note and pass your comments to the relevant departments.

Greetings from Torremolinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#35 of 71 in Torremolinos
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#48 of 71 in Torremolinos
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £44 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing