We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel... People just too fussy”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel... People just too fussy”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Honest opinion... Was a bit worried going to this hotel after reading the reviews, but it's not bad at all. 10 night stay and loved it! Staff were all nice... Especially the lifeguard. The hotel did have a lot of Spanish in the hotel... Sometimes did appear that the entertainment was geared more to Spanish. Entertainment is boring for English so probably not recommend stoping in hotel at night . Best to go out of hotel drinking . most night we caught the train to Torramolinos which was 1.65 euro... 5 minute journey and train station next to hotel. There is 3 local restaurants/bars and one supermarket near the hotel but you can practically go anywhere on the train for cheap so didn't matter that we wasn't surrounded by bars. The hotel is good for families/couples... Hotel is very clean... Cleaners are very polite and friendly and do an excellent job. The hotel is a nice hotel reception area, sitting areas/ dining area nice and modern. Bathrooms quite spacious, bedroom was an ok size...Also there is a nice beach near by 10 minute walk, we spent most days down there very nice. Food breakfast could be better but there is always something to eat the fried breakfast isn't good but I just ate toast, yogurt and cereal for breakfast. Evening meal was good most times. It's good food not all fatty rubbish foods. Although children been fussy Eaters might struggle. Food consisted of salad ever day which was all fresh and well presented. Chips or potatoes every day, vegetables. They also had a variety of meats/fish which were all good. Chicken stakes were really tasty. Had no tummy aches or anything with the food. Deserts were all good too. Fruit, jellys, cakes, Angel delight. All good.... All in all I think this is a good hotel.. We met some lovely people here and loved it. The holiday is what you make of. Nice place and would defiantly return back... People are just too fussy on
Here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to Tripadvisor users. We are delighted to know that customers like you are very satisfied with the care provided. We will take note of the comments and suggestions we do to continue to improve our standard of quality. We appreciate your comments about our buffet, as your comets have several alternatives to eat. I hope again in our hotel and we invite you to follow us on Facebook.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    282
    261
    127
    114
See reviews for
310
330
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This Hotel is Clean Staff Friendly Food good.
We have just spent a week at this Hotel and found All the staff to be friendly. Hotel rooms cleaned every day all areas cleaned and tidied everyday. Entertainment was good for the kids in the day and at night. Quiz night bingo night was a good laugh spoke in English and Spanish. Food have not got any complaints. Bar staff treated everyone the same with a smile. Would go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed floor 6 which was good as noise level was low xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MozzerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We like to know that everything has been to your liking during your well-deserved vacation. As well comets all our guests are welcome without exception :) See you on our Facebook page and wish to see you back with us.

Greetings from the Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Me and my friend stayed here for 6 days from 28th aug - 3rd Sept and we had a good time. The hotel was very clean and we had no problem with the staff. The food was pretty poor and the sausages on the breakfast menu was hotdogs lol. They did have snacks on the bar on an afternoon with included burgers, fries or pizza. The train station is next to the hotel so do not get a transfer just pay €1.65 for the train and its 2 stops away. Free wifi was available in the hotel when you request a password from reception however it only works downstairs and not in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just back from a 1 weeks last minute break to the Royal Costa hotel, and I don't really have any complaints at all. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - I asked to change my room on arrival, as it stank of smoke, and it was no problem at all. We were moved straight away to another more suitable room. The hotel was spotlessly clean, I witnessed the maids frantically cleaning the public areas every morning at 7.30am. The bar staff were friendly too if you took the nice way with them, and I had no problems getting served drinks whatsoever, all that is required is a little bit of patience. The food was repitive, but plentiful, and replenished regularly, so I always had something hot to eat. The entertainment was a bit poor, but at least there was something to watch. The hotel is In a suburb of Torremolinos, a little place called Los Alamos, only 2 stops away and €1.60 on the train, if you did fancy a trip into the hustle and bustle. Personally I preferred to stay here in Los Alamos, as it was lovely and quiet at night time, no problems getting asleep. The hotel is very popular with the Spanish, who had a tendency to take over the pool from 5pm... The lifeguard by the pool was a lovely chap, so very attentive to the children and excellent at his job. Sunbeds are not meant to be reserved, there are signs all around the pool area,but unfortunately, noone paid a blind bit of notice to this. If you did not get down until about 9.30am, all beds were taken! The beach was a good 10/15 minute walk away. All in all, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate that you trust us for your holidays in the Costa del Sol. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal Costa. We will take note of all your comments and suggestions. It will be a pleasure to have you and your family in our accommodation.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Do not go to this hotel if you are english! unless u want to be ingored and treated like you are not welcome the food is terriable from resturant and bar the staff was unfriendly the mini disco (if u can call it that) did not start till 10pm only spoke spanish!! if u was english child or adult u was ingnored the pool was a murky colour you could not even see the sign at the bottom.
you have been warned dont make the mistake i did stay away!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear customer,

First we want to thank you for your confidence in Royal Coast Hotel. We regret not meeting their expectations, many British customers are saying quite the opposite to what you said, we believe there is a review conducted objectively. In our hotel we do not serve junk food, we offer great variety of salads, hot and cold dishes of European and Mediterranean food. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

just got back from the royal cost 1ST away from every thing middle ov no where hotel very clean ,food was poor if you like pork everyday thats all your gettin i found not 1 but 2 human hairs in my food nothing was done about this matter absolute joke . Lukly are stay was only a 4 day get away wich was enjoyed on the beach .if your english dont bother going as your stood at the bar to get a drink for half an hour because the spanish get served 1st then us english last as it is a hotel for the spanish NOT english so be warned us brits not for us a total honest appinion BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont gooooo !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights Sunday 26th August- Friday 31st August.
It is a lovely hotel always clean and cleaners come in to make your beds and change towels everyday. Staff are mostly friendly especially the reception staff. Grounds are nice and no battle for sun loungers although they are usually all taken by 9:30am.
Food is good for a 3* nearly always found something I liked but could be improved. Snack bar.. What snack bar? In an afternoon there would be a bowl of crisps, peanuts, olives and a few pastries and that's it.
The entertainment is very poor. I very rarely saw any entertainment during the day and the kids mini disco didn't start until 10pm. This goes on for about an hour then the adults entertainment starts if that's what you want to call it - it's all in Spanish aswel. The all inclusive finishes at 11pm so if you want drinks during the 'entertainment' you have to buy them. Either entertainment should start earlier or all inclusive should be later.
In our room on the first floor we had roudyness from next door and opposite.
This hotel isn't actually in Torremolinoes it is in Los Alamos with no bars or night life around it. We got a train to Torremolinoes and it took us over an hour to walk back. Lovely hotel but in the wrong place!
All in all a nice clean hotel and grounds but very boring.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#38 of 71 in Torremolinos
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#43 of 71 in Torremolinos
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing