We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday not to go back to”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday not to go back to”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is advertised as Torremolinos, but in fact it is in Los Almos which is 2 train stops away, or a 45 min-1 hour walk, have just come back,the best thing about it was the Weather,the hotel is very clean, the food is ok if you like pork twice a day every day,rest of food not marvellous,deserts are always the same each day, a choice of some sort of mouse 3 different colours some jelly cake or fresh fruit, never any thing different, all inclusive same every day,the gardens around pool are nice, clean,but nothing going on during the day, not even some music, so if you like some sort of activity hard luck, there is nothing for children, did not even have any ice cream for them,which one parent was very annoyed about and told them so, the evening entertainment, if you can call it that is really rubbish, and the TV, when we asked if we could see the qualifying England Football Match we were told sorry we do not have the channel go into Terremolinosl OMG, hotel reception not very helpfull,when we asked about a bus,s said don,t know, ?.The hotel is also a long walk to the beach approx 15 mins, going under the train station which is next to the hotel.The poolside bar,decided to close up on Monday14t Oct and not reopen.

Room Tip: make sure its not at the back where the large air condition unit switches on with a continue roaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Pat,

Thank you for your feedback. We note your feedback to continue to provide quality service to our customers. As for the food, as many customers mentioned in a review, we offer a wide variety of hot and cold dishes. As for the pool bar was closed because we are at the end of the season. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    277
    253
    124
    107
See reviews for
296
319
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This Hotel is 3 star and that is the very best rating that it can be given it is in the middle of a housing estate 2 train stops by the local train ,The line for this train runs directly behind the hotel food is average for this star rating rooms are clean but basic. Key cards open doors to rooms and if you manage to unlock it on your first attempt then your surname must be Houdini. Got conned into going here because we were looking for a cheap holiday, cheap yes but because we had to get the train to anywhere decent it turned out expensive over the week. We travelled with friends and this was their first experience of Spain they say its also going to be their last they were unfortunate to be stuck in a room overlooking the station and railway line Do not pay extra for a sea view because all the sea view rooms overlook the railway and if like them you are light sleepers then you will get very little, they were also pestered by cockroaches. If you are Spanish then this the place to go, because when the evening entertainment is on they hog all the seating and sit the whole evening without drinks stopping all inclusive guests getting a seat the Entertainment is mainly aimed at them also although the entertainment guy Raul does his best. would I go again a big fat NO!!!!

Room Tip: North South East or West non of them are any different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

midglam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

my friend and i have just returned, would not go there again if it was offered free,good points first wont take long,lovely clean hotel and room,food was disgusting at one point had to run to the bin to spit it out,lady on next table also stated that she had a rotten egg in her scrambled eggs, i also found a long piece of strong red cotton in the egg, only twice in a week did they have fried eggs, more or less same desserts every lunch time and evening,as for snacks by the pool few crisps and nuts one day there were hotdogs which consisted of dried bread roll and freezing cold sausage,whatever drink you had whether it be a cold drink hot or a short it either in a cardboard cocacola cup or plastic, ignorant staff in the restaurant,one evening i was sitting just outside the restaurant there were two side plates on the table, didnt like the way i was spoken to without even being asked first if they were mine when i replied they were not mine i didnt even have an apology, tables not even laid breakfast time have never ever been to a hotel where you have to do it yourself, no ashtrays to use around the pool, only by the bar,so the lovely lawns were littered with fag ends, as for the entertainment they wouldnt of got anywhere near the xfactor, train service was very good visited few places lovely beaches, went on trip to gibralta was okay, was on the coach twice as long as we were told when we booked, i have been to many hotels on holiday im only glad that this was not my first experience as it would of been my last aswell.

Room Tip: i would not pick any room as i would never go back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidglamShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just spent a week here at the Royal Costa with my little 3 year old son and have to say it is a place that I would return to. I was a bit dubious about booking this due to some of the other reviews but I didn’t think it was all that bad. There are few down sides. The selection of food for my liking was not great, however, I was always able to find something suitable to eat at lunch and dinner times. Although a bit repetitive, I thought the selection of food was fair due to the variety of nationalities at the hotel, so with respect to Royal Costa, it looks like they try to cater for everyone and not just my taste buds. Unfortunately, I really struggled to find anything to satisfy my son and heard others had the same problem, kids are fussy anyway and the snacks through the day seemed to keep him happy. Breakfast times I just stuck to the cereals.
The bar can get a bit busy which I noticed seemed to peak just after dinner time, the drinks are served in small plastic cups so by the time you sit down, it is time to go back again, but on the good side, I was able to order extra to reduce the visits and this was never a problem for the staff.
The staff at the hotel were spot on with everything, the check in was quick and the reception staff were always helpful, even got a screwdriver for me so I could fix my boy’s toy, nothing was too much trouble for them. Bar staff were friendly, catering staff were happily going about their business and tables were cleared quickly, even the maids were pleasant and helped with a room issue I had. My room was cleaned daily. The hotel is very clean inside and out.
The hotel is located in a quiet residential area so If anyone is looking for stag do’s etc . this is not the place to go. This suited me, good for a nice relaxing quiet holiday. If you want shops bars and restaurants, you can jump the train to Torremolinos. It is easy to get to, trains are 07, 27 and 47 past the hour going, and 03, 23 and 43 past the hour back from Torremolinos, only takes about 5 minutes, costs 3.70 euros for a return and infants are free (not sure up to what age though). The train station is literally round the corner. You could even walk to (or from) Torremolinos, it’s just over 2 miles from Torremolinos beach back to the hotel.
Had a great time here and met great families from Liverpool, Coventry, Luton, Widnes and Leeds. I would like to thank the people I met, and the hotel staff for making our holiday a great one. We enjoyed it from start to finish.
Just got to reiterate! You could save quite a bit of money on transfers by jumping the train from Malaga Airport to Los Alamos if you have reasonable flight times, very cheap and the ticket machines can be set to English so they are easy to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for your review. The feed back from our customers is essential to continue to offer great value for money. We will take note of your comments. At Hotel Royal Costa offer a wide variety of hot dishes, cold salads, etc.. As you comment our staff works very hard to provide a service to the height of our guests. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked a week at this hotel having stayed there last year, Arrived early evening and told that the hotel was fully booked even though I had paid for the room weeks before, they had moved me to what they described as a better hotel 5kl away,i then had to find my way to this other hotel,i was not offer any explanation to why this was done just told that its full.I was not offered any sort of upgrade or anything for the inconvenience,.Wont book here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Danny,

Lamentamos mucho tu incidente. En épocas de mucha ocupación es usual que los hoteles tengamos que vernos obligados a trasladar a nuestros clientes a otros alojamientos de similar o superior categoría, tal y como establece la legislación pertinente. Disculpe las molestias.

Un cordial saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was really good , staff pleasant and helpful. The entertainment was as you would expect. The room was clean,tidy and ideal for a weeks holiday, unfortunately only one English television station which was BBC world news. The real downside was the food, it was extremely poor and wasn't much variety and the one day we had fried eggs they came out four or five high which meant when you went to get one you ended up with bits of egg. Not good at all.

Room Tip: over look the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2013. Was a bit apprehensive after reading previous reviews! We had a great week, rooms very clean, not massive but sufficient for all you require...clean bathroom and hot shower also. Plenty of sunbeds and room at the pool whilst we were there.
Could not complain about food, maybe not as much variety through the week as other hotels we have stayed in, but plenty available each day at every meal and hot and well cooked.
Tip...get train from airport, only 2 stops, can see hotel from station..only €1.70 each!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. For us, customer satisfaction is a key factor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. This stimulate us to continue improving day by day. We appreciate your comments about the buffet and we'd love to have you in Hotel Royal Costa on your next visit to the Costa del Sol

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#57 of 71 in Torremolinos
640 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 71 in Torremolinos
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing