We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect for the amount you pay”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is the first time I have ever left feedback but peoples moans and groans about this hotel have got right on my nerves.
This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and you get what you pay for. If you want a four star hotel then pay for it. If you want pie and mash or roast dinners stay in England. . Salad was probably a bit of a shock to the system If you want karaoke and naff entertainers stay in England and go for a night out at your local working mans club or go to Butlins.Why we are on the subject of Butlins the reviewer who said the hotel had a bad atmosphere and was like Butlins was clearly hallucinating where they got there or they were suffering from sun stroke.!!.They have obviously never been to Butlins because it is nothing like Butlins .

The hotel did not have a bad atmosphere everyone we met were friendly. You have to make the effort in life to chat to people but then you do have to have some social skills to be able to interact with people.

As for hotel being in an housing estate I don't now where they live but do they have housing estates where they live with beautiful Spanish villas and orange trees within them.

Off the beaten track well a 5 min walk to the train station which takes you to lots of places and very cheap , and a 15 min walk to a lovely beach with bars, is hardly off the beaten track and a long walk unless you are used to driving everywhere. But then it maybe be an effort for some people to get their backsides off their sunbeds and do some walking, but I do understand by observing some of the hotel visitors this was possibly too much effort .Exercise what is that?

Entertainment get some intelligence and imagination and make your own.

I would agree that the hotel has nothing to offer for children having been abroad many times in the past with young children. But I would have done my research properly before booking the hotel.
Also do your research it clearly states LOS ALMOS

I have stayed in four star hotels and of course they are better. As I said you get what you pay for this hotel is fine for what you pay for. You cannot expect to stay at a top of the range hotel for the amount you pay to stay at Royal Costa.

Before you book a hotel do your research and perhaps you will need to spend a bit more money rather than expecting something for nothing. Champagne tastes lemonade money comes to mind

This is a nice quiet clean hotel. If you want a noisy entertainment filled chavvy holiday with plenty of pie and chips and mushy peas and you don't want to get your backside of your sunbed and actually do some walking DONT STAY HERE
Lastly stop moaning and get a life. Life is what you make it!!! AND YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank langlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Royal Costa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just returned from a week's break at this hotel. We went as a group of 7 adults and would not use this hotel again. Yes it was clean but that was the only good review I would give it. The food is very basic the same thing every day, we went half board and only eat there for 2 evenings. We were told it was in torremolinos but was 2stops out on the train from there. The Hotel pool bar was closed on our 2nd day and not reopened, queue everyday at the bar for a drink etc normally only one member of staff on at a time, no snacks available to half board residents, so where we're you meant to get food when you are out in a residential area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blatchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Customer,

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay. Thank you for rating the cleanliness of our facility, look very carefully. We will take note of all your suggestions. The accommodation is located in Torremolinos, but not in the center. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We are a well travelled couple and have stayed in many 3 star hotels.
Honest opinion of the Royal Costa .... immaculately clean throughout, nice size room overlooking the pool. Check in straight forward and found most of the staff pleasant
Food ,,,, although not the widest choice we have experienced there was still enough to satisfy, yes there was pork on most days but there was also chicken, fish, pasta, salads etc. Did not find a problem with it at all, maybe as per usual case the moaners are those paying 3 star prices but expecting 5 star cuisine. Regards the negative comments about distance into Torremolinos... may suggest people do their homework before booking it clearly states the area is Los Alamos... train 2 mins walk from hotel regular service into all resorts great value
Lovely pool area with nice gardens but agree main pool very deep not great for kids. All in all had a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Costa for your holiday. We are glad that you are very satisfied with your stay. As your comets Hotel is 2 stops from the center of Torremolinos. We appreciate that our values ​​value. See you at your next holiday on the Costa del Sol and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is advertised as Torremolinos, but in fact it is in Los Almos which is 2 train stops away, or a 45 min-1 hour walk, have just come back,the best thing about it was the Weather,the hotel is very clean, the food is ok if you like pork twice a day every day,rest of food not marvellous,deserts are always the same each day, a choice of some sort of mouse 3 different colours some jelly cake or fresh fruit, never any thing different, all inclusive same every day,the gardens around pool are nice, clean,but nothing going on during the day, not even some music, so if you like some sort of activity hard luck, there is nothing for children, did not even have any ice cream for them,which one parent was very annoyed about and told them so, the evening entertainment, if you can call it that is really rubbish, and the TV, when we asked if we could see the qualifying England Football Match we were told sorry we do not have the channel go into Terremolinosl OMG, hotel reception not very helpfull,when we asked about a bus,s said don,t know, ?.The hotel is also a long walk to the beach approx 15 mins, going under the train station which is next to the hotel.The poolside bar,decided to close up on Monday14t Oct and not reopen.

Room Tip: make sure its not at the back where the large air condition unit switches on with a continue roaring...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Pat,

Thank you for your feedback. We note your feedback to continue to provide quality service to our customers. As for the food, as many customers mentioned in a review, we offer a wide variety of hot and cold dishes. As for the pool bar was closed because we are at the end of the season. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This Hotel is 3 star and that is the very best rating that it can be given it is in the middle of a housing estate 2 train stops by the local train ,The line for this train runs directly behind the hotel food is average for this star rating rooms are clean but basic. Key cards open doors to rooms and if you manage to unlock it on your first attempt then your surname must be Houdini. Got conned into going here because we were looking for a cheap holiday, cheap yes but because we had to get the train to anywhere decent it turned out expensive over the week. We travelled with friends and this was their first experience of Spain they say its also going to be their last they were unfortunate to be stuck in a room overlooking the station and railway line Do not pay extra for a sea view because all the sea view rooms overlook the railway and if like them you are light sleepers then you will get very little, they were also pestered by cockroaches. If you are Spanish then this the place to go, because when the evening entertainment is on they hog all the seating and sit the whole evening without drinks stopping all inclusive guests getting a seat the Entertainment is mainly aimed at them also although the entertainment guy Raul does his best. would I go again a big fat NO!!!!

Room Tip: North South East or West non of them are any different
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

my friend and i have just returned, would not go there again if it was offered free,good points first wont take long,lovely clean hotel and room,food was disgusting at one point had to run to the bin to spit it out,lady on next table also stated that she had a rotten egg in her scrambled eggs, i also found a long piece of strong red cotton in the egg, only twice in a week did they have fried eggs, more or less same desserts every lunch time and evening,as for snacks by the pool few crisps and nuts one day there were hotdogs which consisted of dried bread roll and freezing cold sausage,whatever drink you had whether it be a cold drink hot or a short it either in a cardboard cocacola cup or plastic, ignorant staff in the restaurant,one evening i was sitting just outside the restaurant there were two side plates on the table, didnt like the way i was spoken to without even being asked first if they were mine when i replied they were not mine i didnt even have an apology, tables not even laid breakfast time have never ever been to a hotel where you have to do it yourself, no ashtrays to use around the pool, only by the bar,so the lovely lawns were littered with fag ends, as for the entertainment they wouldnt of got anywhere near the xfactor, train service was very good visited few places lovely beaches, went on trip to gibralta was okay, was on the coach twice as long as we were told when we booked, i have been to many hotels on holiday im only glad that this was not my first experience as it would of been my last aswell.

Room Tip: i would not pick any room as i would never go back there.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidglamShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just spent a week here at the Royal Costa with my little 3 year old son and have to say it is a place that I would return to. I was a bit dubious about booking this due to some of the other reviews but I didn’t think it was all that bad. There are few down sides. The selection of food for my liking was not great, however, I was always able to find something suitable to eat at lunch and dinner times. Although a bit repetitive, I thought the selection of food was fair due to the variety of nationalities at the hotel, so with respect to Royal Costa, it looks like they try to cater for everyone and not just my taste buds. Unfortunately, I really struggled to find anything to satisfy my son and heard others had the same problem, kids are fussy anyway and the snacks through the day seemed to keep him happy. Breakfast times I just stuck to the cereals.
The bar can get a bit busy which I noticed seemed to peak just after dinner time, the drinks are served in small plastic cups so by the time you sit down, it is time to go back again, but on the good side, I was able to order extra to reduce the visits and this was never a problem for the staff.
The staff at the hotel were spot on with everything, the check in was quick and the reception staff were always helpful, even got a screwdriver for me so I could fix my boy’s toy, nothing was too much trouble for them. Bar staff were friendly, catering staff were happily going about their business and tables were cleared quickly, even the maids were pleasant and helped with a room issue I had. My room was cleaned daily. The hotel is very clean inside and out.
The hotel is located in a quiet residential area so If anyone is looking for stag do’s etc . this is not the place to go. This suited me, good for a nice relaxing quiet holiday. If you want shops bars and restaurants, you can jump the train to Torremolinos. It is easy to get to, trains are 07, 27 and 47 past the hour going, and 03, 23 and 43 past the hour back from Torremolinos, only takes about 5 minutes, costs 3.70 euros for a return and infants are free (not sure up to what age though). The train station is literally round the corner. You could even walk to (or from) Torremolinos, it’s just over 2 miles from Torremolinos beach back to the hotel.
Had a great time here and met great families from Liverpool, Coventry, Luton, Widnes and Leeds. I would like to thank the people I met, and the hotel staff for making our holiday a great one. We enjoyed it from start to finish.
Just got to reiterate! You could save quite a bit of money on transfers by jumping the train from Malaga Airport to Los Alamos if you have reasonable flight times, very cheap and the ticket machines can be set to English so they are easy to use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for your review. The feed back from our customers is essential to continue to offer great value for money. We will take note of your comments. At Hotel Royal Costa offer a wide variety of hot dishes, cold salads, etc.. As you comment our staff works very hard to provide a service to the height of our guests. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#46 of 72 in Torremolinos
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 72 in Torremolinos
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 72 in Torremolinos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#48 of 72 in Torremolinos
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#34 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £45 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing