We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review but Recent”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Review but Recent”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I have really mixed reviews about my stay at this place.

Firstly, I will start with the staff there. The day shift front desk staff are helpful and friendly. However, it takes ages to get anything sorted and the odd moody one making us wait doesn't help. The rest of the staff in the hotel are OK. Nothing worth shouting about. TBH, the nicest of them all was the lady who cleaned our room. She had the worst job, tidying up after people but the one with the most smiles and friendly.

Location of the hotel, my wife and I thought was perfect. 2 stops away by train to main Torremolinos centre which is situated on a cliff. The train station itself, is literally a stones throw away from the hotel. You can see it from the balcony of our room. Travelled a fair bit to Malaga city centre, Torremolinos centre and to Benaldamena harbour/marina.

I wouldn't bother with Malaga that much. I spoke to a group of people who had their iPhone stolen while on the beach. The gardens are nice but very price to eat considering the Prawns you would eat here are from the same waters as Torremolinos and Los Alamos where the hotel is situated. I wouldn't recommend going to Malaga unless you like going to museums etc. Shopping is expensive in the stores etc.

Torremolinos. Loved it here. Its a bit of walk to the beach as its on a cliff edge so up/downhill walking to get to the beach. REstaurants are reasonably priced and good quality food. Lots of brits and Germans around generally touristy.

BE WARNED. Sunloungers are average 4.50 euro per bed so be prepared or bring a towel to sit on the sand with instead.

The Los Alamos beach, closest to Royal Costa Hotel, is 250m from the hotel. Nice short walk, dont bother with a cab. pointless. The staff are generally old, do not speak much english and not the highlight of the hotel.
I went on Half board but ended up eating out most of the time. My wife and I not great meat eaters, but like it now and again. The food was abysmal. The lunch was food rotated from the dinner the night before on more than 2 occasions. The veggie options are horrific. Teh only fish they serve is the Hake, which comes across as the equivalent of eating cod here. Cheap and lots of it around. The milk is the long life stuff that you wouldn't drink here on a normal day. If you don't know what the food is, there is no one to ask and they only place labels, Pork, Fish, Veal. Limited. Don't pay for half board here. NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!!!! Another review mentioned Bar Riviera. I agree, lovely people, cheap drinks, good atmosphere didn't eat, but the food looked better than the hotel. Not allowed to smoke inside here, which is a relief as my wife is pregnant so is ideal for us and the other kids there as well. FREE WIFI here as well!!1 Always busy with locals as well tourists! The bar next door is lovely as well.

The best thing about the hotel, is the location, the pool is ok, not heated I don't think but clean none the less. The location is perfect, 4 stops from the airport, so save money on a taxi, the beach is quiet and very clean. Nice places to eat on the beach, ate twice on thsi beach and both times were satisfying. The Prawns Pil Pil are great and cooked well everywhere you go.

Torremolinos, Check out the Indian Restaurant called Aroma. Its not only indian, does Pizzas/pasta's etc as well. My wife are both Indian, and would have paid to eat there again! Just as good, if not better than a few of the restaurants you would get here in the UK! The area is surrounded by mountains, so very windy and kills the beauty and heat of the sun, so be prepared to take a light jacket with you wherever you go.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    269
    246
    118
    97
See reviews for
285
301
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

just back from a week in the royal casta had a great week the hotel is really good couldbe rated 4 star food really nice though staff in restaurant could be more friendly the rooms are fine beds changed every day. located so you dont need to get a taxi like we did  handy for going to other places  the br prices are  very reasonable. just a short walk from hotel is the riveria bar really friendly with good food and drink .will be back and will use a train for tranfers this timeSuntanned and depressed Belfast

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Flew into Malaga Airport on October 28th at 9.15pm two families of eight in all for one week. We had looked up Google Earth to see where this hotel was in relation to the airport and found it was quiet near so by the time we arrived we had a good idea how we were travelling. It was about ten minutes walk from the airport to the station. Take it to Los Alomos station, ten minutes away. You can see the Royal Costa Hotel name shining in the night from the train. Its just a short walk to the hotel from the station. This train will take you down to Fuengirolla and up to Malaga cheaply (no need to hire a car).
The hotel is brillant. This time of the year was very quiet. The teenagers found plenty to do-table tennis, snooker, swimming in a most beautiful pool at least 25 meters in length and quiet wide as well, there is a children's swimming pool beside it. There is a lovely garden joining the leisure area with lovely scented scrubs. The food was tasty with plenty to eat which was a big plus when you have teenagers. The rooms were spotlessly clean with the towels changed every day. The staff all over the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We hated the thoughts of having to go back home to reality. Will I go back to this hotel again? Looking forward to it already. Oh!! there are a few nice friendly pubs up the street on the right next to the Pharamica, well worth a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dacper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Just returned, We stayed at Royal Costa from 3.10.09 -7.10.09 and i couldn't fault it in anyway. The hotel is very clean, room were immaculate, bed sheets and towels changed every day. We went for half-board and i must admit the choice was ample, If you love fish/sea food then this is the place, even for vegetarians. My wife is vegan and they had pleanty of choice, the chef made special pasta and spanish omlette, which we though was very considerate of them. Staff were brilliant and very attentive, service during the b'fast and dinner time was very efficient..For children again pleanty of food choice.. The pool is huge and clean along with the lush garden. Overall i would rate this hotel 4* and am looking to return again very soon.

From the a'port just walk across T2, cross the road, pass the car-park and the lift is on left hand side (in the corner), difficult to find but staff available to assist. Go to 2nd floor and walk across the bridge, and the train station/platform is there. Buy thye ticket from machine only 1.60euro, Make sure you get off after 3rd stop! as that is where the hotel RC is based, on the hotel address is not clear, as we made mistake and got off in torremolinos, but we had to come back, so make sure from a'port its the 3rd stop and as you get off the train and go down the stairs, you will see the hotel, only 5min walk across the block.. ideally located and only 10 min walk to the beach. Beach very clean and if you like nudist/nudism then once, you approch the beach just turn left and walk down the pavement for about 10-15min and at the end of if go pass the beach keep on walkin and you will get to nudist part, again its clean and people just mind their own bussiness, so enjoy it and get the tan all over ):

Looking to return again very soon at RC, ohh ask for 6th floor rooms as very quite and you get to see the pool and sea view (no extra cost). Located in residential area, but its quiet and good for walking after heavy dinner, or getting the train to malaga city or torremolinose etc... again train only 5-8min walking.
Overall it is worth staying here.. enjy it very much.

Staff at reception were very good, and the drinks i.e soft, bear, wines etc.. are cheap whitin the bar in hotel, eg. half pint of beer only 1.60euro, soft drink 1.40euro.. and you get free peanuts or olives with it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahama E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Just returned, wish we could have stayed longer! From the airport it was just 10 mins on the train and a 5 min walk. It couldn't have been easier. We loved the hotel, we found the guys on reception more than helpfull and very friendly. Very clean every where, rooms great, cleaned every day, fresh towls every day too. The food was plenty-full and really good, we all enjoyed meal times, only down side was the 'drinks included' you are allowed one drink each only, a 200ml tiny bottle of cola or orange is very mean ! The pool was fab, life guard on duty all day long. Pool bar reasonably priced. We were the only none Spanish guests for most of our stay, but it didn't bother us, we were treated very well and thought the evening entertainment (in Spanish), was fun. Our sons had lots of opertunities to practice their Spanish, so it was good. All in all, we'd love to go back, great value for money, lovely hotel, near cheap train stop, near the lovely beach, cute little local shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Just had 4 nights at RC,when l first got there l was disapointed,it seemed l had only been in the transfer bus 5 minutes and l was there, 1st to be dropped off, got to my room and it was small, no window in the bedroom,but one in the bathroom,very noisy at night,lots of noise from other rooms,things being dropped and chairs scrapping along,people walking past,most of the guests were spanish,and they wernt too friendly,but l went on to have a very relaxing holiday,enjoyed getting the train into Torremolinos,Benamedina and Fuengerola,food was reasonable,but was getting fed up with it towards the end,lovely beach,best one l went to,bit of a long walk,around 15-20 minutes,but worth it,nice and quiet,which is what l wanted,very very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The hotel we stayed in was really nice and clean. Though it was too far away from sea side and beach and any other entertainment. I would suggest to visit Ronda and Gibraltar as those places are worth seeing.
Food was really nice.
Don't go by taxi as it costs 20Euros, there is really good connection by rail just 3 stops from the airport( Los Alamos station towards Fungeriola) and it costs 1.25 euros for single ticket.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#57 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#47 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#44 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#23 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Property: Royal Costa Hotel
Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing