We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean,food not the best.”
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed hear with my husband for 3 nights,rooms and hotel very clean,food was a let down so we ate out every nite.Alamos 43 bar and resturant up the road was very good food.Great for train links to every were.would use this hotel again but just on b&b basis.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetsetLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

Good hotel, very clean, nice staff, comfortable rooms, good buffet breakfast and good dinner. Nice swimming pool, pity the sunbeds were not confortable, what could be solved with mattresses. Very close to the airport and to the train station making it easy to explore the area. 10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikoport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

having booked a hotel with rooms.net and arriving to find they had not paid for my accommodation even though they had taken the money from my card, was asked for double what i had already paid to rooms net so only stayed one night. The next morning i booked the ROYAL COSTA HOTEL through alpha rooms, and things got better, the royal costa staff are brilliant, the rooms spotlessly clean and spacious, wehad two children in our room , the balcony huge, lovely pool lots of space great entertainment in day and evening, we went half board the food was plentiful varied and lovely, the hotel is in a quiet area of los alamos, the train station is just 5 min walk, and torremolinos only 1 stop, then a few stops to fungerola and the amazing zoo, malaga is a few stops the other way, booked a trip to gibralta and the bus picked us up just outside the hotel had a great day well worth the visit, all in all would highly recomment the Royal Costa will def,. go back soon. eventually got money back from rooms net, 4 months later, apparently the agent in spain was to blame, although the euorepean consumer council told me the same thing had happend to people travelling to other countries who had booked with them, and thats why it took so long to get money back, it nearly ruined our holiday so wont be bookin with them again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drunkengauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

After spending tons of time trying to find a hotel in Malaga that a group of friends (all arriving at different times to the Malaga airport) could meet before heading out on a road trip around Spain, and where we could park our travel van, I was so lucky to have someone from Tripadvisor recommend we scrap the idea of meeting/staying in Malaga and just go to Torremolinos instead.

Service:
The service was incredibly friendly - an unexpected nice thing that happened: even though there's no internet nearby, the staff at the front desk allowed me to use their office computer twice to check my email for info about the arrival of my friends. In addition, the staff in the restaurant and lounge were really friendly and helpful and appeared to genuinely be happy to serve us. The front desk staff provided all kinds of helpful information and recommended a good little restaurant as well.

Convenience:
The hotel is very close to the Malaga airport. The train is very easy to find at the Malaga airport, the Los Alamos station is just 2 stops away, and there are both written and spoken info in the train about the next stop - unlike some of the trains I've been on, there was nothing confusing or worrisome about this one if you don't speak Spanish. As you are pulling into the Los Alamos station you can see Royal Costa on your right. Once you go downstairs from the platform, go straight down the road directly in front of you (Calle Suances), turn right at the end and take Calle Sistema Iberico to the hotel - it takes 5 minutes or less. The location was also really convenient for short day trips - 10 minute walk to the beach, or 5 minutes to the train which we took to go into Malaga one day, and then went in the other direction the next day to the bus to Marbella. It is also super convenient to arrive at the hotel by car: there's lots of free street parking, and there is very easy access to the highway (unlike our experience would have been had we stayed in central Malaga).

Cleanliness/Food:
The rooms were modern and very clean, the pool area was very nicely appointed, and the breakfast buffet was really good - way nicer than I expected. I would definitely recommend the Royal Costa!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This hotel is perfect for a short stay near Malaga. Facilities are great, breakfast extraordinary well assorted, cleanliness perfect, nice pool and garden. I would not recommend the hotel for a long stay (more than 3 - 4 days) since it is located far from the restaurant area in Torremolinos and beach front buzz. But it is perfect if you stay overnight and come from the airport (10 minutes drive). It is very close to a local railway station to Malaga. If you are not in the area for beaches but for culture or city life, it is a perfect cheap alternative to expensive Malaga hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Breakfast is not very good, Dinner is ok , nice and clean hotel but a bit isolated ,train ride is the best way to get to Torremolinos centre. Entertainment was rubbish. A favourite for German tourists .Perfect for anyone wanting peace and quiet .

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I have really mixed reviews about my stay at this place.

Firstly, I will start with the staff there. The day shift front desk staff are helpful and friendly. However, it takes ages to get anything sorted and the odd moody one making us wait doesn't help. The rest of the staff in the hotel are OK. Nothing worth shouting about. TBH, the nicest of them all was the lady who cleaned our room. She had the worst job, tidying up after people but the one with the most smiles and friendly.

Location of the hotel, my wife and I thought was perfect. 2 stops away by train to main Torremolinos centre which is situated on a cliff. The train station itself, is literally a stones throw away from the hotel. You can see it from the balcony of our room. Travelled a fair bit to Malaga city centre, Torremolinos centre and to Benaldamena harbour/marina.

I wouldn't bother with Malaga that much. I spoke to a group of people who had their iPhone stolen while on the beach. The gardens are nice but very price to eat considering the Prawns you would eat here are from the same waters as Torremolinos and Los Alamos where the hotel is situated. I wouldn't recommend going to Malaga unless you like going to museums etc. Shopping is expensive in the stores etc.

Torremolinos. Loved it here. Its a bit of walk to the beach as its on a cliff edge so up/downhill walking to get to the beach. REstaurants are reasonably priced and good quality food. Lots of brits and Germans around generally touristy.

BE WARNED. Sunloungers are average 4.50 euro per bed so be prepared or bring a towel to sit on the sand with instead.

The Los Alamos beach, closest to Royal Costa Hotel, is 250m from the hotel. Nice short walk, dont bother with a cab. pointless. The staff are generally old, do not speak much english and not the highlight of the hotel.
I went on Half board but ended up eating out most of the time. My wife and I not great meat eaters, but like it now and again. The food was abysmal. The lunch was food rotated from the dinner the night before on more than 2 occasions. The veggie options are horrific. Teh only fish they serve is the Hake, which comes across as the equivalent of eating cod here. Cheap and lots of it around. The milk is the long life stuff that you wouldn't drink here on a normal day. If you don't know what the food is, there is no one to ask and they only place labels, Pork, Fish, Veal. Limited. Don't pay for half board here. NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!!!! Another review mentioned Bar Riviera. I agree, lovely people, cheap drinks, good atmosphere didn't eat, but the food looked better than the hotel. Not allowed to smoke inside here, which is a relief as my wife is pregnant so is ideal for us and the other kids there as well. FREE WIFI here as well!!1 Always busy with locals as well tourists! The bar next door is lovely as well.

The best thing about the hotel, is the location, the pool is ok, not heated I don't think but clean none the less. The location is perfect, 4 stops from the airport, so save money on a taxi, the beach is quiet and very clean. Nice places to eat on the beach, ate twice on thsi beach and both times were satisfying. The Prawns Pil Pil are great and cooked well everywhere you go.

Torremolinos, Check out the Indian Restaurant called Aroma. Its not only indian, does Pizzas/pasta's etc as well. My wife are both Indian, and would have paid to eat there again! Just as good, if not better than a few of the restaurants you would get here in the UK! The area is surrounded by mountains, so very windy and kills the beauty and heat of the sun, so be prepared to take a light jacket with you wherever you go.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 mi away
Royal Al-Andalus
Royal Al-Andalus
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
710 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#46 of 71 in Torremolinos
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#24 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing