We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, shame about the people”
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, shame about the people”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Have just returned having spent a week here. I went with my Mum. We'd booked Sol Don Pedro, but technically our room was Don Marco. This had a lovely reception, and the dining room was less busy. However the Don Pedro was larger.

Best bits: the food was spot on; fresh seafood, a variety of meat, Italian section, and an array of salads every night. The location is also great for the beach, being opposite.

You can use all three hotels, meaning there are lots of pools to choose from. We preferred the one in Don Marco on the roof. (Watch out for the umbrellas though, they can fly at you if it's windy!)

Cocktails pretty average. We took our own drinks to the entertainment and no one seemed to notice. We did the same at the pool. Wouldn't pay for the wine there again, paid 11 euros at dinner, and found it locally for 3!

Worst parts: The hotel and area is mainly Spanish (which is what we wanted- an authentic experience), but they were all so rude! we didn't think this would bother us, but it did become a bit draining. There were exceptions to this- some in local shops, boutiques, security guard were all lovely. DO NOT go to the bar opposite!! SOO rude, we gave it 3 different attempts, trying at different times thinking we may have just been unfortunate with the waitress. each time we had to leave, they were soo rude, ordered drinks that never came, demanded money for them, etc. Think it may be called Los Cristos.

Copacabana further down is much nicer. Although the area is busy there is not a lot happening. I wouldn't go there for the nightlife, maybe a romantic get away, or peaceful family holiday.

Cleaners fantastic, best service we've had.

Overall a very enjoyable experience, but would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xSheffgirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    341
    102
    28
    14
See reviews for
173
504
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

this is a great hotel to just chill out , all the rooms that I have stayed in are clean and made every day the hotel is great in every way,
( and there is always a but ) why oh why do they let the motons in with there shorts on at night ?? stop it now while you can, or this great place will go down hill, pool wear is what it says it is pool wear,

Room Tip: great food , clean , and no noise , just a great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tws137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I am just after getting back from there and I had to write a review. It was simply the best holiday I've ever been on and I couldn't fault the hotel on anything. The highlight of course was the animacion/entertainment team, they are honestly the nicest and most accomodating and welcoming group of people. There are activities to suit everyone during the day and they always make you feel welcome and special. The entertainment at night is brilliant, fun and outdoors beside a bar. The food was fantastic with choice to suit all. The premises are huge, room for everyone with all the variety of pools. It is a very secure complex with security and cameras. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and air conditioned. Staff are fantastic. I cannot describe how genuinely amazing this place was and it is my advice that everyone should go there. I have already started saving to go back next year! This is one holiday and group of people I'll never forget, it's like being home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

After one night spent in a very bad hotel near Marbella, I decided to book somenthing in Torremolinos for the rest of the week. I could remember Don Pablo & Don Marco because I couldn't access the reservation site from home. So I called the number I had from the site and a very nice girl form the call center (Elena) told me she has something free in this hotel. It's been a good surprise when we arrive, because of the beautiful reception and the sweet lady (Estefania) at the reception. We had a nice standard room, not sea view because of the late reservation I guess, but big and with an amazing shower. Staff is very nice, you can walk around the 3 hotels and many swimming pools. The only negative thing we could say is about the cleaning, it's very "quick done". We were happy in general and certainly come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57alessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We are aware of the two problems that you mentioned, and I am pleased that you mention them. As regards the smell, we have identified the source (not the fountain in fact, but a connection to the municipal drains) and we are taking action to remedy it. As we are at full occupation at the moment we will have to wait until the autumn as it will require excavating a portion of the road at the hotel entrance. However we have put into place a means of removing the effect in the meantime.
The power cut, which happened on the hottest day of the year and was due to the area's transformer burning out, created some challenges for the hotel. Standard emergency lighting (which runs on batteries) is designed for fire evacuation and comes on automatically when the mains power fails. In order to facilitate an evacuation it offers light for one hour before the charge in the batteries runs down; they then require 24 hours to get to full charge again. On this occasion we were without electricity for 3 hours in the afternoon, and then for another hour in the evening and these systems were not able to cope. We have had short power cuts in the past, but never more than a few minutes, so this emergency was unprecedented.
I am sorry if the receptionist seemed to be dismissive. It had been a very difficult afternoon attempting to maintain normal operations whilst working without any computer systems. This is not intended as an excuse, only an observation.
I am glad to hear that, despite these annoyances, your holiday was a success. We very much hope to see you again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath , Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We've just returned from a week at the Don Marco and had a very relaxing week. We stayed B& B and found the selection available far superior to any other hotel we've been in. We enjoyed many days at one of the quieter pool areas - at one point we were the only 2 in the pool.
There were a couple of small negatives to our stay the first being the terrible stale smell on entering the Reception area(possibly stagnant water as the water feature was off most of our stay). The second was far more serious, we had a power cut early in the week and when we returned to our room the corridor had only one tiny emergency light which did not illuminate as far as our room. I went down to Reception and was given the loan of a torch, I pointed out to the Receptionist that there should be more emergency lighting in such a long corridor but she was very dismissive. Thankfully the power wasn't out for very long but I would have concerns about the lighting in case of a real emergency.
All in all we had a lovely time, and would go back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackielMeath_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
A very nice and complete review, thank you. It is great to see that people are really taking advantage of the options that we offer at the Son Don Hotels Complex, with different areas catering to guests with different tastes, requirements or just different moods on the day!
Your thanks have been passed on the Eva.
Regards,
Jaime Floyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What makes a great stay, beyond the facilities offered, it is the staff warm welcome, their professionality, positive attitude and quick acion taking. Always caring about their custom.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
It is very rewarding to know that all the work we do is reflected in a happy staff who can enjoy interacting with our guests. Thank you and come back soon.
Regards,
Jaime Floyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Sol Don Marco and once again it exceeded all of our expectations.
Even though we arrived early in the morning and it was peak season Eva on reception greeted us by name and had a room ready for us for an early check in.
The room was very well appointed, light and airy and as always the view is unbeatable.
Throughout the week Carmen (even though we never met her ! ) kept the room spotlessly clean and refreshed.
The variety of food available in the restaurant each evening is superb and there is definitely something to suit all tastes.
The ambience is certainly more restaurant than dining room.
Even though the beach is a mere 30 second stroll across the road you need never go there as there are so many pool areas in the complex to choose from !
There are some nice quiet and secluded areas to chill and read your books or more buzzy areas where there are organised games and social activities going on at various times during the day.
One of the things I like most about the Don Marco is the sense of quiet and calm on entering the lobby. It really is a haven right in the heart of Torremolinos.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imeldamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing