We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotels make a holiday better”
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotels make a holiday better”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at the Don Marco September 9th - 23rd, room 3001, which was an end room on the side of the hotel, it had 3 beds which made it a very spacious room with a large bathroom ( bath and separate shower ) the balcony got the afternoon sun. The staff were friendly and the room cleaning was excellent. This hotel is one of three Sol hotels within the complex so there is a great choice of sun terraces. The choice of food was good and varied and the hotel shares a dining room with one of the other hotels which can make for busy meal times. The hotel is located just across the promenade from the beach and is within easy walking distance to the centre of Torremolinos which has good bus/train transportation. The Don Marco combined with the costa del sol weather made for a very relaxed holiday. My wife and i look forward to returning to this hotel as we have stayed at this complex before on a few occasions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    370
    110
    34
    15
See reviews for
187
540
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We were at the Don Marco Hotel August 29th - September 12th room 2015. My self and my husband enjoyed every second of this trip. Sol Don Marco is a good hotel with excellent location. Close to the beach, to the tourist information center, to Calle St Miguel and to bus/train transportation. The rooms are good size and always clean and spotless, thanks to Trini a wonderful lady. At the reception desk everyone we met was helpful, especially Stefania and Miguel both very pleasant and try to help with a smile on their face. Many pools to chose from, we stayed at the Don Marco pool. The pools and pool area always clean. The only issue is not enough umbrellas and the existing umbrellas are in bad shape. Entertainment was good in general. We booked an air transat package with breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was good. However, was a bit disappointed with dinner. There is a big variety of food and one can always find something to eat and never leave hungry, however the food is very bland and not very tasty. The meat is tough. We had much better experience with food at our previous visits to Spain, Costa del sol as well as the Barcelona area and I was really looking forward to eating the lovely Spanish food again but unfortunately it was not as good as expected. I am sure that this will be addressed by the manager Jaime Floyer. Jaime seems to be a good manager, we were impressed to see him in the dining room meeting and serving the clients. He was even there when we were waiting for the bus to take us to the airport.
The whole trip to Costa del Sol was memorable. This is our second time going to this area and with no doubt it is one of the nicest vacation spots in the world. God, willing we will go back to Torremolinos and to Sol Don Marco.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monalisatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
I am so glad that you had a wonderful trip. I am pretty sure that I remember your group as I don't put everyone on the airport bus!
It was a pleasure to serve you and I hope to have the chance to do so again in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have stayed at The Don Marco several times and are members of their loyalty card, which is really worth doing. We always stay bed and breakfast and this year the food had improved.
My husband is blind and we are always given the same room so that he can get around to the spa, bar etc independently which is a real help. We find all of the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Stefania on reception is really helpful, she even sorted me out with an appointment with a nail technician in town when I broke my acrylic nail.
I noticed that some reviews complain about the area. We like it because we can go to the beach one day and use the excellent train and bus service another day to go to mountain villages eg Mijas Pueblo, cities like Malaga with typical Spanish restaurants, and areas like Rhonda. My only criticism is that there is a shortage of umbrellas round the pool. We will be back.

Room Tip: We like the first floor with rooms next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you feel well looked-after and that you appreciated the improvements that we have made to the menu.
There will be more umbrellas next year.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just returned from another lovely holiday at the Sol Don Marco. The hotel was as lovely as ever, the staff always friendly and always smiling. I must complement the hotel on the improvement in the food. I wrote last year how disappointing the food was and I must say that it has improved tremendously since then.

On our second night as we settled down to sleep we heard water dripping through the ceiling in the bathroom. A phone call to reception and within 10 minutes a young man with ladder arrived and sorted it out, also mopping up the floor. I was extremely impressed with the speed of the response and the efficiency in sorting it out at 11.30 pm at night.

We again booked a sea-view room fabulous view. The sound proofing to the rooms is good and does minimise the noise from the bar opposite.

We are looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyag2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I will definitely not recommend this hotel for a romantic escape, unless you like being surrounded by others at the swimming pool, the breakfast,... it is not to critize, I understand some people appreciate holidays like this, with disco not so far , bars, and many people to discuss.
Rooms are ok, clean and quite confortable. Bed is ok.
Still a bit noisy, don't select room close to restaurants.
The breakfast buffet is large, but not of such a good quality, for example juices are machine-ones, based on water and sugar, disgusting. I think for htis kind of place, they could afford better quality in general for the food.
free wifi available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac_elina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel in Sept for 3 nights, Half Board, with my mother. The hotel is one of three on the same complex, Don Marco, Don Pablo and Don Pedro. The location is probably the best plus point of the complex - a stones throw from the beach (a large/sandy/clean beach too) and lots of shops/restaurants close by. The room of the Don Marco was comfortable; flat screen TV had BBC1, C4, Sky News, CNN and Eurosport as the English channels. The a/c coped well, Bathroom was very nice with a separate shower cubicle to the bath. Hairdryer supplied (for the girls who normally pack one). Food wise breakfast was superior to dinner; really good choice of hot food (eggs 4-ways, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, fried bread, beans plus more), cereals and continental pastries. Coffee was also very nice. Dinner though was unremarkable - edible yes, and some nice bits, but i wouldn't rave about it. The restaurants were busy, especially when they first open and the atmosphere was a little sterile; lots of people but little talking. Most of the background noise comes from the staff sorting cutlery which, whilst it doesn't look like one, makes the place 'feel' like a canteen.

WiFi was Free & available in the Don Marco, but didn't seem to work in the sister hotels.

Overall i'd go back and probably go HB again as it's expensive to eat outside. But i'd look at other establishments in the same vicinity and if i got a cheaper deal (for a place with good reviews) i'd have no qualms leaving the Don Marco for somewhere else.

Room Tip: The hotel and rooms at the Don Marco are quieter than the sister hotels, Don Pablo/Pedro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaffaChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Booked this break as a last minute, didnt expect much, but have fallen in love again with Toremolinos and will be back. Fantastic place and Don Marco is great hotel.... But for last 2 nights of our 7 night stay they held a conference for CAT and we were engulfed by very drunk Swedish guys who had little regard for other guests. The once quite and relaxing pool side became a toilet as they openly dropped their shorts and urinated over the balcony. The hotel managememt/security had little control. But until then Don Marco was great, lets hope the financial bonus of a trade conference is not outweighed by lost returning tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priestfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,398 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Melia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing