We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have been to this hotel several times its next to the beach the rooms are top class cleaner comes every day and is very good the entertainment is very good food is very good happy hour every evening what else can i say its perfect we are just about to book for beginning of november looking forward to it .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    351
    105
    28
    14
See reviews for
176
516
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

An excellent hotel. Very clean. For those who want to sunbathe there is plenty of space and beds either in Sun or shade. Spread around the complex of three hotels there are so many sun terraces and pools. Never crowded apart from a few occasions at Breakfast. Food is buffet style usually with a selections of three fish and four meat dishes. Only complaint is too much pork and not enough chicken fillets or beef. Pizza and pasta is always another option and is very good. Soup is typical continental hotel soups. Salad bar is excellent. Deserts worth a meal on their own.
Bedrooms are a reasonable size modern and very clean. Hotel is centrally located and literally across from the beach. Hotel ideal for all - singles, couples and families.

Some rooms do not have a great view. We asked for a change and it was no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or pool view. The majority are but there are a few which look onto a rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights , 2 rooms booked for the family one with an extra bed for our grand daughter , room for that one was a little cramped , but ours was really good. Overall very pleased with our stay , great food , good location , nice pool areas. Best comment would be on the entertainment absolutely brilliant , we were there for Grease and The Lion King , staff must have had lots of dancing training etc , they were that good!!! and so friendly with everyone. 2 small negatives , the kids disco was shortened by playing a game , pass the hat etc , therefore most of the kids sat out for a good 10mins when eliminated , they only want to dance so the game for us was not a good idea. Lastly the Car Parking (we were in 2 cars so it cost us +100 euros. I was told there was some free parking but I couldn't find it , maybe someone else knows. Will go back , excellent overall.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Derek F, Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion up on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay. I will be sure that the entertainment team hear that they are appreciated. I will also make them aware of your comment about the game for the kids. I am sure that they can adapt that part of the programme.
Regarding the parking, there is limited free parking available on a first come, first served basis, at the entrance of the Don Pedro hotel. However in August we have many local guests who arrive by car and therefore parking is much more limited and it is more likely that guests will have to resort to the pay parking.
We very much hope that we see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just back from a great week in the don marco.
Torremolinos would not be my favourite place we have visited but I knew this when we were going there.
This was my first holiday since my honeymoon 3 years ago and now with having a baby girl 20mth old it was the perfect place to go.
A short flight from cork airport and then only a short drive to the hotel(10 mins) made it very easy for us as we were nervous about traveling to long with our little girl.
Room were very nice but thought it was a bit small at first but it was fine really.
Our bathroom was quite large and our balcony was also quite big overlooking the sea(paid extra for this).
Pools were great and being so close to the beach was perfect as we used go to the beach after breakfast and then back to let our girl have a nap while it was at peak hotness and then down to the pool after her nap.
Thank God we had air con and left it on 24/7
Really liked the choice of pools.
We were on half board and found the choice of food every night good enough but did eat in the don pabolo most nights.
It was great to order a bottle of wine every night and get it very cold as I am sick of ordering wine here at home and it might only be in the fridge for a hour or so and when you say it the waitress thinks you are a fussy f..... .
From walking around at night and looking at the other restaurants I think the food in the hotel was better than the restaurants.
Our little girl loved going up to the kiddy disco every night running around the stage.


(pros) great hotel With a great location.
Nice staff and good food.

(cons) a pint of larger was €4.25
Gone are the days of cheap beer.
Not that I had to many but did think that was expensive.

Will go back next year if we can

I

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westcorkvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your review Westcorkvh. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and that you liked Torremolinos after all! I think that a lot of people have an impression of Torremolinos from the 70's with lager louts and the like but it developed into a very friendly and clean family resort over the years.
You mention that you ate in the Don Pablo restaurant most nights. Guests in the Don Marco have the option of eating in both the restaurants in the complex. Some prefer one and some prefer the other but it is definitely an advantage to have an option.
Having options is on of the great advantages at the Sol Don Hotels Complex. There are 9 pools (as you discovered), always 2 types of entertainment going on every night (something also more relaxed for adults without kids), and lots of space around the gardens to discover.
We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Under Lyme
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

2nd trip to the Don Marco for our anniversary, just as fab this time as it was the last time. Only downside for us was that its not all-inclusive... that said if it was, it'd probably be fully booked all the time.. Location faultless, food faultless, room faultless, pool areas faultless.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, you have to pay a supplement, but to wake up every day with that view - well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsO40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you MrsO40. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay again even if we don't offer All Inclusive. At this time we are not considering AI as an option because one of the things that makes Torremolinos so much fun is that there is a wealth of little bars and restaurants one the front and up in town and it would seem a shame to miss out on all that.
We hope that you won't need an anniversary to come back and visit but if is is a special occasion make sure you let us know.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just come back from a week at the Don Marco. Stayed at the Don Pablo last year and enjoyed it so much wanted to go back to the same hotel complex but decided to try one of the other hotels. We had a lovelytime, room was lovely ( they kindly let us swap our room on the first day as we didn't like our view!!).High quality room. Staff at all hotels are friendly, efficient and we think the hotels are run to a very high standard. V clean and traditional spanish decor in the receptions. We ended up having our breakfast at the Marco each day which is very nice with lots to choose from and having evening meal at the Pablo as there is just a little bit more choice and the food is just a little better. Don't get me wrong the food at the Marco is still lovely! Anyway recommend this hotel complex to anyone. Why? There are lots of facilities the beach is across the road and gorgeous, plenty of shops, nice promenade and 15 mins from the airport and its clean and not raucous at night. We didn't watch the entertainment in the hotel which is more for families. Only gripe is shop on the corner called ' el paseo'. Its a very good shop with rude staff though. There is a woman, could be the owner? She is in her 50's and she is miserable and rude and sure is adds extra cents on your bill if she can get away with it. There are always other shops though.

Room Tip: Just try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are delighted that you had such a nice time at the Sol Don Marco. As you know, you have all the same facilities as the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Pedro, but the Marco is a little more elegant and a little quieter as we tend to have very few children. In fact within the Marco building we don't put on entertainment, leaving the guests the option of going either to the Don Pedro or Don Pablo areas for their choice of entertainment during the day or in the evening.
I am sorry to hear about the shop on the corner. Although it does not belong to the hotel, we will be sure to pass your comments on.
Thanks for the review. Be sure to come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at the Sol Don Marco for 4 nights at the begining of July.
Rooms are not huge but large enough, well decorated with good quality furnishings and a small balcony big enough for a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was modern and very clean with bath and seperate shower cubicle,
The pool area was quite small but we always managed to get sunbeds however late we arrived. There was also a balcony area with sunbeds overlooking the beach which always seemed quite empty. Our balcony overlooked the pool area and we could see some people, (sorry - usually us British), putting towels on sunloungers to bag the best places - but it really was not necessary. You could also use the facilities of the other 2 Sol hotels on the complex but although the pools were larger the areas were busier and noisey and we prefered the quiet area in the San Marco. If you have children you may prefer the Sol Don Pablo as this has a children's club, the pool has a shallow section and there were generally more children around that area.
The food was very good. We had breakfast and dinner in the San Marco restaurant which was aslo the restaurant for the San Pedro. Breakfast was the normal buffett style with eggs, bacon sausage etc plus a good selection of cakes, cheeses and cold meats etc should you prefer. Dinner was also buffett style but there was a grill where the chef would cook meat and fish which varied each evening, a roast of some kind, (whilst we were there it was a whole slamon one night, turkey, beef and pork on others). In addition to this there is an Italian area with freshly cooked pizzas and pasta, a good selection of differnt salads and the normal Spainish style puddings consisting mainly of cakes and ice cream. Lunch was taken in the San Pablo restaurant, again buffett style with a similar but slightly smaller selection as dinner. We were very impressed with the quality and selection of the food. The hotel had lots of Spainish staying and this was reflected in some of the choices not being what we would choose - but you are in Spain so why not try something a little different. The wine and drinks were of a good quality and resonably priced.
There was a show in the San Pablo area each evening. These varied between outside acts, (the drag show was very good), and the entertainers miming and dancing to music. Some shows we enjoyed more than others but really it is personal taste. There was also live music in the San Pedro hotel for dancing if you prefer quieter entertainment. All stopped at midnight on the dot - so never any trouble with noise when sleeping.
The location of the hotel was perfect. Right on the front with a few shops scattered around.
You could walk to the centre of town if you needed more shopping but it was all uphill with steps
which was too much for my mother-in-law so we took a taxi up, (about 6 Euros), and walked back stopping in shops and cafes.
A very enjoyable small holiday and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ask for a room on the 2nd floor as all other rooms are non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive report. I am very glad that you enjoyed your holiday so much and we will be delighted to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,212 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing