We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wall to wall sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Another stay at the Sol Don Marco, it's like coming home, we relax immediately we arrive. Others have described the location and the facilities well. We were allocated the sea view room we had requested and that made my holiday. All the staff were helpful, cheerful and pleasant at all times.

I would just say that the evening dining experience on the first few days was less than enjoyable, but changed dramatically after a word about the problems, with the last week being a much more pleasurable and relaxed experience.

My husband went to Keep Fit most days and was really impressed with the way in which the exercises were geared around the age group of the people attending. The entertainment staff worked long and hard hours.

We enjoyed Mama Mia, although my singing along did drive my husband mad! We also went to a Tango Show held at the Sol Don Pablo, which was very good.

We had two enjoyable days out travelling by train first to Malaga where we visited the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral as well as having a good shop. The second day was again by train to Plaza Mayor where it was lovely to see a C&As again after all these years. Trains are every 20 minutes and much less expensive than in the UK, as well as being cleaner and more modern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyag2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed in Sol Don Marco in mid June and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes the area. Malaga airport is about 10 mins by taxi and trains Malaga to Fuengirola are easily accessed in Torremolinos.

The hotel is central and beachside with nice walks along the promenade and within walking distance of the old town. Locate the lift near the Melia hotel (1 Euro for 2 people) to save walking up the steps to town, particularly if it's hot! We went to a couple of tapas bars locally which were very good indeed. The Eldorado with it's cool balcony / terrace was a favourite.

As for the hotel - reception was very efficient, hotel very clean and well run. The breakfast buffet was excellent with fruit, cereal, breads and hot choices. We had a room overlooking the ocean with a small balcony. The room was air conditioned, but not overly big - the bathroom was excellent with a bath and walk-in shower.

The hotel is one of three in shared gardens (gloriously fragrant at night) and it's great to have use of all the pools and sun areas. We did have to search for a sun bed and brolly at around mid-morning the first day, so from then on we arrived a bit earlier on the terraces.

The resident entertainments team put on really good shows on the upper terrace most evenings. Cocktails are very reasonably priced.
Overall a very good choice - we may book there again in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slenderela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Been here before, very good 4*, rooms spotless, entertainment OK, but mimed to spanish soundtrack a tad poor. Would thoroughly recommend, no free wi-fi in rooms a tad 90's, oh & drinks expensive. Smokers could be relocated in dining room as too close to food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Gordon A,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you like the Don Marco so much and that you have come back to stay again.
I am confused about one element of your review: smoking has not been permitted inside the hotel buildings (except for in the limited number of smoking bedrooms) since 2006 and I personally have only once encountered a guest smoking inside. There is a smoking area on the dining room terrace and perhaps this is what is referred to. I am sorry if there has been some breach of the rules and we will be vigilant to ensure that it does not happen again.
Many thanks again for your review. Please come again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed in Sol Don Marco last week and would highly recommend it to anyone that like the Costa.
The hotel is very central and no need for taxi's as you will be on the prom and walking distance of the old town. we loved all the little restaurants up the town and would really encourage holiday makers to go up the back streets to lovely bars and restaurants.
Reception was very efficient, hotel very clean and well run. The food is absolutely brilliant, spoilt for choice. The hotel is 4 floors high. Rooms are a decent size with a balcony there is an extra charge for sea facing but this is not a big deal as all the balconies face a pool with sun in the evening. All rooms have air conditioning.
You can have either lunch or dinner when booked in half board. The only fault I found is that you eat just because its there at lunch time so give it thought if you like to eat out in the evening.
The hotel is in a courtyard with its two sister hotels and you can move around to all the restaurants and pools and sun areas, plenty of sun beds, they have 5/6 pools.
There is a gated entrance to the hotels which is locked at night so very safe. When you go out the gate you are on the promenade and 2 minutes bring you to a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seater79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear seater79,
I am delighted that you enjoyed the Don Marco so much. Thank you for your informative review which I think will be very useful to TA readers. Whilst the hotel complex itself offers lots of space and options for spending your holiday time, I agree that it is really worth getting out and exploring a little bit. Torremolinos has much more than just the beautiful beach and the prices of bars and restaurants are usually very good value.
Thanks again for the review. Plese come back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here in June for 5 days with a friend. Was booked in Sol Don Pedro but given a room in Sol Don Marco as complex is made up of 3 hotels. Sol don marco hotel was more modern. Very nice looking hotel inside and hotel rooms were adequate and very clean with nice spacious bathrooms. Although beds really uncomfortable and gave us back ache. The hotel is centred on the beach front in torremolinos, great location near shops and restaurants and only 10 mins walk to main centre which has plenty of shops, restaurants. The hotel grounds are nice enough and plenty of swimming pools to choose from, you can go to any pool etc in any of 3 hotels. We had half board and although breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from, we struggled with dinner and for half the time we ate out. We found a nice little bar about 5 min walk, left from hotel along the beach called Copacabana. It was nice to sit there and watch people go by and did great food. Beware of the Bar Manager if your a young lady, hes def a ladies man.
I went on this trip with my girl friend and being in our early 30s we were surprised that the nightlife in torremolinos is not as expected. There are a couple of bars, irish bars mainly in centre of torremolinos but the main clubs are for gays as its known as the gay holiday capital. We found out that 10 minute down the road (approx. 10-15 euros in taxi) is a place called benalmadena and a 24 hour square. It has about 6/7 bars/clubs which are open 24 hours and is really busy at the weekends. It was a great place to go.
If your thinking of visiting Marbella and porto bunis, its a distance and cost approx 50 euros one way in a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAGarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear TAGarton,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Don Marco. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel even though not so happy with the beds or the dinner. It is a shame that we did not know about the bed issue as we have softer mattresses for those who prefer them. I am sorry that you did not enjoy dinner as much as the breakfast. In general we have positive responses to the dining room but we realise that, although we have a great deal of variety, we cannot cater to every taste.
The centre of Torremolinos is no longer the wild party town that it was in the 80's but at the Los Alamos beach, which is about 15 minutes walk along the front there are some great bars and clubs. There are also clubs in nearby Puerto Marina which is a forty-minute walk (or cab ride) along the beach front in the other direction.
I hope that we see you again in the future. Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My first stay at the Don Marco Hotel and Torremolinos. Excellent hotel in every way. Tastefully decorated, well maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. The grounds are beautiful. Also bedrooms very peaceful. Food fantastic. Excellent breakfast and the dinner at night had something for everyone. Reception staff very helpful. Eva was very efficient and helpful. Would definitely return as Great base for beach, shops and for walking to Carihuela or Benalmadena

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you for your great review Lesley C,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Sol Don Hotels complex so much. Thanks for taking time to let us know about your stay.
I really hope that you will be back one day soon
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned from a short 3 day break at the Don Marco, booked through their own website. Paid a wee bit extra for seaview , and asked for 5th floor, as we had been before in 2007. Great room, full bath and separate shower. Huge balcony with table, chairs, umbrella, and sunloungers! As for the food, something for everyone, great breakfast, staff work really hard to maintain standards. What we really liked was the quiet atmosphere, as all entertainment was in the Don Pablo, and Don Pedro. If you want a hotel in Torremolinos, you must try this one!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a front facing seaview room, and ask for floor 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Granny1,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see a returning guest writing up their opinion on Trip Advisor.
A lot of guests love the Don Marco for the very reason that you mention: it is very peaceful, but with the advantage of having all the facilities, services and entertainment of the Don Pedro and Don Pablo available in the complex if you should want it.
I see that you stayed in one of the sea-front penthouse rooms. We only have three of these and they are in great demand. Having said that, all the rooms are similar in the Don Marco; it is just that the penthouses have that spectacular terrace.
Come again!
Kind regards,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,570 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,231 reviews
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
2 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing