We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
MS Aguamarina Suites(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tarik(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fenix Torremolinos(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
438
390
119
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
390
119
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pabloother hotelsnumerous poolssea viewhalf boarddining roomsister hotelacross the roadwhole complexlovely hotelsea frontbed and breakfastsun loungersplenty of sunbedsbuffet styleout of seasonlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Myself and my partner spent five nights in the Don Marco, and what a lovely memorable break it was. From start to finish everything in the hotel was perfect. Decor of the hotel was very pleasing, rooms very clean and modern. We had a ground floor and got a sea view with sun louger area just outside our window, which was handy for popping in and out to sunbathe. We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was fantastic, be prepared as the dining area is very big, it took us about two days to find out where everything was as the variety of foods catered for all nationalities, you could even have champagne for breakfast !
The hotel shared facilities with other two hotels Don Pablo & Don Pedro, all simply linked up, you could use all the swimming pools, I tried all four! along with jacussi, restaurants ect. The beach is located just across the road and there is a good shop just on the corner. I got a facial done in the Spa, which was lovely, similar prices to Ireland. All staff in the hotel were profesinal, young, pleasant and spoke very good English. Worth every penny !

Room Tip: Request ground floor with sea view side, most of the sun bathing is done on this side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

realy good place good variety of food personel great everything great l will return anytime hotel near of commodity long walk on passeo maritimo quiet secur a real paradise espanol great persons smiling

Room Tip: good choice personel and service great
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have just spent 1 week in the Don Marco. Had a top floor room with a big balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The room was clean and tidy. The cleaners were very nice people and helpful. The air conditioning worked well and kept the room nice and cool.
We only ate in the Don Marco so can not comment on the other dining room.we got down to the dining room early and had no problem finding seats. There is a lot of choice for Breakfast.Pancakes were lovely. My only complaint was The sausages, they were horrible.
Dinner was ok, still lots of choice.Meat dishes, fish, salad. jacket potatoes,chips and pizza
Puddings were flavoured custards and a variety of cakes.
I found the lobby hot with no aircon so didn't spent much time in there.
The pools were clean and the grounds well tended. shame the indoor pool was not heated.
they played country and western music live in the afternoon. (not my cup of tea,so didnt enjoy it that much as it could be heard by the pool.)
Loved the hotel so will go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dotdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed there ten nights in Don Marco in march 2013. In room looking to inner pool. During our entire stay, Don Marco 's lobby . common areas , were very dimly lit if at all , not heated, foul , fishy odour.Absolutely intolerable. Don Marco restaurant not opened ' as confirmed, so we had to go at Don Pablo' s , overcrowded,quality very , very low, Is this a hospital ? Very disappointing. We tried to talk 3 times to the manager, while there. Got an answer 4 weeks later in Canada, through our travel agency.RESPONSE : Actually. yes. we ' ve encountered some heating and electrical problems ....Got a cash $$$ rebate for this but nevertheless, far from acceptable. Very disappointing.Quite surprising.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank atomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear atomas55,
I am so sorry that we let you down last winter. As we mentioned to you through your travel agent in Montreal, the management was not made aware of your request to speak to a manager during your stay and we never found out with whom you had made this request. The local guide for your agency was also unaware of your issue which is a shame as we coud easily have offered you a nice room in either of the other two hotels in the complex.
In any case we recognised the technical problem at the time as we recognise it now and made you an offer of financial compensation which we were given to believe you considered to be fair.
I do apologise again that your inconvenience.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at the Don Marco. We had a lovely room on the top floor, as requested, large bathroom with bath and separate shower cubical. There was a large terrace with 2 sunbeds, a table and 4 chairs which caught the sun every afternoon, it was kept clean by a very attentive chambermaid. The hotel is very well furnished and kept scrupulously clean by the staff. The gardens and pool area are kept to the same standard. One gripe about the outside, there is black mold around the edge of the round swimming pool which could be removed quite easily, but no one bothered. The staff at reception were very polite and helpful. The bar staff were ok but we did not use the bar as the drinks were in my opinion too expensive, 5 euros for a pint of tap beer and over 6 for a vodka and tonic. The house wine was good value and very palatable at 9 euros. My main complaint was the food and the dinning area, the breakfast food was ok with a good selection of fruit, cold meats etc the bacon was always streaky and left in a tray full of oil, the poached eggs were left in a bowel of hot water so they were always hard. There are not enough tea and coffee making facilities, the rotary toasters took three attempts before the toast was brown which meant queues and people pushing and shoving, the place resembled a zoo at peak times. There never seemed to be enough staff on hand to tidy up and clear the tables on most shifts I counted four, if you consider the restaurant for the Don Marco also serves guests from the adjoining hotel the Don Pedro it is totally inadequate in size. As for the dinner don't even bother, the salad bar was lacking in choice, the meats and fish for the main course were precooked and left in a tray to dry out or covered in a sauce and left to simmer . There was little choice of vegetables, the jacket potatoes were left under a lamp and were cold, the desserts looked like the sort of fair you would put on for a children's party jelly, blancmange and the odd gateaux, by the time they had been pushed and prodded around by previous dinners totally unappetizing. My last point on the dinning area, at previous hotels we have stayed at there was a hand sanitizer at the entrance, considering this is a buffet eating area with people using the same serving spoons and tongs it might be an idea to install one thus cutting down the chance of infection. All three of the Don hotels are nice and in a good position right on the beach and 15 minutes from the airport, in my opinion the only thing that lets them down is the food and dinning area, the hotels are 4 star the dinning experience is definitely not. A bit of investment some chefs and smiley waiting staff could make this hotel one of the best. I would use the hotel again but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesbrownauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews