We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CARDIFF, SOUTH WALES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for long weekend. Lovely hotel, very clean, food good, fabulous location just on the beach. Ana on reception was exceptional, she was so welcoming and helpful, will definately return, for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you suegreen.
I hope that it is soon!
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    342
    102
    28
    14
See reviews for
173
505
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Second visit, first visited in 2011, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel room 5007 had a huge balcony with all day sun, 2 sunbeds, umbrella, chairs and table, furniture is well used and could do with replacing. Bedroom was fine, hard bed though. Lovely large bathroom with separate shower and bath. Aircon not overly effective but perhaps this is centrally controlled, didn't really get very cold. Loads of hot water and shower was pretty good. Lots of areas to enjoy the sun but sunbeds are packed in in some places. We found the food to be of an excellent standard considering the numbers. We stayed on full board basis, breakfast and dinner were chaotic at times, lunch was a real treat with prawns, mussels readily available (didn't see them at night!) and some lovely fish and meat dishes.
The number of staff seemed low and those that were there worked so hard, but they could have done with a few more at times.
As Melia gold members, we normally receive bottled water daily but this didn't happen here but supermarkets at entrance to hotel so no problem.
Good standard of hotel, (no slippers, robes or tea/coffee making facilities in room though) in fantastic position with extremely helpful staff from the manager through to the maintenance man who came to fix our fridge! Thank you all for a great break, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5007, standard room but huge balcony, view towards Don Pablo hotel. Have previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinedavis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear carolinedavis5,
Thank you for returning to stay with us and for writing up your review on TA. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your comments. We have reviewed the terrace furniture and will replace the webbing on the sun loungers.
I am very sorry to hear that we did not fulfill all our obligations to you as a Meliá Rewards member. We were able to offer a room upgrade but there is no excuse for not delivering your water to you every day. Should you come again please let me know in advance and I will be sure to make it up to you.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballylickey, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My wife & I just returned from another eleven night stay in Don Marco; as always EXCELLENT in every way. Reception Team (in our case Ana, Antonio & Miquel) will ensure your stay is delightful & give any assistance required. So good we are booked again for September
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DMC121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much DMC121,
We look forward to seeing you back in September. It is wonderful to see so many regulars writing their reports here. Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Rooms - clean, modern with all facilities. Wifi was great, reasonably priced.

Pools & bars - The hotel is part of a group, you have access to all three hotels facilities with 8 or 9 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool and 2 Jacuzzi's pool space and quality is excellent. Lots of outside space, sun loungers (in many varied shady/sunny locations) and bars by the pools. (A little expensive for drinks compared to the public bars just down the steps on the promenade 0.4l beer 4.40 compared to 0.5l for 3 euros outside, but to be expected I suppose, hotels are always dearer) We paid 8 euros for a malibu and coke on the first day which was an utter rip off!

Location - great, some steps down to the promenade with shops, bars and restaurants seemingly open almost 24 hours! 1 mile walk to the centre of Torromelinos. Be on the beach in under 5 minutes from any room pretty much. Cheap sun loungers on the beaches which are clean, sandy and the water is quite warm!

Food - reasonable quality, plenty of variety but like most buffets a bit on the cold side.

Service - all staff that we met were fluent English speakers and were very polite and helpful.

The hotel was quiet, but I think was largely due to the time of year of our visit. I would guess the hotel was nowhere near full, hence there was lots of space by the pools and in the restaurants. It was mostly older folks in the hotel but if you venture outside the hotel there are plenty of young people to found. I would say I will almost definitely visit again for another short break!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Danny V,
Thank you for your informative review of the Don Marco and Sol Dons complex. I am so pleased that you appreciated the rooms, service and facilities so much.
The complex certainly fills up more in high summer although many of the July and August guests are Spanish, and prefer going to the beach to spending the day around the pools so there is always room to find the atmosphere that you are looking for at one of the pool areas.
I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just come back from a week in the Sol Don Marco .We found it an excellent hotel.We could not fault it in any way.The food was very good with great selection. The room very clean with clean towels every day.We used all three hotels for entertainment and the pools were brilliant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Trup advisor member,
I am so glad that your special event was successful. Thank you for letting us all know about your experience.
I will look into the hangar issue: Originally all the hangar rails were a too high and we had them lowered. I am wondering if there is one that escaped adjustment.
I hope that we see you again some day.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this hotel for an 85th birthday treat for my aunt, based on previous excellent reviews. We were not disappointed; as it was so early in the season, the hotel wasn't busy and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Although all three hotels in the complex are treated separately, they are closely interlinked, making what is in effect, one large building. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and facilities very good. Ana the receptionist even managed to fix my aunt's broken spectacles while busily engaged in answering the phone-service above and beyond the call! Our room was very comfortable with lovely sea views. The only minor gripe was the wardrobe. It was floor to ceiling with a very high hanger rail. It was awkward for a small woman to reach up to unhook the hangers from the plastic holder and almost impossible to slot them in again. I pulled more than one muscle before I eventually gave up and draped my clothes over the back of a chair. I didnt report it to the staff as we were only there for three nights, so it didn't seem a sufficiently big problem to complain about and in any event, I'm not sure what could be done other than to get more user-friendly hangers. All in all though, this was a very pleasant experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Snuffycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The rooms are clean and service is good!

Close to the beach, and close to a lot of stores and bars.

Not possible to find a person under the age of 60 though. No hotel for young people who wants a party-vacation ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear SarahBergen,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Don Marco and thanks for writing in your opinion on TA.
You are right that Torremolinos is not really a party town. There are lots of bars and restaurants and in summer there is a good beach club scene in the evenings on the Los Alamos beach but in general it is really a family resort. In winter and spring we have an older crowd and in summer it is a lot younger although these last couple of years I have noticed that fewer young people seem to have had the money to travel as much.
Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Melia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing