We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break for oldies”
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break for oldies”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June. The facilities are good, the foyer area is well furnished and cool, a quiet area to sit down and relax in. There is wi-fi which is a bit pricey but a limited free wi fi allows you to do some basic browsing and sending emails etc. Rooms are well furnished and spacious with small balcony but no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Take a travel kettle if you want a morning cuppa.

The hotel is part of a group of three the main hotel offering entertainment at night if you like that sort of thing. We could hear the entertainment from our room but fortunately it quietens off about 11.30 so its not too late.

The complex has a number of pools most of which cater for kids with organised games etc. The pool at Don Marco is small but mainly used by older holiday makers, who in fact seemed to make up the bulk of the guests staying in this hotel. Sunbathing by the pool was quite pleasant with no screaming kids or pool games being organised. The oldies are more than capable of making up their own entertainment when left to get on with it

The beach is on the doorstep but sand is gritty so we spent most time at the pool. There are plenty of shops and restaurants/bars near by so no need to go hungry or thirsty. Breakfast at the hotel is a self serve buffet. Dont look at the greedy folk on full board who stuff themselves silly with everything they can see. We didnt eat in the hotel. Dinner can be bought for 15 euros and again its a self serve buffet thing. To be honest you can eat out for less and its more authentic.

As for Costa Del Sol its not my cup of tea. Very tourist tacky. Very built up and a bit difficult to get around. There is a good train service from Malaga via the airport to all the resorts but the stations are a long way from the resort centres

Room Tip: Rooms at the front dont get the noise from the entertainment at the other hotel but the street is bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpooljohnMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    367
    110
    33
    15
See reviews for
186
536
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torremolinos
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for the past 6 years. On this occasion I have noted the general standards throughout have decreased. I was totally amazed that they have removed the bar facility within the foyer. There is now a complete lack of atmosphere. With no pool bar facility, this must be the only claimed 4 star hotel with no bar facilities whatsoever, relying totally on the facilities of the adjoining Sol hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank John William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear John William L,
Thanks you for your review and for your repeated visits to the Sol Don Marco. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment at the lobby bar not being open when you were here. We have not actually removed the bar, but have only ever opened it when we are in high occupation. As the Sol Don Hotels complex works as one big hotel we always have dining and bar services open in the complex. The Don Marco is designed to be the quieter of the three buildings.
I appreciate your comments and see that perhaps we shoyuld have considered oopening the bar earlier this year. We will open it forthwith.
Thanks you again for your comments. I hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I visited for a long weekend at the end of May. Location is fabulous across the road from the beach right on the promenade. There are bars, restaurants, supermarket and shops right outside the hotel in either direction along the promenade.

Great size room with decent size balcony. The beds are on the firm side and I slept well. The bathroom had a separate shower and a bath which was a bonus.

Good food with plenty of selection for breakfast and dinner. Beware the cost of Wine at dinner £££ you have to order a half bottle instead of a glass which is not available. I stuck to water at €2 instead. Glass of Rose at Hotel bar €3 which I thought was an average hotel price, would be cheaper in local bars on the promenade.

Can't go wrong with quick flight from the UK and 15 min transfer time from Malaga Airport.I booked Hotel through their own Melia website. The shuttle was an option online when you book and was only about €13 return. Sign up for free Melia Rewards program to get points to use and special offers. I have just used my points to get discount off my next holiday. I loved it so much I have booked to return in July.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 12Sparkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear 12Sparkly,
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time and that you are coming back in June using some of your Melia Rewards points!
I personally like a firm bed, as I see that you do too. Guests who prefer a softer mattress can ask for one when they arrive.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Sol Don Marco as a couple from 29/5/14 to 6/6/14. Hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 mins taxi ride from the airport(20 euros) and right next to the beach.There is a shop right next to the hotel that sells everything you could need. Rooms are nice, with a small balcony and a fridge, no tea making facilities but we knew this from the reviews so took a kettle and some tea bags with us. Bathroom did have a funny drain smell to it sometimes but this is something I have noticed a few times whilst abroad.
No WiFi in room sunless you pay 30 Euros for a week however there is free WiFi in the lobby,not the best WiFi in the world, not enough bandwidth to access any web pages just able to check your emails.
Breakfast was brilliant,sparkling wine if you fancy, fruit,cooked breakfast,croissants and cakes, what more can you ask for!
We didn't sit around the pool as went to the beach but it looked nice and clean.
The fridge in our room wasn't working so we called reception and we had a replacement fridge within half hr which was good.
The only thing I think could be improved on were the reception staff,they weren't the most friendly, and didn't seem to want to be there, this is in stark contrast to anyone we met outside outside the hotel (taxi drivers, restaurant staff) who were always very friendly and happy to help.
We really did have a lovely time at the Don Marco and would definitely think about staying here again should we return to Torremolinos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

excellent hotel in don complex. our only gripe is lack of parasols, need to supply lot more of them. have stayed in all hotels in this complex and each has its own qualities. food in restaurants is super. kids entertainment needs some updating, my daughters family with us staying in don pedro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernieDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a truly wonderful four night break at the Sol Don Marco. This was our first visit to the area and had chosen the hotel specifically due to its location and excellent trip advisor reviews and management responses. We were not disappointed by our choice!
The first huge plus is the hotel's location - only 10 mins by taxi from the airport. On arrival we actually look the short train trip from the airport to Torremolinos station and them had a 10 minute walk down the hill to the hotel. We walked every day to Belnamadena Marina - about 40 minute walk away - but along the bustling boardwalk with loads of shops, people and cafés to look at it didn't seem so far! The Marina has some lovely shops and was the perfect stop for a coffee before our return walk!

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and very accommodating - no matter what our request was nothing was ever too much trouble.

We had been very lucky in being allocated a lovely room on the 5th floor of the hotel - with private large balcony and sun loungers and views over the beach and promenade below. There was no noise at all which was a pleasant surprise for such a busy resort!

The bedroom was immaculate - as was the housekeeping throughout the hotel. The beds were a little on the firm side but we still managed to sleep really well every night!

Guests at the Don Marco can eat in both the restaurants of the hotel and of the sister hotel the San Pedro within the same complex. Food is all buffet style which may not be to some people's tastes - but it was to ours! The breakfast buffet was delicious - whilst the restaurant was very busy between 9 and 10 queues were minimal and the food was continually being replenished. There was even Cava on offer every morning should it take your fancy!

For both lunch and dinner the buffet was fabulous. It varied daily and had a great selection of fresh, delicious and appetising fayre. It is by no means gourmet dining but is indeed one of the finest and tastiest buffet hotel selections I have ever enjoyed.

There are 4-5 swimming pools around the complex - all immaculately clean - as were the exterior toilets beside the pools. The pools were never overly crowded and there were plenty of sun loungers and parasols - but despite numerous signs requesting guests not to keep loungers with towels it appeared that that was the only way to secure a lounger! We had great trouble getting one after 10 on our first morning - so joined everyone else by reserving ours on the way to breakfast each day!
The pool bar is lovely and had a range of tasty snacks and lovely cocktails!

What was also a nice surprise was the cosmopolitan mix of guests at the hotel. It was by no means all British or all German ! There were equal numbers of Irish, French, Belgian and loads of Spanish - which is always a good sign for a Spanish hotel!!

The entertainment programme varied every night and was not really our sort if thing - but was busy and seemed to be thoroughly enjoyed by all those in attendance!!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel - it was a perfect haven and escape for a lovely, relaxing four day break away without our children!
We look forward to returning as soon as possible and are missing the fabulous Mojitos already!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Murphyboy123,
Thanks for choosing the Don Marco and thank you for your very complete and detailed review. I am sure that it will be very interesting for readers who are considering Torremolinos.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your break so much and that the hotel did all the things that you were looking for. I am also glad to see that you got out and explored a bit as the area has so much to offer.
We do ask people not to reserve sunbeds although between the 9 pools and their respective sun terraces it is unusual not to find beds available anyway. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble. Something that we experience is that at certain times of year we have a lot of repeat guests who like to get together with other guests who come at the same time of year: they often seem to like to congregate at the same sunbathing area every day.
I hope that might see you again in Torremolinos.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

arrive home last night after 7night stay. smaller hotel than don pablo,we had super relax time imaculate, room lovely, full bath also full separte shower, never anywhere had so much really hot water brill, girls who look after rooms do work very hard beautiful thank you, reception staff very helpful, food as usual lovely, staff all over hotel very good manners. many thanks to everyone who helped make our holiday. upgrades to hotel stunning. will ofcourse use again. catherine

Room Tip: fourth floor corner room very good chice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine Bella... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Catherine Bella... B,
Thanks for visiting the Sol Don Hotels complex again. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time and that your first time in the Marco was such a success.
We have so many repeat customers here and most don't think it worth wrining a review so I appreciate you taking the time.
Please come again soon and thanks for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing