We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent hotel, great location near the beach, bars and shops. Really good food and rooms. Nice little touch whereby they provide a courtesy room on your way home to enable you to shower. They also provided us with a half bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in our room for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Drinks expensive otherwise I would have given 5* ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear portvalemjb,
Thank you for letting us share in your celebration. It is such a pleasure to help special moments to be even better.
We very much hope to see you again in the future and possibly celebrate again.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Travelled to this hotel on recommendation from friends who stayed in this complex on a number of occasions. Hotel nice and quiet at check in and pleasant check in with reception. Room not very large but clean. Requested a quiet room and allocated room on third floor facing music area from Sol Don Pablo. Beds quiet firm and not everly comfortable. Room generally quiet but even if you closed the sliding doors noise from music from Don Pablo did not abate but finished circa 12.30. Generally very poor soundproofing.
Food was very good for buffet style. Breakfast varied and replenished frequently. Similarly dinner was very nice particularly on one evening which seemed to be an anniversary for the hotel with flower for the ladies, prawns mussells and salmon in abundance. As is usual in these complexes better to go to breakfast before 9 and to dinner before 7.30 less hassle and better choice of seating.
The area is only some 10 mins for the airport and extremely convenient. Located next to beach and nice 45 mins walk to Benalmadena Marina. Never had any problems with sunbeds but parasols very scarce. Plenty of shops restaurants etc on either side asyou exit the hotel. Would recomment to travel to the bus station at the top of the hill and take bus to Benalamedena Pueblo some 15/20 minutes bus journey up into the hills a small village with some nice bars and restaurants cost very reasonable and veery picturesque. Same bus goes on to Mijas.
Normally dont go to Irish bars when on holidays but nice quiet bar only two hundred metres namely The Irish Affair run by Margaret and her husband for the last 17 years family run and no hens or stags.
Overall thoroughly enjoyed our holiday except for the noise. All staff pleasant and helpful. Will return but may go to the Don Pablo and stay on upper floors behind tne music. Traavelled 29th. May for 7 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digger1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days at Sol don Marco hotel complex, the room was very good with air conditioning, small fridge and small balcony, very nice shower room. Only over the road from beach with plenty of cafés and bars. We ate in hotel as we were on half board which was excellent buffet style large selections of cooked or continental breakfast, evening dinner was again buffet style with excellent selection of salads and hot food. Evening entertainment at other hotels in complex ok on some nights. The reception staff were very helpful in arranging trip to Gibraltar which was excellent. Plenty of swimming pools to choose from with sunbeds, very clean and set in lovely surrounding gardens. My only criticism would be the evening bar waiters at entertainment terrace are not very good at giving change when you have ordered drinks but we learnt by this and ordered our own at terrace bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June. The facilities are good, the foyer area is well furnished and cool, a quiet area to sit down and relax in. There is wi-fi which is a bit pricey but a limited free wi fi allows you to do some basic browsing and sending emails etc. Rooms are well furnished and spacious with small balcony but no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Take a travel kettle if you want a morning cuppa.

The hotel is part of a group of three the main hotel offering entertainment at night if you like that sort of thing. We could hear the entertainment from our room but fortunately it quietens off about 11.30 so its not too late.

The complex has a number of pools most of which cater for kids with organised games etc. The pool at Don Marco is small but mainly used by older holiday makers, who in fact seemed to make up the bulk of the guests staying in this hotel. Sunbathing by the pool was quite pleasant with no screaming kids or pool games being organised. The oldies are more than capable of making up their own entertainment when left to get on with it

The beach is on the doorstep but sand is gritty so we spent most time at the pool. There are plenty of shops and restaurants/bars near by so no need to go hungry or thirsty. Breakfast at the hotel is a self serve buffet. Dont look at the greedy folk on full board who stuff themselves silly with everything they can see. We didnt eat in the hotel. Dinner can be bought for 15 euros and again its a self serve buffet thing. To be honest you can eat out for less and its more authentic.

As for Costa Del Sol its not my cup of tea. Very tourist tacky. Very built up and a bit difficult to get around. There is a good train service from Malaga via the airport to all the resorts but the stations are a long way from the resort centres

Room Tip: Rooms at the front dont get the noise from the entertainment at the other hotel but the street is bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpooljohnMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for the past 6 years. On this occasion I have noted the general standards throughout have decreased. I was totally amazed that they have removed the bar facility within the foyer. There is now a complete lack of atmosphere. With no pool bar facility, this must be the only claimed 4 star hotel with no bar facilities whatsoever, relying totally on the facilities of the adjoining Sol hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank John William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear John William L,
Thanks you for your review and for your repeated visits to the Sol Don Marco. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment at the lobby bar not being open when you were here. We have not actually removed the bar, but have only ever opened it when we are in high occupation. As the Sol Don Hotels complex works as one big hotel we always have dining and bar services open in the complex. The Don Marco is designed to be the quieter of the three buildings.
I appreciate your comments and see that perhaps we shoyuld have considered oopening the bar earlier this year. We will open it forthwith.
Thanks you again for your comments. I hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited for a long weekend at the end of May. Location is fabulous across the road from the beach right on the promenade. There are bars, restaurants, supermarket and shops right outside the hotel in either direction along the promenade.

Great size room with decent size balcony. The beds are on the firm side and I slept well. The bathroom had a separate shower and a bath which was a bonus.

Good food with plenty of selection for breakfast and dinner. Beware the cost of Wine at dinner £££ you have to order a half bottle instead of a glass which is not available. I stuck to water at €2 instead. Glass of Rose at Hotel bar €3 which I thought was an average hotel price, would be cheaper in local bars on the promenade.

Can't go wrong with quick flight from the UK and 15 min transfer time from Malaga Airport.I booked Hotel through their own Melia website. The shuttle was an option online when you book and was only about €13 return. Sign up for free Melia Rewards program to get points to use and special offers. I have just used my points to get discount off my next holiday. I loved it so much I have booked to return in July.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank 12Sparkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 12Sparkly,
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time and that you are coming back in June using some of your Melia Rewards points!
I personally like a firm bed, as I see that you do too. Guests who prefer a softer mattress can ask for one when they arrive.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Sol Don Marco as a couple from 29/5/14 to 6/6/14. Hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 mins taxi ride from the airport(20 euros) and right next to the beach.There is a shop right next to the hotel that sells everything you could need. Rooms are nice, with a small balcony and a fridge, no tea making facilities but we knew this from the reviews so took a kettle and some tea bags with us. Bathroom did have a funny drain smell to it sometimes but this is something I have noticed a few times whilst abroad.
No WiFi in room sunless you pay 30 Euros for a week however there is free WiFi in the lobby,not the best WiFi in the world, not enough bandwidth to access any web pages just able to check your emails.
Breakfast was brilliant,sparkling wine if you fancy, fruit,cooked breakfast,croissants and cakes, what more can you ask for!
We didn't sit around the pool as went to the beach but it looked nice and clean.
The fridge in our room wasn't working so we called reception and we had a replacement fridge within half hr which was good.
The only thing I think could be improved on were the reception staff,they weren't the most friendly, and didn't seem to want to be there, this is in stark contrast to anyone we met outside outside the hotel (taxi drivers, restaurant staff) who were always very friendly and happy to help.
We really did have a lovely time at the Don Marco and would definitely think about staying here again should we return to Torremolinos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,045 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,532 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Melia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing