We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for the 7th time and we were not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Having returned recently from the Lago I have had to write another review for all you sceptics out there. When we arrived we were very warmly greeted by the staff who got us up to our room within 10 minutes. I always ask for 1st floor as I travel with my 84 year old mother who likes to walk up the stairs. On reaching the corridor we were shocked to find that it resembled B & Q with workmen everywhere (on a Saturday). We were told that they were replacing sliding doors in the bedrooms. No problem, we went with it and that was the last time we saw or heard any disruption during our whole 10 day stay. The staff as usual were friendly and attentive and the food was of a good standard. I cannot say anything further about the Carihuela district that I have not already said before. It is the most beautiful village and I will continue to come back for as long as I can. I have made many friends here. To Isabel and all the staff at The Lago. Well done and continue what you are doing. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for poolside and 5th floor if you have extra cash to splash. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vonniedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having been dissapointed last September with the Roc Lago and after 11 visits we decided to go elsewhere.Having said that on our recent visit we did 'pop'in to see our old favourite and I must say it is much mich better!!back on top form and fabulous.Well done to Isabel and all her wonderful team.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AshbyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

cant say enough about this hotel..the staff the food the location and the room's it delivered everything it promised ..we will definitly be going back

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool we were on the 4th floor and it was great.... there was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bettyotoole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a week last January in Hotel Roc Lago Rojo and we have now booked again for next January. The location is excellent for a winter holiday especially for older couples who like to avoid hills but enjoy nice long walks on level ground. Just out the back gate of hotel and we were on the promenade, we could go.left into Torremolinas and right took us to Benelmadna port.
There were so many little restaurants/bars/shops that one could pop in and out of. Bargins also for those who like to shop.
Hotel always clean/hotel staff very helpful/food was not 5 star but we always got a meal that we really enjoyed. Hey we are going back!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. i think they charge extra for sea views but in winter we didnt both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wynnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My boyfriend(late 20's) and i(mid 20's) are just back from a weeks stay here. Arrived late at night and checked in with reception....everything was fine, quiet hotel, much older people but that was okay because it was a relaxing holiday. Only to be woke Tuesday morning at about 8am to drilling and hammering just above us. We didn't think much of it thinking it was only a small job but it carried on all day and again woke us the next morning with the similar sounds. So we went to reception and complained about the noise as when we checked in nobody made us aware of the building work going on and we were told "oh we're building a solarium you can have a free drink when you return". Not very satisfactory. This carried on for another few days when we complained again and a nicer receptionist offered us a change of room. We changed rooms because we couldn't put up with the noise any more. The room was not as modern as the room that was booked as it was part the older building of the hotel, it obviously wasn't lived for some time as it smelt like a breeding ground for moths and 2 single beds instead of a double. Over all besides this experience I still wouldn't stay here even though it is a very clean hotel and good location it is more like a retirement village, with very thin walls(you can hear everything from other rooms footsteps among other sounds) and the very uncomfortable beds. The receptionists were also not very good to deal with and not very helpful. We stayed half board breakfast was very average geared more towards a continental choice with good choice of fruit and pastries, we never ate an evening meal. On checking out something which i never experienced before happened in we were told we could not avail of a late checkout given no reason but our suspicions were the hotel took umbridge at our complaint of the building works this was an inconvenience as we were not flying out until 9pm that night.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fifth time here and Hotel is still great, staff are always pleasant and very helpful.The hotel is always clean and spotless, and the rooms are cleaned everyday. food is great and a good selection to suit everyone,location is excellent go out through the back gate and you are 50 meters from the beach, we have booked again for 5 people in October and looking forward to being back in Roc Lago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I (both 31 and English) stayed here for 3 nights in the Easter holidays 2012. The staff were generally helpful and attentive, although there was a new guy on reception learning the ropes (hey, we've all been there) who struggled a bit to get his information right. Positives - good location near beach, large rooms, good food including enough for vegetarians, quick commute from Malaga airport (15 mins or so). Negatives - small pool which was unheated and shaded by surrounding buildings so was freezing and unusable despite good temperatures generally, room was a bit sparce and the matresses were nice and firm but the springs stuck into my side. Also we were overlooking the street rather than the pool/sea which was very noisy and the bin men woke us up at 3am on the dot each night! Think it would be fine in the other side of the building and I believe these are the more modern rooms, but you do have to pay more. Parking was secure underground but cost us 11 euros per day. Not a lot of other parking available in area which surprised us out of season, but we did manage to park a couple of roads away for the second and third day. Most of the guests were pensioners from a variety of countries, but facilities for children would be limited. A reasonable stay for a short break for us in a friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveldragon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: £46 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing