We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Spanish hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another Spanish hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was another typical Spanish hotel, which has been around for a while. The layout of the room is rather strange as the living area is slightly dropped. I would expect slightly more for from four star hotel but overall it was OK. I found the dinning room quite small though. Also, the hotel hasn't got its own beach so had to pay 20 euros a day to have sun umbrella/beds. The free wifi was only available in the lobby. However, the location wasn't too bad as it had quite a few shops around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paladinkax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    216
    135
    47
    20
See reviews for
183
322
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

as every year, we requested rooms on tge 5th floor with seaview together. we were two couples traveling together and as every year they made it possible. super helpful staff and delicious food. i am travel agent and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. only wifi is expensive

Room Tip: rooms with seaview are nice. the ones on the lower floors are bigger. 5th floor smaller,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbgvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
614 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first time staying at hotel Roc Lago Rogo. We requested a fifth floor sea view. It cost us seventy euro extra but it was worth it. Room was very clean and airy. The hotel is ideally located so near the beach and the shops and bars. The television only had sky news in english which was a bit dissappointing. Breakfast was good. Evening meals not so good . There wasnt a great choice. Chips were soggy and tasteless and vegetables were cold. The pool was empty everyday . No sunbeds around the pool as advertised. Staff were lovely and helpful. They work really hard.Drinks in the bar very expensive. Entertainment very poor. One thing lacking in the room is tea and coffee making facilities. We will definately stay again as it is so convenient.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms with a sea view are worth the extra seventy euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Louth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hi. Have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Roc Lago Rojo in Torremolinos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Were greeted at check in by two very friendly receptionists called Hilde and and Petra who made us feel very welcome and provided us with a lot of information for our stay. It was a delight to be welcomed in this manner having experienced the opposite in some of the bigger hotels in the area. We actually booked into this hotel as a second choice as our preferred choice was not available. As it turned out it was lucky for us as we found this hotel more friendly, welcoming and better overall and will be our choice when we return.
The room was a seaview which cost 10 euro extra per night but was worth it. The room was very spacious and uncluttered and the balcony was large.
The breakfast was very nice and varied with plenty of choices.
The location is excellent just steps away from the main promenade and the beach. The pool was smaller than usual but adequate. There is a fantastic roof top sun terrace with a gorgeous sea view and sunbeds, also a bar.
All in all this was a great place to stay and would recommend it highly. Many thanks to Hilde and Petra who were excellent at their jobs.

Room Tip: Fifth floor seaview room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I too am currently stopping at this Hotel and have done every year for the last ten or so.
Whilst the standards at the Hotel remain very high, I have noticed this year small adjustments have been made, presumably as a cost-cutting exercise.
The first thing I noticed was a total lack of accessories in the bathroom - sewing kit, comb, shower cap, etc.
Older members of staff have been replaced by younger ones as a cheaper option and waiters do not appear at breakfast until after 9-00 am, causing a lack of clean tables.
The main difference is the noticeable drop in the quality of the food. Whilst the choice is still excellent, it is the use of cheaper cuts of meat, cheap fish such as Panga and Tilapia that have caught my attention.
Having said that, I would still recommend a visit here.
I will certainly return.
The location is fantastic for beach lovers, shoppers and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are staying here at the moment and finding the hotel very good value for money.everthing is very clean and we'll looked after. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good and hot and the wine is excellent with dinner.close to the beach pool small so really hotel is set for a beach holiday. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Roc Lago Rojo is a small, basic-needs hotel two blocks from the ocean promenade and about 10-15mins walk to the city center of Torremolinos. It's proximity to the beach and the beachfront shopping and restaurants is a plus - the fact that it's located on a relatively calm (during the days) city street is anther. True, it gets fairly noisy at night from the local pubs, but if you wear earplugs, it's quite ok.

The rooms are quite big, and slightly strange, as they are divided into two parts, divided by a small stair. At night, this can end in broken limbs, as the beds are placed really closely to the stairs down to the sitting area/balcony (and mini fridge).

Rooms with balconies facing the beach (sorry, no ocean view unless you're at the top floor) get pretty cold during the day as they are facing east, and have no sun from about 2pm.

Beds are terrible - creaky and with springs piercing through the fabric. The walls are also very thin, so you will hear your neighbors coming back from dinner/partying. Wear earplugs!

The food is basic. The restaurant have themed evenings, but the food then doesn't vary that much from the usual stuff. It tastes good, and there's alaways a choise between meat, poultry and fish.

Rooftop sundeck is quite popular, and the sunchairs get filled pretty quickly. Have in mind, this is basically like laying on a frying pan - if you get woozy easily, stay away! The parasolls offer shade, but it's still really hot up there. But, if you want to get tanned and don't mind the heat, the sunchairs are soft and there's a bar and a hottub here.

The pool in the garden is... well, as it's placed right by the bar outdoor seating and offer no sunchairs, it's quite useless. It looks nice, but don't expect to be able to lay by the pool for the day. Take your towel to the beach, rent a chair for €5 there instead.

Two entrances/exits - main exit to the street and pool exit (you need your key card to open this one) towards the beach.

Really clean hotel, though, with very nice and service-minded staff. If you don't want to spend a lot of accomodations and are a heavy sleeper, this place is recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the beach have no afternoon sun Only rooms on the 5th floor have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzie_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Property: Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing