We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your on a budget...”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Having read some of the reviews before booking this hotel I was a bit skeptical,however as myself and my wife were only taking a short break for 4 days and on a budget. when we first saw the building we thought lets go somewhere else,we arrived at reception which was nice and bright and the night porter was very nice.Made our way to the room along some very long corridors,,the room was ok a bit on the small side,it was clean and fresh.The hotel has a great location for all areas and bus stop is two minutes from entrance.The so called roof solarium has 10 loungers and is a great sun trap.The only real downside was the food,only two choices on the first night,some kind of indescribable meat and uncooked fish tinned peas and carrots that was it!decided to eat out every night in some great restaurants at reasonable prices. Continental breakfast of mainly bread rolls and horrible ham and cheese,be very careful of the juice machine I made the mistake of drinking the orange juice,upset stomach for the day.Overall if you are on a budget or short stay its passable. Would I go again Mm...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms in a quite area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here me and my two friends (girls holiday) were quite worried about our stay. Although we found Torremolinos quiet the hotel was brilliant. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Lewis), rooms (although basic) were cleaned every day with fresh towels put out, free wifi and fun bar/tv room. Breakfast was basic and there was no pool but we knew this when we booked. It's in a brilliant location, only 5 minutes to the beach and 2 minutes from the train station and bus station. Worth a stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is excellent value for money. However, you have to accept that you do get what you pay for!

All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming - but they did appear to be struggling to cope with the demands placed on them. They could do with more staff. Never more than 2 staff manning the restaurant that deals with a hotel with over 120 rooms is insufficient.

We booked two single rooms. Each room was large and contained 4 (yes FOUR) single beds. Probably would have been more comfortable with just 2 beds and more room! Rooms, furniture and decor a little tired. Each room only had one electrical socket - could do with more for the size. Good large bathrooms. Rooms were clean on arrival. The towels were changed a couple of times in the week and the beds made (but never changed) on a couple of occassions. Would expect more thorough cleaning to be conducted.Full air conditioning provided in the rooms - which is excellent. We did need to ask the reception to activate the aircon when we arrived - but it worked well for the week.

The sun terrace pictured on most booking sites for this hotel is the entire terrace - very small - about 8 sunbeds. Large lounge with a bar on the top floor, which also had a computer terminal with internet access

Restaurant provides continental breakfast - which was perfectly adequate. Evening meal included soup, buffet of salads, and then each evening one fish, one meat, and one pasta dish - with vegetables and potatoes. Cake, ice cream and fruit provided for desert. Again this was perfectly acceptable - although after a week a wider selection would have been welcome.

Hotel is located on a pedestrianised street which leads to the town square - plenty of open air bars and cafes here.The hotel is also within a couple of minutes walk of both the railway and the bus stations.10 minutes walk to the fabulous beach - although there are 179 steps down hill to get there (yes, we counted). This is not so bad going....but was a little bit of a challenge coming back!

All in all - value for money, but could do with updating and needs more staff. But for the price - no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stay for one night , the hotel was good compared with some other hotel which was same of length service. furniture and other facilities were maintain ,room clean, new renovated of restaurant . huge swimming pool as well as friendly staff,helpful as hotelier service .food quite expensive but no worry there are some food court nearby only walking distance you will get seven eleven or hero mini market
the problem is slow internet.

Room Tip: your room number always double cracter , better asked reception carefully to getting , such as room...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank tohir a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Ok so i'm a student of a school in Dorset and our school had planned a study tour around the area. About a week before we left, my friend and i decided to look at the reviews of the hotel and were scared to go because they all sounded really bad.
People have been saying things about dodgy alleys that you have to walk down to get there, well the only thing dodgy is that there is the number 69 painted on the walls.
The staff are very kind but the bald one on front desk seemed to have CCTV on us the whole time.
Its also kind of a weird hotel because the restaurant and bar and everything else was on the top floor but it wasn't too bad. That area also had other things like a pool table and FREE WIFI omg FREE WIFI. So yeah, not too bad.
It was a very clean place except from the fact the sun beds were awful and old and mouldy but yeah.
The food could be improved however, it was pretty much the same all the way through our holiday and there were no labels telling you what the food actually was so i just stuck to eating chips for a week but they had a freezer full of ice cream tubs so eat as many of them as you can too.

If you are a student like me and you are reading the reviews, don't panic because its not as bad as they make out, the TV's have a music channel that plays mostly english chart music, they have free ice cream and free wifi so you cant really ask for more and you wont be in the hotels for much of your time anyway if you are going with a school.
But if you are looking for a two week family holiday, this is not the place. Go away, save up some more money and go next year and find somewhere nicer with a pool and things like that.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnOriginalScreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at this hostel cos that's all it is im afraid most rooms have no balcony just sliding windows no pool or entertainment food is poor to say the least breakfast. is toast, cereal ,cheese pate, porkshoulder, and chopped pork evening meals are fish vegetables onion rings chips and salad . lots of French schoolkids use it as a stopover only thing that's good is its central location rooms are clean and fresh towels everyday. but that's about it .

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxi575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Close to the train station and very central. Old style hotel noises heard through the corridor and rooms. Sometimes no towels left but Reception staff very friendly and welcome always. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
#66 of 71 in Torremolinos
302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
N.CH Hotel
N.CH Hotel
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manantiales
Manantiales
#61 of 71 in Torremolinos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £30 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing