We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After a year....had to let the experience sink in!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“After a year....had to let the experience sink in!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Kristal in July 2013...now where do i begin!! Reception area looked promising on arrival - very cheerful reception staff (although the smiles could have been knowing smirks to be honest) Corridors leading to rooms were very poorly lit which probably softened the blow a bit. Rooms were basic and as it was dark and early hours of the morning things didnt look to terrible, but as daylight set in the reality really hit home!! Rooms so dark that it was impossible to tell if it was day or night without hanging out of a window and peering up into the sky. Food was indescribably bad, both breakfast and evening meal. Even the staff didnt know what was being served and looked very embarrassed. No one returned for a second bash at the buffet! Beds were of the camp bed variety and my dad went through two of them in the first three days. More pubic hair than you ever seen or shed in your entire life was growing out of the plug hole in the bath. The hand basin had a crack all the way through and and i wont even mention the toilet. My parents thought they had a result they managed to get a room with a balcony!!!!! This had an array of old cigarette butts and every bit of dust that had ever settled out there. The bar and 'SUN TERRACE' was a joke....never managed to get a drink as no one appeared to be working. Sun terrace consists of 6 filthy, broken loungers for your use (not in a million years) Entrance to the hotel was down a urine drenched alley full of dogs mess and home to a persistent restaurant owner that seemed intent on almost dragging us into his seedy restaurant every time we walked by.....This made the cost of the holiday treble as the food was inedible , we never saw a bar tender and couldn't wait to get out of the place at every given opportunity. We are not fussy people and we will always make the best of a bad situation, but let this be a warning to you....there are better places to stay!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go here......all rooms are awful. People look so depressed in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lala2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    81
    104
    52
    97
See reviews for
55
150
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Clean pleasant staff I suppose u get what u pay 4cheap produce at breakfast we only went once it's near railway station think that's why people stay their get a taxi their r plenty of great places to stay

Room Tip: Ring and ask 4a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our second visit to the Kristal - this time we went half board - the hotel is just a three star but is clean and very centrally located in the centre of Torremolinos just off Calle San Miguel. The train station is approx 3 mins away running from Malaga to Fuengirola. The food is good and you can always find something that you like. The breakfast is continental with cheese, ham, rolls etc. it can be a bit noisy at night and we had one of the few rooms with a balcony which overlooked a main road so a bit noisy, although not much traffic at night - usually early morning. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Hotel Kristal is only 3 star and therefore you get what you pay for - basic accommodation but in a very good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

this so called hotel is very depressing from the moment you arrive, i wouldnt recommend it even as a pet hotel to stay at its that bad, i was there for ten days and it was terrible the food is disgusting, boiled eggs in the morning for breakfast that are cookrd thr night before then put in a chill over night and are frozen boiled eggs when served the evening meals are basic, not even cooked properly, the bedrooms are like caves, dingy, dark, and cold with no hot water, the bathrooms were a disgrace, and the bed linen wasnt changed for the full ten days we were there, the only way you can see the sky or sun is by hanging out your window and looking up, the sun terrace on the roof was dirty and only had ten sunloungers which were also dirty and disgusting im not a prude or perfectionist in anyway but this place is the pits and is no way a three star hotel i dont think its even worth one star
the staff are not interest in anything you say and also control the air condioning deciding when to turn it on and off, they also charge 10 euros for you remote for the tv which only has 2 english channels bbc news and eurosport
the only good thing i can say about this hotel was leaving it to go home
ps
no photos to share as it was to dark and dingy that they wernt worth showing

Room Tip: dont go !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junemc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this Hotel during the last week of September. This hotel was in a great location, for shops, bars, restaurants and the train station was a 5 minute walk away. (1.70euro single from the airport to Torremolinos which was an 8 minute journey, don't bother with transfers). Yes this hotels is still living in the 60/70's, however our room was clean, new towels daily and bedding changed 3 times. The one thing that let's this hotel down is the food, cold meats for breakfast (which doesn't bother me as i'm abroad, if I wanted a Full English I would stay in the UK) and the one evening meal we had was warm food, but bland! However there are so so many restaurants close by, that we ate out anyway and was very cheap.

Tip: 1) Don't book this hotel if you have stayed in 4*/5* hotels in the past and unfortunately you are unable to switch off from this.
2) You don't want to be central with noise around.
3) You want Half Board or B&B of a high standard.

This hotel is a budget hotel and I have stayed in luxury 4/5* hotels, but for the price we paid for a 'cheap week away' we got just what thought.

I would stay here again, simply due to location, price and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Enjoyed our second visit to this hotel, Some of the staff remembered us, But one new member of staff was very rude. Nothing much had changed food was palatable bedrooms were very clean. Only down side was it was very noisy through the night, the sun beds on the roof terrace need replaced and the lack of a balcony was sorely missed.

Room Tip: Only 3 balconies in this hotel so request one when booking (not guaranteed to get one though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the most awful week I have ever had, cold breakfast every morning.
Dinner each evening was just as bad pork and fish every evening, and guess what one evening
we had chicken it was hardly even cooked on the outside it was so bad I became ill.
The bed clothes were not changed once all week this hotel does not even have a swimming pool
the bar had no bar staff and when I did manage to get one of the kitchen staff it was the most rotten pint of beer i have ever tasted I walked out and left it avoid this awful shambles at all cost.

Room Tip: avoid hotel at all cost 99% of rooms are all single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
N.CH Hotel
N.CH Hotel
#46 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
#63 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#11 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arcos de Montemar
Arcos de Montemar
#25 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Princesa Solar
Hotel Princesa Solar
#29 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#37 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing