We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the money”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 19 April 2014

6 of us stayed at this hotel on half board And although the food was much the same it was never hot !! We did eat breakfast on most days which was mainly bread ham and cheese although they did have a toaster it only held 6 slices of bread so as you can imagine the people waiting to use it were very fed up !! As I already said the evening meal was never hot mostly luke warm if that on the last day while we were eating they had some one looking at the bain marie So it be hot now (but I don't think so ) The staff were very pleasant and helpful The rooms were clean and cleaned most days with fresh towels and linen. Beds were comfy and clean Although it is very central for shopping bars and the train and buses it is quite a walk to the beach but later in the week we found the lift to the beach . Would I stay here again ?? Yes but it would have to be room only !! If I had paid for 5 star I wouldn't be returning We didn't so it was ok for what we paid

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purdster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jose Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Kristal in July 2013...now where do i begin!! Reception area looked promising on arrival - very cheerful reception staff (although the smiles could have been knowing smirks to be honest) Corridors leading to rooms were very poorly lit which probably softened the blow a bit. Rooms were basic and as it was dark and early hours of the morning things didnt look to terrible, but as daylight set in the reality really hit home!! Rooms so dark that it was impossible to tell if it was day or night without hanging out of a window and peering up into the sky. Food was indescribably bad, both breakfast and evening meal. Even the staff didnt know what was being served and looked very embarrassed. No one returned for a second bash at the buffet! Beds were of the camp bed variety and my dad went through two of them in the first three days. More pubic hair than you ever seen or shed in your entire life was growing out of the plug hole in the bath. The hand basin had a crack all the way through and and i wont even mention the toilet. My parents thought they had a result they managed to get a room with a balcony!!!!! This had an array of old cigarette butts and every bit of dust that had ever settled out there. The bar and 'SUN TERRACE' was a joke....never managed to get a drink as no one appeared to be working. Sun terrace consists of 6 filthy, broken loungers for your use (not in a million years) Entrance to the hotel was down a urine drenched alley full of dogs mess and home to a persistent restaurant owner that seemed intent on almost dragging us into his seedy restaurant every time we walked by.....This made the cost of the holiday treble as the food was inedible , we never saw a bar tender and couldn't wait to get out of the place at every given opportunity. We are not fussy people and we will always make the best of a bad situation, but let this be a warning to you....there are better places to stay!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go here......all rooms are awful. People look so depressed in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lala2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Clean pleasant staff I suppose u get what u pay 4cheap produce at breakfast we only went once it's near railway station think that's why people stay their get a taxi their r plenty of great places to stay

Room Tip: Ring and ask 4a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our second visit to the Kristal - this time we went half board - the hotel is just a three star but is clean and very centrally located in the centre of Torremolinos just off Calle San Miguel. The train station is approx 3 mins away running from Malaga to Fuengirola. The food is good and you can always find something that you like. The breakfast is continental with cheese, ham, rolls etc. it can be a bit noisy at night and we had one of the few rooms with a balcony which overlooked a main road so a bit noisy, although not much traffic at night - usually early morning. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Hotel Kristal is only 3 star and therefore you get what you pay for - basic accommodation but in a very good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

this so called hotel is very depressing from the moment you arrive, i wouldnt recommend it even as a pet hotel to stay at its that bad, i was there for ten days and it was terrible the food is disgusting, boiled eggs in the morning for breakfast that are cookrd thr night before then put in a chill over night and are frozen boiled eggs when served the evening meals are basic, not even cooked properly, the bedrooms are like caves, dingy, dark, and cold with no hot water, the bathrooms were a disgrace, and the bed linen wasnt changed for the full ten days we were there, the only way you can see the sky or sun is by hanging out your window and looking up, the sun terrace on the roof was dirty and only had ten sunloungers which were also dirty and disgusting im not a prude or perfectionist in anyway but this place is the pits and is no way a three star hotel i dont think its even worth one star
the staff are not interest in anything you say and also control the air condioning deciding when to turn it on and off, they also charge 10 euros for you remote for the tv which only has 2 english channels bbc news and eurosport
the only good thing i can say about this hotel was leaving it to go home
ps
no photos to share as it was to dark and dingy that they wernt worth showing

Room Tip: dont go !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank junemc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this Hotel during the last week of September. This hotel was in a great location, for shops, bars, restaurants and the train station was a 5 minute walk away. (1.70euro single from the airport to Torremolinos which was an 8 minute journey, don't bother with transfers). Yes this hotels is still living in the 60/70's, however our room was clean, new towels daily and bedding changed 3 times. The one thing that let's this hotel down is the food, cold meats for breakfast (which doesn't bother me as i'm abroad, if I wanted a Full English I would stay in the UK) and the one evening meal we had was warm food, but bland! However there are so so many restaurants close by, that we ate out anyway and was very cheap.

Tip: 1) Don't book this hotel if you have stayed in 4*/5* hotels in the past and unfortunately you are unable to switch off from this.
2) You don't want to be central with noise around.
3) You want Half Board or B&B of a high standard.

This hotel is a budget hotel and I have stayed in luxury 4/5* hotels, but for the price we paid for a 'cheap week away' we got just what thought.

I would stay here again, simply due to location, price and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
Hotel Torremolinos Centro
#66 of 71 in Torremolinos
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#36 of 71 in Torremolinos
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
N.CH Hotel
N.CH Hotel
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#41 of 71 in Torremolinos
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manantiales
Manantiales
#61 of 71 in Torremolinos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range: £30 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing