We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Velero Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Sol Don Pedro by Melia(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Principe by Melia(Torremolinos)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Isabel(Torremolinos)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
7
24
13
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
24
13
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We did stay here for almost a month during winter-time. Apartments are typical from the 80's and should need an update for today's standards but with the price in mind it wasn't a bad place to stay.
Just 7km from Malaga Airport (16 euro by taxi - fixed price) and central Torremolinos based (10 min walk from the beach, 5 min walk from downtown Torremolinos, 15-20 min walk from tourist area of Torremolinos and nearby supermarkets, all shops you might need ... in a quiet local area (parking extremely difficult in this area) but really on side of down-town.
We liked it...
Spacy apartments (almost 60m2) with small kitchen (up to date), 1 bedroom and ok living. Bathroom and living could be updated a bit. Beds were hard. 3x/week fresh towels and 1x/week bedsheets change.
Cleanness depended on the cleaner on duty.
Balcony with sun from 11-17 hours (front side of hotel). No real noise from other guests.
When you are very picky, this is not your place to stay. If you take the low price in consideration it's a fair place to stay.
Please note staff doesn't speak English (well) ...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

stayed at these apartments end september/october and found them to be perfectly adequate. we were lucky to be in the middle apartment overlooking the pool, which was spacious and bright with a large living area/kitchenette area and seperate bedroom with balcony both with floor to ceiling windows. kitchen was fine although no kettle , but there was a coffee maker. no oven either but microwave was a double oven/grill. we found the location very good as it was"up the hill" a few yards from all the bars restaurants and shops and probably found more around the town than being on the beach. perfectly good ,clean residence which did offer value for money so i can recommend this. free wifi a bonus but please beware if going in summer there is no air con!

Room Tip: corner suits have larger balcony which seem to get the sun longer
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed there in February 2012 and got a huge 2 rooms apartment for a very reasonable price! It was nice, clean, big balcony with a table, kitchen had all necessary equipment, fridge, electric stove, kettle.
Furniture is rather old, but I think for a 2* Hotel it's acceptable. In winter they switch heating on in the morning around 9 a.m. and in the evening after sunset. So it could be kinda cold if you get up too early, like around 7 a.m. or so, but otherwise it was pretty warm.
It's a bit of a walk to the nearest beach, which wasn't actually important in winter, but if you're going in summer keep this in mind, the pool is rather small and there is not much space around it. Bus stop is pretty close - 5 min. walk or less, train station is also nearby, and there are 2 big supermarkets Mercadona and Carrefour less than 5 min. walk from the apartment. So it's very good choice if you're planning travelling a lot by bus or train. Probably not so good if your goal is mostly beach and swimming.
WiFi worked just fine in our rooms and it's free, which is a big plus for Costa del Sol accommodation.
Not everyone of the staff speaks English, it wasn't a problem for us though. There are after all staff members who speak English well, and if they're not around knowing some very basic Spanish words and phrases will help.

To sum it up, I think, it's better to keep in mind that it is a very good basic accommodation for active tourists, who don't spend all day in or around their hotel. We loved staying at El Velero, there was everything we needed and for a very good price, so I'd totally stay there again if I come back to Torremolinos.

Room Tip: corner rooms to the right are spacious and have a nice view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarMar649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Staff most friendly, location very good. Rooms spacious and clean although modest. All in all well worth the money. Lack of air condition a minus when it is hot, this time not a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tuula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed there in july 2011. The apartment was big (there were five of us staying there) and very clean. Fresh towels every day. The kitchen was small, not as many utensils as we would like to have, but we managed to cook anyway. It was a nice walk to the beach, but I guess would be a little too long with small children. The beach was beautiful, big waves. We shopped in Mercadona, prices are lower than in other shops. The food in the restaurants is expensive. We found the location good for the evening walks to the center of Torremolinos, which is a very beautiful town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjasa644302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews