We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Moroccan food, cosy atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mancha Chica Chaoen

La Mancha Chica Chaoen
Ranked #303 of 1,453 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Albaicín
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Moroccan food, cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I ate twice at this little restaurant as it was around the corner from where I was staying. Food was authentic and delicious and very reasonably priced. Great value! The restaurant is small and cosy, and tastefully decorated.
The homemade harissa was awesome. I tried the lamb & vegetable tagine and the vegetarian couscous. Both were delicious. The bread is great for mopping up the tagine juices and I even took some bread home to make a pita sandwich for lunch next day. There is also an array of pastries, which I assume we're homemade. They certainly tasted it.
The host is very congenial and speaks some English. I even met another Aussie couple in the restaurant, which was a nice surprise, as I had been missing English conversation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjojozep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly service, family run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were rather surprised when arriving at the place by cab since it is so small and looks just like a bar from the outside. However, what it lacks in atmosphere it makes up in authenticity of the food and the friendliness of the owner. It is family run and you get great authentic Moroccan food. Can recommend if you are not looking for the typical tourist trap but authentic Moroccan food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atsfrm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

After a couple of weeks in Spain we were after something different to refresh the palate of tapas. This did not disappoint. We had a large hummus with beautiful fresh warm bread for entree, and for mains two of us ordered lamb tagines and the third ordered lamb cous cous. None of us could finish our meals! The house red wine was excellent and complemented the middle eastern flavours wonderfully. We finished with a sweet mint tea, and rolled out of there very satisfied. All up the bill came to 61 Euro - not bad for entree, mains and drinks for three adults! Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cattsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

A small family run restaurant about 2 mins from Plaza San Nicholas. Nothing special to look at from the outside but amazing fresh home cooked food. The owner is Morrocan and it is Halal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romeela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mancha Chica Chaoen also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Mancha Chica Chaoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing