We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Andaluz Granada

Meson Andaluz Granada
Ranked #622 of 1,452 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro - Sagrario
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Generous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Good food at moderate prices, friendly service and typical settings. Nothing more to say but TripAdvisor is requring at least 100 characters - why ?

Helpful?
Thank smanchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    22
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
203 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good basic tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good basic food try the fried fish plater or fritura de pescado in Spanish a meal for 2 for 15 euros.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEast UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delightful!! Nice food too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Only wanted a drink and light supper after tiring day visiting the Alhambra. Here, as in most places in Granada province, if you order a drink you get a complementary tapas.....so we had some very tasty jambon on a slice of baguette. We then ordered another sandwich...he had a morcilla...spicy sausage, and I had another jambon. The place was full of locals and it is just so nice to see how they can enjoy meeting friends, have a couple of drinks and some food without needing to get legless, as seems to be the case in so many English towns these days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience. Andalucian hospitality and Futbol!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were starving when we arrived in Granada after 9PM. After checking into our apartment in the Jewish quarter, we walked down the hill, looking for something open for a little dinner. There were 2 restaurant/bar type places facing each other on this little street. We walked into one and couldn't get anyone to pay us any attention. So we walked across to meson Andaluz where the man behind the bar greeted us warmly and seated us immediately.

We were given menus with pictures of the food so that we could figure out what the items were. We ordered berenjenas fritas, tortilla espanola, cogollos ajo frito and gazpacho. We must have looked pitiful as the waiter served us water and bread right away. The berenjenas fritas are fried and crispy eggplant. It was out of this world! So light and crispy! The tortilla espanola is egg and potato cooked like a quiche. It was so delicious that we ordered a second. Theirs was a light and airy version of the dish that reminded us of quiche. It is the best we had in Spain. Because we liked it so much, we kept ordering Tortilla Espanola everywhere we went throughout Spain but we all agree the best is served at Meson Andaluz.

Our dinner came to 37.40 Euro. Really? Couldn't believe it. Love Granada.

The wait staff were refreshingly warm, welcoming and kind toward us. This was different from the efficient, cooler-than-you-airs we had been receiving. Another reason to love Granada. It seemed to me that they appreciated our efforts to visit their small city and were proud to share their food and culture with us.

Best of all, Spain won their semifinal game while we were having our dinner. Everyone got on their feet in the restaurant and started to shout and laugh and run down the street. The only people left in the restaurant were the 2 foreign guest tables and one of the bartenders. After a few minutes, the Spanish guests and waiters came back to the restaurant to resume their drinking and working. It was fun to see the way futbol brought all the people together.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tennis105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle/Tacoma
Level Contributor
184 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect intro to an Enchanting city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My excellent rating does not mean that I think of this meson as a five star michelin guide restaurant. It means that I was thrilled to have a tasty meal in a lovely location served by someone who seemed to care that I was satisfied. Meson Andaluz has platos--includes primo, segundos, drink, bread, and dessert. My husband's grilled pork chops (two huge pieces of melon with serrano ham for starters) cost lest then 10 euros. I had plato uno...which included a delicious, cold, Anduluz sopa and the swordfish with a lovely salad.

I asked the waiter for a sangria grande and it came big, cold, and delicious. After a hot day getting to Granada and finding our accommodations it was wonderful to have such a satisfying meal! (The flan was delicious and cold, too!)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meson Andaluz Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Meson Andaluz Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing