We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we returned for a seconds!”

Alacena de las Monjas
Ranked #204 of 1,500 Restaurants in Granada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Realejo - San Matias
Description: Modernity and tradition: open door to the senses in the center of Granada. From the best restaurants in Granada.Located in the historic center of the City of Alhambra, next to the former captain and close to the City, who visit us enjoy our XV century vaulted rooms of a cuisine based on tradition, updating the concepts from the respect for the raw material.ESPANOLModernidad y tradicion: puerta abierta a los sentidos en el centro de Granada. De los mejores restaurantes en Granada.Situado en pleno centro historico de la Ciudad de la Alhambra, junto a la antigua Capitania y proximo al Ayuntamiento, quienes nos visiten podran disfrutar en nuestros salones abovedados del siglo XV, de una cocina de mercado basada en la tradicion, actualizando los conceptos desde el respeto por la materia prima.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“So good we returned for a seconds!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an excellent restaurant with tapas and bar menus and a small and intimate dining room down stairs in an ancient water cistern. Reservations are recommended for the restaurant. It was difficult to decide what to start with but both the Aubergine (eggplant) with honey, and the Mi-cuit of Duck Foie Mozárabe Foam were very good. For mains we chose the hake, with my partner choosing the stuffed sea bass, these were excellent. My partner chose a selection of wines by the glass, also very good. The service was professional, and friendly.
In the morning, whilst we were walking through the centre of town the chef recognised us, and gave a friendly greeting. We thought this was charming. In the evening we decided to go back and taste some more delicious dishes. This time there were not many people there, as the students were celebrating rag week, and most sensible oldies were staying at home! The patron and waiter suggested they could cook and serve a special selection of courses from the kitchen for us. We agreed, and were delighted by their recommendations. The Bluefin Tuna Tataki with Soy and Ginger Almadraba, and the whole octopus tentacle (very large) were especially memorable. We loved this restaurant, and will return if we are ever in Granada again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    94
    41
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“High Quality Tapas.....at a price”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A very smart place with fairly expensive tapas that are worth every penny. A plate of Iberico ham and some superb seared tuna came to 50 euros with a couple of beers and glasses of rosé. Perfect for what we were after at the time following our journey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cena fabulosa !!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent food in a charming square! the staff is really nice and the food is innovative and high quality. you have to try it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvinovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlacenaGranada d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alacena de las Monjas, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente, muchas gracias por su comentario. Intentamos mejorar cada día. Esperamos verles pronto por aquí de nuevo.

Un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This restaurant is a little out of the very trodden paths of Granada, Plaza del Padre Suarez.There are endless retaurants of dubious quality designed for in and out quick tourists in the centre but this was outside the main roads but still 5 minutes from the centre. Spaniards eat here and very well from what we experienced. Our waiter was not fluent in English and 5 other languages but he knew enough english to keep us on track. It's not cheap-cheap like most of Granada but the jump in quality and service made it ideal for us who wanted to spend a couple of hours over dinner rather than compete in the indigestion sprint offered by many town centre restaurants. The food was excellent and the wine was too. Not a lot of company in mid-June but what with the cheap competition, the crisis and the slightly off season one can't complain. Euro100 for two, 2 courses with wine, water, coffee etc. Spend 25% more and get 100% more value. Sounds like a deal to me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlacenaGranada d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Alacena de las Monjas, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Peter, muchas gracias por su comentario. Esperamos verle pronto en nuestro restaurante.

Un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleasant modern restaurant and tapas bar”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Prices displayed outside seemed a little daunting as we only wanted tapas, but the reality is that you get free tapas with your drinks. We drank Austum verdejo and a Recoletes roble at 3 euros and 2.50 euros respectively and this came with a (small) plate of black pudding with scrambled egg with a little toast. More drinks led to us ordering berenjenas y miel and rollitos de pato from the bar menu, both of which were served in spring-roll-like parcels and were delicious. A final round of drinks brought a free serving of terrine that tasted like spicy pork sausage, and a visit from the chef who came out to chat to the crazy English ordering tapas at 4pm, but we didn’t share enough Spanish or English to find out the ingredients of the sausage. A very tasty and entertaining couple of hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alacena de las Monjas also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Alacena de las Monjas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing