We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing for a 4 star hotel - feeling of rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Ranked #42 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“dissapointing for a 4 star hotel - feeling of rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

this was almost the only vacancy we found in granada during the "semana santa". it seems like a high quality hotel on 1st sight so we took our chances. it is located beyond the river (and not in a central location) but its a 15 min walk to touristic places and 45 min walk (going up most of the way) to the Alhambra. there is a spa with is nice but keep in mind a few things: it is closed on sun. eve and all during mon (found out at check in!). at the spa u have to come with your own towel - or otherwise pay for towel rent!. you can, of course, take your towel from your room - BUT they dont change the towels ever (we stayed for 4 nights) so youll have to use your spa smelling towel to shower afterwards!! there is a free wifi connection but its rather poor anr for a reasonable one - guess what? - correct. you have to pay. there is a list of things you might need at the spa and their prices, of course. stuck withjout tampons? - mini kit for 6 euro!! when coming back to our room after them cleaning it - i was quite amazed to discover - no soap, and some days - no toilet paper! even the simplest hostals were never so dissapointing with such basic service. and so - each eve coming back to the room i had to go and ask for these stuff. coffee kit? yes but no refills. all in all - would rather stay in a guest house.

Room Tip: in all rooms you have to fight for your towels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenakopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We regret that our hotel location was not to your liking, to the commercial center of the city and monumental is accessed in a pleasant walk.

We inform all our guests needed to access the spa flip flops by measures of hygiene and safety as well as towel.

They are performed daily cleaning chores, if there is any product that has not spare you accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we have caused you. We hope that once reported to reception of the situation has been solved as required quickly.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    316
    102
    27
    11
See reviews for
194
323
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Uninspiring, dated terrible breakfast. I did not enjoy any aspects of my stay in this hotel. The rooms were cold and small. Even though I had booked a double room the beds were very small and single. When I requested a double bed I was told that there were only two in the hotel reserved for disabled people, I am 6'5 tall and could not stretch myself at night. The fast internet connection was extortionately expensive, don't bother with the slow free connection if you need to do any business or Skype over the internet. The worse aspect was breakfast. Poor choice, cold and recycled food from previous days and staff seem to resent having to serve customers, they all looked miserable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is modern and has a spa in the basement. It is in walking distance to Granada old town and the famous Alhambra, which is a must-see when visiting Granada. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. However, the hotel room was so tindy. It is impossible to stay in a standard room with two larger suitcases.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chocolat_girl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Regarding your room, possibly due to a smaller room with a rate type more special, at any time you can contact reception if you wish to book a bigger room.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

It looks like a very nice hotel but.....
The heat barely works and there is "nothing that can be done."
The toilet has a slow leak on the floor.
The tub in the bathroom can only be filled by using the shower head as
the mechanism is stuck in the up position......on and on

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gib
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

i have just come back from granada spain were we have spend two days.this is a no thrills hotel it has a spa which is included in the hotel price breakfast was not all that good , average for our needs but could be a lot better considering it is a four star.rooms are average in size enough room for a couple complimentary tea and coffee facilities , but found that there was no extra coffee refills the next morning.location , you are about 15 20 minutes walk from the city centre there are excellent views to the sierra nevada mountains covered in snow, best thing about granada apart from the alhambra is its tapas bar, ask for a drink and get a free tapa there is no parking in the area we left ours in the hotel garage for 15 euros a night expensive i know , but there was no other alternative .if you are thinking of visiting the alhambra a taxi cost us 4.95 euros and left us at the entrance and then walked down to the city centre after be sure to have bought your tickets prior to visiting or you will be left without getting in.

Room Tip: try to get a room looking toward the sierra nevada mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylangib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is at walking distance of downtown Granada. The Spa was included in the price, as many times as we wanted. The room was sunny and nice and had an amazing view of the Sierra Nevada. The staff were very professional and smily. For being members of their Club Playa Vip program we got a discount for the parking and a bottle of cava in our room. The price was also astonishing for a hotel this category.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view to the mountains. It's very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celinda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights with an organised holiday (Brightwater). The hotel room (twin) was big and comfy. Not too much noise or things that go bump in the night. The staff were friendly. I used the spa - different pools to sit in (not swimming size). One filled with lemons, one with a small waterfall, a cold pool, a hot pool, sauna etc. The spa was nice but very busy. The continental breakfast was good with a wide choice of food even for vegetarian me. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippytoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Granada Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carmen Becerra
Gerente Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
abba Granada Hotel
#52 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#66 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Granada Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Granada Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Address: Paseo del Violon s/n, 18006 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Granada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#22 Family Hotel in Granada
#29 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Granada Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senator Granada Spa Hotel**** is a modern hotel with spa located next to the Granada Exhibition and Congress Centre and close to the Old Town. It is well communicated with the Alhambra and the road to Sierra Nevada. It has a meeting and events room, Wi-Fi (Standard WIFI for free and Premium High Speed conection for a fee), private car park (with surcharge), gym and a spectacular Acquaplaya SPA & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Granada Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Granada Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing