We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Reccomend Room Mate Leo”
Review of Room Mate Leo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Leo
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Absolutely Reccomend Room Mate Leo”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I arrived at Room Mate Leo on New Year's Eve and it was wonderful from the start. We arrived in Granada from Seville via bus. Two buses (3 and 31, I think) will take you straight from the bus station to Plaza Nueva in 20 minutes and then it is a 2 minute walk down a pedestrian street to the hotel.

It was so nice for us to have a real hotel room for under 100 euros. We're used to staying in pension-type accommodations but Room Mate Leo was an extremely welcome change. Our room was spacious, clean, well-heated and quiet. Breakfast in the morning is from 8:30am - 12pm. It includes meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee. A perfect start to the day... especially when you are rushing off to make a reservation early in the morning.

When we arrived on New Year's Eve, we had no dinner reservations for that night. It was last minute so it was difficult to find something but Gustavo at the front desk was incredibly helpful. His english was great (compared to our very very limited spanish) and he patiently helped us call about half-dozen restaurants before finding one with availability. All of the staff was equally helpful but with varying levels of english speaking.

There is also free wi-fi... extremely helpful for us.

  • Liked — comfort, free wi-fi, location
  • Disliked — in the middle of a busy shopping area
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    443
    98
    24
    5
See reviews for
98
740
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

My best friend and I have been doing out annual December weekend away for 6 years now and Granada was our chosen destination this year. I used the usual travel websites to find a hotel and eventually decided on Room Mate Leo and found the best deal was to be had by booking directly with the hotel. We normally go for a 4* hotel but Granada hotels seem to be a bit more expensive than many other Spanish cities so opted for Room Mate Leo but we certainly weren't disappointed with 3* Leo.

We used the airport bus (good value at €3 per person/each way) which stops outside the cathedral which is about a 5-6 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is in a pedestrianised area which is great as there is no traffic to worry about.. The location is perfect as everything was within easy walking distance.

Check-in was quick and courteous. We were given a room on the 2nd floor just a few steps away from the breakfast room but it was very quiet and we weren't disturbed in any way.

The staff were very polite and helpful. I sent an email to the hotel on thursday asking them to make a reservation at the Aljibe de San Miguel Arab baths for friday and they replied within half an hour of me sending the email telling me they had made the reservation for the time I requested - now thats what I call service!

The hotel may be small but it certainly doen't lack in style - our room was a decent size and the decoration was gorgeous, very stylish, exactly as shown in the photos on their website - even down to the apple on the bedside tables every day!

Breakfast was very nice, typical continental style and plenty of it too.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants just a short stroll away from the hotel and lots of shops if you fancy a bit of retail therapy!

The Alhambra was within walking distance but allow yourself plenty of time to walk up the hill, especially if you have pre-booked your entry tickets as you are given a strict entry time for the Nasrid Palace.

We had a lovely weekend and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Stylish, great location, friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexPrincessFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Good central location very close to airport bus drop off by the cathedral, The hotel is set on a pedestrian only street so may have access problem for taxi. Closest drop off point 1 min walk away. Restaurants and all tourist areas very close by.
Very friendly helpful staff. Good quality continental breakfast.
Boutique feel and decoration in the rooms. Rooms at front open onto small balcony over looking street. Did find some noise from street below during the night even on 4th floor, though not in a bar area but just passing noise in the night. Not real bad but may want to consider room facing back.
The hotel had a nice friendly feel about it, and in a city where prices seem to be higher than other cities on weekends seem reasonably priced for the standard. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and room standard
  • Disliked — A little noise at nights from street
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This hotel is in a really great location for Granada, especially the bars and restaurants in the centre. Very easy to get to from the airport- just get off at the cathedral and its a 5 mins walk through a pedestrianised area. The reception staff are very friendly, pleasant and helpful and all speak very good english. We arrived and were allocated room 405- on entering the room there was a smell which we quickly realised was the smell of drains. We asked to be given another room and got one (310)with no problem and total courtesy, although it was an internal facing room and rather dark and a bit noisy in the morning when people were having breakfast. I had paid in advance with lastminute and it was lucky they could move us to another room as I really would not want to stay in a smelly room for 4 days. We did detect the smell of drains in the lounge on the 5th floor as well.
The rooms are very stylish and modern and the bathrooms lovely too. The only problem we had was the fridge and Minibar were in the wardrobe which meant there was only about 30cm of full length hanging space, and absolutely nowhere to store smaller items of clothing. This was not a big problem for us but if you were on business or staying for longer it would be a bit inconvenient.

  • Liked — Modern and stylish rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This is a small modern hotel in a great location. The front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is quite good and the rooms are comfortable. Great rooftop terrace for taking in some sun. Highly recommend this hotel; reasonable rates too!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no view from my room, I was looking at a wall
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank contimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

What a lovely hotel!
There is another Room Mate hotel in Granada which is more expensive, but I would definitely stay here again.
The decor is beautiful - very modern and stylish. The breakfast was the best we had in our months holiday, the rooms were clean. The only problem was, although the windows were double glazed there was a bit of noise at night.
The location was great, we caught a bus to the Alhambra, but walked everywhere else.
Don't use the laundry service though if you are on a budget - 7 Euros for 1 shirt!! We found a laundry 2 blocks away which did a small load of washing and drying for us for 10 Euros.
Lots of extras in this hotel - newspapers, safe in room, fridge in room, apple beside bed each day.
We paid in advance with a special internet deal 64 Euros per night. Excellent value!

  • Liked — Room decor, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — some noise at night
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunedintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Leo

Property: Room Mate Leo
Address: Calle Mesones 15, 18001 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#14 Family Hotel in Granada
#17 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Leo Granada
Room Mate Leo Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing