We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fantastic rooms, good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Leo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Room Mate Leo
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic rooms, good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

The location cannot be faulted. The Royal Chapel and the Cathedral are within walking distance, as are the bus stops for buses 31 and 32, the latter getting you up to Alhambra. While it looks somewhat unimpressive, its quite a different story once you get inside. The rooms are very well appointed and there is a terrace on the 5th floor which gives a good view of the Alhambra. The bathrooms were spacious and toiletries of a good standard. The breakfast was good with the usual cereals, skimmed milk (unusual for most spanish hotels), fruit, yoghurt, a variety of breads and pastries, cheese (including brie), cold cuts of meat, juice, coffee, tea and chocolate. Free wifi is included in the tariff. A minor criticism I would make is that all the TV channels are in spanish. It would be good to have at least BBC, CNN and TV5Monde.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    431
    96
    24
    5
See reviews for
98
716
48
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Great little hotel in excellent location. Not huge rooms but more than adequate to rest your head(and feet!!) between excursions. Really nice bathrooms.
It was a bit noisy outside but we were so tired with all the walking and the nice beer and tapas that we quickly got used to the voices of the passers by below.
Make sure you visit the Alhambre and the caves of Sacromonte....and the wonderful huge portions of tapas with every drink!!
Breakfast is excellent and the toiletries in the rooms were so nice.
The staff were unobtrussive but very helpful when asked. I left something in the room and before I got home there was an email waiting for me.
One of the friendliest cities I have ever visited....cant wait to go back and I will stay at this hotel again for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Nice situation, lovely room, very helpfull and friendliness staff ....but my room was on the road( 3rd floor)and we did't sleep at all during the first night because of the noise in the road ( people screaming, delivery and garbage vans etc...) , ....for the second nignt I asked for another room and I had a very calm room with...a blind wall just 1,5 meters in front of the window.... Unfortunately in this hotel you have to choice between noise or view...
Nice breakfeast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Just got back from an excellent stay at the Room Mate Leo in Granada. The hotel was ideally located just behind the Cathedral. The bus from the airport drops you off just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel has the advantage of being in the middle of many high end shops. It was great for activity during the day, but nice and quiet at night. Be sure to check on the roof top deck for wonderful views of the Alhambra. There are many excellent restaurants in the area and we felt safe walking through the area even after late night tapas. The rooms are very nicely equipped with comfortable beds and flat screen tvs. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of local meats and cheeses. The staff was always friendly and eager to answer our questions. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Room Mate Leo is a very good hotel at an excellent location. The hotel is located in the pedestrian area of Granada's city center. Plenty of shops and restaurants are literally around the corner. Most city buses stop at Puerto Real or Gran Via 1, both are within just a couple of minutes walking distance.

The hotel is in a very picturesce building. Inside the hotel the decoration is very nice, in a sort of "neo baroque" style. The rooms are decorated the same way and have all facilities you may expect from a modern hotel, except that they're not very spacey. Rooms at the front side look out over the shopping street, rooms at the back side over a not very inspiring alley. (But the rooms at the back side are probably a bit quieter.)

The personnel is very friendly and willing to help. When we reported a little problem with the toilet in our room, they promptly offered us another room. And when we checked out, the lady at the reception was very helpful with making a reservation for the bus to Málaga for us.

Breakfast is good, although the choice is somewhat limited. It's always included in the price and the breakfast buffet is open until noon every day!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The (lack of) space in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I arrived at Room Mate Leo on New Year's Eve and it was wonderful from the start. We arrived in Granada from Seville via bus. Two buses (3 and 31, I think) will take you straight from the bus station to Plaza Nueva in 20 minutes and then it is a 2 minute walk down a pedestrian street to the hotel.

It was so nice for us to have a real hotel room for under 100 euros. We're used to staying in pension-type accommodations but Room Mate Leo was an extremely welcome change. Our room was spacious, clean, well-heated and quiet. Breakfast in the morning is from 8:30am - 12pm. It includes meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee. A perfect start to the day... especially when you are rushing off to make a reservation early in the morning.

When we arrived on New Year's Eve, we had no dinner reservations for that night. It was last minute so it was difficult to find something but Gustavo at the front desk was incredibly helpful. His english was great (compared to our very very limited spanish) and he patiently helped us call about half-dozen restaurants before finding one with availability. All of the staff was equally helpful but with varying levels of english speaking.

There is also free wi-fi... extremely helpful for us.

  • Liked — comfort, free wi-fi, location
  • Disliked — in the middle of a busy shopping area
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

My best friend and I have been doing out annual December weekend away for 6 years now and Granada was our chosen destination this year. I used the usual travel websites to find a hotel and eventually decided on Room Mate Leo and found the best deal was to be had by booking directly with the hotel. We normally go for a 4* hotel but Granada hotels seem to be a bit more expensive than many other Spanish cities so opted for Room Mate Leo but we certainly weren't disappointed with 3* Leo.

We used the airport bus (good value at €3 per person/each way) which stops outside the cathedral which is about a 5-6 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is in a pedestrianised area which is great as there is no traffic to worry about.. The location is perfect as everything was within easy walking distance.

Check-in was quick and courteous. We were given a room on the 2nd floor just a few steps away from the breakfast room but it was very quiet and we weren't disturbed in any way.

The staff were very polite and helpful. I sent an email to the hotel on thursday asking them to make a reservation at the Aljibe de San Miguel Arab baths for friday and they replied within half an hour of me sending the email telling me they had made the reservation for the time I requested - now thats what I call service!

The hotel may be small but it certainly doen't lack in style - our room was a decent size and the decoration was gorgeous, very stylish, exactly as shown in the photos on their website - even down to the apple on the bedside tables every day!

Breakfast was very nice, typical continental style and plenty of it too.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants just a short stroll away from the hotel and lots of shops if you fancy a bit of retail therapy!

The Alhambra was within walking distance but allow yourself plenty of time to walk up the hill, especially if you have pre-booked your entry tickets as you are given a strict entry time for the Nasrid Palace.

We had a lovely weekend and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Stylish, great location, friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexPrincessFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#8 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Leo

Property: Room Mate Leo
Address: Calle Mesones 15, 18001 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#14 Family Hotel in Granada
#17 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Room Mate Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Leo Granada
Room Mate Leo Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing