We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Beautiful View, Lovely Apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Muralla Ziri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Ranked #27 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, Beautiful View, Lovely Apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two kids (6 and 11). We are not new to staying in European apartment hotels so we expect to do more ourselves. The welcome was helpful with basic information on what was around. There's a plaza within a few minutes walk with restaurants, shops and bus/taxi access. There is a small cafe at the end of the street that has awesome food, decently priced, and had musicians gather in the evening to play wonderful music. The location is perfect for exploring the Albycin and ease of getting to the Alhambra.

We stayed in the apartment at the top of the building without the reception. It is very nicely decorated with a convenient but small kitchen. It would have been nice to have a decent table to eat on. There is a very small coffee table for the couch that we used. The rooms have decent air conditioning so they were nice and cool in the heat of July. We all loved the unique round bathtub though you should note that it is in the bedroom and not part of the bathroom. The bed was decent and the sofa easily made into a bed for the kids.

There are only two negatives...1) lots of stairs to get up to the higher apartments. It's difficult with heavy luggage. I would not recommend it for elderly. 2) no access to the rooftop balcony. We had wanted to go out to enjoy it one night with its lovely view of the Alhambra and found the door locked. It would have been perfect to have the kids in bed and time to enjoy some wine in the cool evening air.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcgrafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    68
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
151
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in an executive apartment in August. The location is just perfect, near Plaza Nueva and the Albaycin district, and only a 15 mn walk to the Alhambra Palace. It is also located on a street where car traffic is restricted, which means the flats are very quiet for a narrow street. You can access the flat by car to offload the luggage, but not if you have a 4x4 as it won't be able to go through the narrow streets of the old town.
The staff is very kind and helpful. Special mention goes to Roberta, a nice Italian girl who can give you useful tips on what to do and where to eat. The flat (n.7) has a wonderful view on the Alhambra Palace and is on the top floor of the building. The kitchen is well equipped, which means you can eat "at home" if you are tired of tapas. Unfortunately there is no dining table (only a coffee table, which is a real shame), which is why I have given a 4-star rating only. The bed is OK, but not for 2 large persons as it is quite narrow. The flat has aircon and a very fast wifi connexion.
All in all, very good value for money and very comfortable flat.

Room Tip: The flat N.7 is the only one to have a full view on the Alhambra Palace, which is wonderful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Great location and wonderful staff. Had all the amenities one could ask for - fridge, bathroon, stove etc. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed in the 'Penthouse'. I'd give it 3.5 if I could on Trip Adviser.

The manager was very nice and a wonderful help. Nothing was a problem in terms of organising activities and getting general information. 

Some comments:

Firstly, amazing view, but there was no setup like the photo suggested, just two plastic chairs, no table. But the view, wow!

The single bedroom seemed pointless, very small and that's where the main bathroom is, so if anyone sleeps in that room, they'll have everyone walking through their room. The second double room with spa was nice and fine for a single or couple. 

The 'penthouse' bedroom is disappointing. If it was called the den or loft, this would be more appropriate. My wife is 5ft 7 tall and had to bend over to get in there - perfect height for kids, not adults - I'm taller a struggled a lot. There is a rickity ladder to climb to get up to the loft. Lighting is very poor. 

Good air-conditioning in all rooms. 

The kitchen is pokey, perfect for a small yacht. Maybe they could have a fridge 1/3 the size as the one that is there is huge and blocks the walkway. 

Again, bathroom was tiny. Simple things like a soap holder would be sensible both on the bench and in the shower. Why aren't they there?

We were also politely asked by management to leave the apartment as we found it (& the best bit), could we take our rubbish out with us when we checked-out!  For €225 a night, that's a bit rich in my opinion. We stayed in €30 B&Bs and never been asked anything of the sort. 

Overall it's nice but very pricey for what I thought was going to be a real 'penthouse' as I felt it was over-hyped. In the end though, the view of the Alhambra is awesome and that's why i stayed there - it makes it worthwhile.  

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beablueskytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We spend three nights in a superior apartment here. The woman who met us at checkin was very, very helpful and the room was lovely. The location is perfect too. I'd have no hesitation in booking this place again (might try the penthouse!) or recommending it. To be honest, I think staying here has put me off regular hotels for good....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edin_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed in a superior apartment for two nights in the building which doesn't have reception in it. The apartment was stunning, with decor both stylish and personal, and lovely Moorish detail everywhere - the pictures on the website reflect the place exactly. The kitchen was equipped with absolutely everything you could need. The shower was amazing, although the bath was disappointing - not full length, and not comfortable. The bed was firm but not hard - perfect as far as I'm concerned!

The location, as others have said, is absolutely perfect, literally a couple of minutes' walk away from all the major bus routes, lots of tapas bars and Moorish coffee houses. It's on the very edge of the Albaicin, but don't worry about it being dark and difficult to navigate at night (as some places in the Albaicin apparently can be) - it's very well-lit, safe and easy to find. Don't expect to be able to walk into the Albaicin unless you're very fit - it's very steep - but there are buses from the square that will get you there in 10 minutes. There's some noise from the street - not cars, just people chatting as they pass - but the bedroom was incredibly well soundproofed, and we slept really well.

Service is good - very helpful on arrival and then available from about 9am-9pm, and on an emergency number all night if you need it. was good. A great list of local places to eat was a nice touch. If you're not in the building with reception in, you won't have a key for the other building, which is locked when reception is closed, so bear that in mind if you want to pick up any leaflets or sit in the courtyard.

One caveat: the roof terrace shown in all the pictures isn't public. It belongs to the most expensive apartment. That's not a criticism - just don't be silly like me and assume it is accessible to everyone and then get disappointed! Also, the building which doesn't have reception in it doesn't have a lift, so you might want to check which building you're in if you have really heavy bags or difficulty walking up a lot (up to six short flights, I think) of stairs.

I would absolutely recommend Muralla Ziri for anyone visiting Granada - we loved the city, and will definitely stay there when we return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswold
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

The apartments are in a great location in the Albaicin didtrict, just two flights of stairs from the Plaza Nueva and only minutes away from the bazaars. The lady on reception was very helpful giving advise on places to eat and recommending places to visit. We had a standard apartment on the ground floor, the bedroom was very romantic,dressed in a moorish theme and the bed comfortable with extra pillows!. The kitchen lounge was well equipted ,no dining table but this was not a problem for us ,sofa was comfortable. Our kettle didn't work but this was quickly rectified by the lady on reception. Downside the ensuite was tiny but it did have a power shower. Excellant value for money

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdram55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Albaicín
Casa Miravalle Apartamentos
Casa Miravalle Apartamentos
#22 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Casa Palacio Lopez Daza
#15 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Oro del Darro Suites
Oro del Darro Suites
#1 of 136 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Apartamentos Centro
Apartamentos Centro
#14 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Albaicín
Smart Suites Albaicin
Smart Suites Albaicin
#4 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Muralla Ziri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Muralla Ziri

Property: Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Address: Calle San Juan de los Reyes 7, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Muralla Ziri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Albayzin, Granada city center, holiday apartments to rent for days or weeks. Some with jacuzzi, circular bathtub or Alhambra view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Muralla Ziri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing