We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping under the eaves of Alhambra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Ranked #26 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We celebrated New Year´s Eve in Granada. The staff and experience we enjoyed at Apartementos Muralla Ziri is what we will remember. The mattress was sumptuous, the bed linen fresh and crisp, the water pressure in the shower was hard.... just what you need for the first shower of the year.... and the building´s architecture and interior design a delight for the senses.

Room Tip: We had room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichf f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

The view from this apartment Say's it all . Overlooking the Alhambra magic ! Close to everything very good location .we loved the deck . Very nice modern apartment , loved the spa in our room . We had the penthouse apartment , the lift opens into the room , this is a very nice touch . Perfect for 2 couples , not huge , but good buy European stardards , I think 5 people could be a little cosy . very clean . Loved all the little quirky things , eg glass floor in top room , electric bidet , we didn't have any trouble with noise , Turkish bath and massage didn't seem to be happening ,( maybe it's a seasonal thing . )Front desk didnt seem to be on duty alot ,didn't worry us though . We would recommend this apartment , very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: 2nd double room is aloft , with a ladder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murraysdospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The apartments were perfect--especially the service and the attention received from the Mates family. My partner and I just returned from our wedding in the gorgeous Granada and the Apartamentos Muralla Ziri were a cornerstone of our trip and lodging. We rented out all available apartments for our wedding party and friends--one of the best decisions we made. We received the best care from Maria Martes and her lovely crew. Originally residing in Italy, Maria personally flew back to Granada to meet and greet each of our guests and walk them through each of the apartments and the facilities. Planning a destination wedding some 5,000 miles away can be daunting and challenging especially coordinating lodging for 50 guests; however, all of these fears were alleviated with the constant communication and excellent service Maria and her staff provided.

The location can't be beat and was central to all of the major tourist attractions. In the end, the experience we had was top notch and we'll be sure to revisit the apartments in the future.

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing and highly recommended. But note that all rooms are very "Spanish"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaleb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

It was noisy even during nights. It was difficult to find the place. even the locals did not know of the appartment. Appartment seems small. difficult to gain access. no staff on duty.only couple of tea bags. noise level was too high.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alhamra190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great location, nice staff! Awesome view from the terrace on top of the house to the Alhambra. The small street in front of the apartment is far from busy, however the few bypassing mopeds are well recognizable during the night. Consider earplugs to sleep well if you are as sensitive as I am. Great tapas bars in 5 walking minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernhardSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

While the location of this property is quite good, the photos don't properly represent the size and actual look of the rooms. The location is excellent for easy proximity to the Alhambra and surrounding attractions and good restaurants. Without having a proper reception, be careful that you have all the accurate information. We arrived after a very long trip and the code we were given wasn't for the building we were staying. We waited for a long time for another traveler to enter so we could have access to our room. Keys are left in a drawer which meant someone else can use your room before you get there if they desire. The floors and bathroom were not clean and when we requested the bathroom to be properly cleaned and the towels to be replaced with clean ones, we were met with disdain and were told "everything is controlled". The bathroom in particular does not look like the photos and there's no "hydro" in the shower, barely a trickle and the tiny sink splashes water all over the floor.
At night and early morning the rooms are quite noisy with motor and tourists dragging their suitcases down the cobblestones so if you are expecting quiet, it is not.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter but aren't if facing front. The a/c units are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomRec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murallaziri1, Propietario at Apartamentos Muralla Ziri, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Mrs. TMK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the above mentioned aspects of your stay.

- As you saw in the virtual tour, the pictures show the apartments as they are: decoration, equipment and layout. Moreover, the site where you made the reservation states the size of each category, and I also sent you an email with the detailed descriptions and sizes.

- Two days before arrival you changed the apartment type and we had already sent you the access code. Please accept our apologies for not sending the other access code.
However, as you wrote on 1st May, “If no one is available to let us in, or we have any problems with the details you provided in your reception note, we will ring the mobile”. Knowing that something could happen and already having our mobile number, it seems that yours was not operative.

- Apartments are not hotels and do not must have 24 hrs reception. As mentioned in the site where you made the reservation “do not have 24-hour reception services”; and as you, all guests know about the reception schedule in advance.

- Only arriving guests have the access code to pick up the keys, which is changed every X days. While we do our best to provide information, each guest has a personalized envelope with his/her family name and inside there is the welcome letter with the apartment number and the keys that are left in drawer, not in an open place.
I really wonder why another guest, having reserved its own apartment, would be interest on getting in somebody´s else´s apartment without even personal belongings of the new guests.

- All apartments are cleaned upon check out and before arrival. Therefore, the towels were clean and only the hand towel was a bit humid from the laundry, which does not mean that it was dirty.

- I doubt that my staff assisted you with “disdain”. Emanuela, after meeting you the first morning, replaced the clean towels for fresh ones and cleaned the entire bathroom again even it was clean.

- I am sorry that you felt unable to bring to Emanuela´s attention, to whom you saw at the reception every morning, the fact that the hydro-shower did not work well so that we could have addressed the issues immediately. However, once we knew it was checked.

- In regards to the noise, all apartments have double glazed windows, and I am afraid that there is nothing that we can do when people walks on the street or vehicles pass by.


We would have appreciated if you had mentioned also that:

- The same afternoon of your arrival I called you -previously having to call to your home in the States to ask for your mobile number because you did not provide it when making the reservation- and you told me that everything was fine. I even asked you to call me directly if you needed assistance.

- Before your arrival I took the time and interest to call you to the States to discuss the features of the Executive apartments and suggested you to take a look to our website virtual tour to see the differences between the two Executive. For such a long stay I recommended you the Executive with circular bathtub & hydro-massage shower next to the bed; but you chose the other one. Sorry that two days after your arrival you wanted to change and that one was already reserved.

- We did the groceries shopping for you; even you sent the list two days prior arrival, instead than four days before as requested.

- We offered you daily housekeeping services and you rejected it.

- We lent you the key of our home private terrace for you to enjoy it.

- You freely accessed to our storage room and fridge to help yourself with several items that should had been requested.


Once again, thank you for going to the trouble of bringing these matters to our attention, your feedback has been most valuable.

Wishing that your daughter´s recovery goes well.

Yours faithfully,



M. Matés
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here together with our 4 year old son in september 2011 for 3 days. We were on the top floor, in the penthouse apartment. The view from the terrace is fantastic and the apartment is cool, but the kitchen is more like a kitchen on a boat (and no proper place to sit and eat indoors + no table on the terrace to sit outside) and the bathroom is super super tiny. The apartment is "made" for 5 or more people, but I think 4 persons are the maximum considering the size of the beds etc.

We arrived after the reception had closed, which was totally ok since we had gotten a description of where to find the key etc. Only had one problem: staying on the top floor the elevator door open into the apartment unless you "lock" it. We didn't know this and slept bad the first night, knowing that anybody who had access to the building could also enter our apartment.

The building is situated in a lovely area, with lots of restaurants etc. On arrival we got a list of restaurants and bars which the hotel recommends.

We had parked our rental car in a garage nearby and then taken a cab to the apartment.

I think it's a bit strange that the apartment has to be left clean, like no used dishes anywhere etc. Considering the price per night a final cleaning should be included.

We had one massive problem: several other guests belonged to a big wedding party and were extremely loud during the night, they kept visiting each other, screamed and slammed the doors. I always sleep with earplugs but it didn't help. I told them to keep quiet and finally fell asleep at 5am. Not so great if you have a child who's up at 7am.

We slept extremely bad in Granada, we would have enjoyed the place so much more if we'd had more energy!

I like the place but - sorry - will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the penthouse apartment if you intend to sleep or eat in... :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilopilo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murallaziri1, Propietario at Apartamentos Muralla Ziri, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Mrs. HLMBRG,

I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad.

I was concerned to read that you were disappointed with the size of the apartment. The Penthouse is for a maximum of 5 people, no more, and features one double bed bedroom with King Size bed, another with double bed French size and one single bedroom.

In the welcome letter that we left with the keys that you picked up, we wrote how to lock and unlock the lift: “turn the key to the right to unblock the access, push number 3 to the third floor, and then “turn the key towards the left” to block the lift access to the Penthouse.”
Maybe you did not read it, and it was a shame that you did not call to the mobile contact number provided by email and also detailed in the welcome letter.

As it can be seen in the pictures, the kitchen area has a table extendable with chairs where to enjoy a meal; and the terrace has a bar/counter facing the Alhambra and a bench on the wall.

Regarding to the cleaning, we ask to “please leave the apartment tidy as guests found it”. Therefore, it does not mean that it has to be cleaned and as you saw there was only dish detergent.

I am really sorry about the inconvenience caused by other guests, if we would have known through a phone call we would have gone to call their attention, especially for the disturbance for you and your baby.

Sorry that your experience was not as positive as you expected but thank you again for sharing this with us.

Yours faithfully,


M. Matés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Albaicín
Posada de Quijada
Posada de Quijada
#7 of 142 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Cuesta del Agua
Casa Cuesta del Agua
#33 of 142 in Granada
52 reviews
Albaicín
Oro del Darro Suites
Oro del Darro Suites
#3 of 142 in Granada
281 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Habitat Suites Gran Via
Habitat Suites Gran Via
#5 of 142 in Granada
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Muralla Ziri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Muralla Ziri

Address: Calle San Juan de los Reyes 7, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £50 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Muralla Ziri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Albayzin, Granada city center, holiday apartments to rent for days or weeks. Some with jacuzzi, circular bathtub or Alhambra view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Muralla Ziri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing