We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Muralla Ziri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Ranked #26 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well located and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is our first time to try an apartment in Europe and it was a pretty good experience. Note that staying at Muralla Ziri (like other apartments) is not the same as staying at a hotel - so manage the given expectations - no 24-hr concierge, no bellhop, no daily maid service, no room service, no wake up calls. That said, the experience has its benefits. This is the place if you want a practical home base, not expecting a splurge-for-luxury experience.

PROS:
- Very well located. At the foot of the Albaicin, couple of blocks from Plaza Nueva. Away from the creepy areas higher up in the Albaicin but in the middle of Granada's moorish lanes. 5 min walk to everything - the handy shuttle buses to the Alcazar, San Nicolas, etc. down the street from the Moroccan lane of restaurants, 5-10 min walk to the Capilla Real, Cathedral and Alcaiceria.
- Elena, the manager, was great. Although (again unlike a hotel), she is not there all the time - she was extremely helpful when we were planning the trip. She got us reasonably priced underground parking, was very patient when we came in late due to traffic and getting lost. And we love enthusiastic locals - Elena's on top when it comes to that. "Granada is the best city in the world!!!".
- We were not expecting it but Manuel, the owner, had a written set of recommendations for food. Very good and not touristy. Between that and the Moroccan places down the street we had a great culinary experience in Granada.
- Since the rates were much lower compared to a hotel, I was bracing myself for a place that was very basic. We were pleasantly surprised on how the aesthetics turned out - thought was put into the details to echo the feel of Granada's sites.

CONS
- They tried to do too much with the bathroom space. Had a big tub for two people, all manner of body jets, bidet, toilet, granite counter. Although it has nice details, it was too crowded. There was also that strange sewer smell at times. We've experienced that at other ancient European hotels and we promptly changed rooms. Here it was fortunately not persistent and we decided not to move.

We certainly had a pleasant stay and plan to book the penthouse next time we're back. Despite the tradeoffs with driving in labyrinths, we love staying in the heart of old towns. Staying at Muralla Ziri was both practical and atmospheric. Although we didnt need full use of the kitchen, having the full fridge for H2O, cheese, jamon, wine was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellNAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    68
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
151
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Tucked away behind the main square, everything accessible on foot. Staff very friendly and helpful. Provided the perfect base for a trip to Granada. Warm and comfortable. Beds rather hard for our taste.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy8999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We made a last minute booking to stay here, after extending our holiday for another 2 days. The booking was easy and they were able to accommodate wheelchair access easily. We had a ground floor apartment with a jacuzzi. The rooms were basic but wonderful. Elena, the receptionist, speaks good english and is very helpful.
The location of the apartments is right in the heart of old Granada and just a short walk from the main attractions, the Alhambra, etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocosub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Fantastic hotel. the location is ideal and although the driving is a big precarious, once you are in, it's very enjoyable.

we booked one of the most basic rooms, took one look at the penthouse and upgraded immediately! we spent so much time in the penthouse - it was extremely comfortable and the view of the alhambra is just as it shows on the website!

perfect place to stay when visiting Granada and the Alhambra!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

As I sat on the balcony with the sun going down, watching the night lights illuminate the Alhambra Palace, I wanted to up sticks and stay here for the rest of my life. The Muralla Ziri appartments are perfect for experiencing a few days in Granada. You can pop down to Plaza Nueva for a coffee, explore the Albayzin as soon as you leave the front door, be strolling along the main shopping streets in 10 minutes or a half-hour walk will get you to the gates of The Alhambra. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artbomber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed in two apartments - the Penthouse and a Superior Apartment. The location is perfect, easy access to all areas but located in a quiet street. The people who run the apartments are just the best - from trying to accommodate us at the (almost) last minute to sorting out my car which developed a technical problem, they could not have been nice or more friendly. Always greeted with a smile - from the owner, to the manager to the housekeeper. This is a family run place run by a family who really care. The restaurants they recommended were as described and fitted the bill well. We were recommended a School to go and learn some Spanish and a bit of Flamenco, and that was great,too. The apartments themselves are nicely presented and have interesting furniture or design features. They were comfortable - we stayed for a couple of weeks. My only desire would have been for a slightly wider bed - but that is a small point when compared to the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

I booked the penthouse for our anniversary. It was a little pricey but it was worth it and was a great way to end the trip. The penthouse has its own elevator and unobstructed view. I didn't want to risk the other rooms because of the occasion we were celebrating.

The lady who greeted us was very helpful. We found the air conditioning not working well the first night which sucked but we asked them to fix it which they did.

The location could not be beat. It was close to everything. We drove which I would not recommend unless you like driving down small alleys. We were fine and felt it was the best choice with a little baby.

If we ever went back, I would consider staying there again just to have that beautiful view along with a great room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#36 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Albaicín
Casa Miravalle Apartamentos
Casa Miravalle Apartamentos
#22 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Palacio Lopez Daza
#14 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Apartamentos Centro
Apartamentos Centro
#13 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Albaicín
Solar Montes Claros
Solar Montes Claros
#8 of 136 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Muralla Ziri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Muralla Ziri

Property: Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Address: Calle San Juan de los Reyes 7, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Muralla Ziri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Albayzin, Granada city center, holiday apartments to rent for days or weeks. Some with jacuzzi, circular bathtub or Alhambra view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Muralla Ziri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing