We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Montes Claros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solar Montes Claros
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We so enjoyed our 5 nights at this B&B. We were expected and picked up at the airport upon arrival. We had the Persia room which is excellent. We had a direct view of the Alhambra from our king size bed. Imagine going to sleep and waking up everyday with such a view. Wow! Antonio is a great host and most helpful. He went out of his way to help tracking our lost luggage from our flight and was always available to answer questions. The breakfast was delightful and plentiful. This is the type of B&B that provides great memories. Situated at the foot of the Albaycin, next to Sacromonte, it is close to the bus and is a short walk to Plaza Nueva. Because of the stairs within the B&B and the steep incline to get to the door, it may not be for those with mobility issues. However it is worth climbing those stairs. After all you are in a unique and beautiful environment. The Albaycin is a world heritage site.
We could not have been happier to visit Granada from this superb B&B.

Room Tip: The Persia room for a romantic environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirees10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    35
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
259
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

i would be repeating everything the other members have said if i had to describe how wonderful this place is. However, there are some points i would like to make.
i stayed there in the beginning of september for 2 nights, with my husband and adult daughter and, as requested, we had a triple room reserved for us. Very well decorated, with attention to detail.
we were collected from the train station and taken to solar de montes claros, where we were greeted by Julio who helped to carry our luggage and led us to his place.
it is a bit steep but not as bad as expected, and well worth it.
From the beginning Julio made us feel very comfortable and was eager to answer all our queries.
The breakfast was typical spanish, which we enjoyed.
The location is great. if we turned right, we could go to the top, the mirador, the plaza and helados nicholas. if we turned left, and walked all the way down, we could go to the city centre and alhambra. A couple of steps up from solar there was a flamenco bar which would attract bus loads of tourists.
If we go to the city centre there is a bus we can catch to get to solar if we are tired.
we could buy our food and bring it to the b&b and enjoy eating it in the veranda where there were tables and umbrellas.
the view of the Alhambra, especially at night, was beautiful!
i would recommend this place to all my friends and family, who may be prepared to climb just a couple of stairs to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B for two nights earlier this month and enjoyed every minute of our stay. As other reviewers have commented, the service at the B&B was really excellent. We arrived in Granada and called the B&B as instructed and within 10 minutes a car was at the train station to pick us up. When we arrived at the B&B Julio came out to meet us and help carry our bags to the B&B and then up to our room. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful he was throughout our stay. The B&B itself is just lovely. We had a room at the top of the house with a good size balcony and the views of Granada were spectacular, especially the Alhambra lit up at night. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless. We found the location to be really convenient for getting around Granada by foot and there are restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. The only note I would make is that the breakfasts were a bit light by North American standards. We would have enjoyed some cheese or meat with the toast and fruit that was served, or maybe a small bowl of cereal. Otherwise we really enjoyed out stay and would definitely recommend this B&B to others visiting Granada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is one of those special places that leaves you wondering where to start. For us it was even before we arrived as Antonio communicated promptly to answer our questions and gave us recommendations. On arrival we were met by our free transfer from the bus station (trust me you need it as you will never find the way by yourself) and were whisked to Solar Monte Claros where Antonio was waiting to welcome us to this most wonderful gem of a place. We were upgraded to Saba which has two lovely balconies for you to relax and get your fill of Alhambra. The room is two levels with a small kitchen/dining area and bathroom and the second floor has the bedroom and one of the balconies. Everything is spotlessly clean and has all sorts of thoughtful detail. The room and the location are not for the faint of heart - to say it's steep is an understatement - but you'll find it's worth the climb!

Room Tip: Saba has the best outdoor space but also has the most stairs to climb. Not suitable for anyone with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I feel we were extremely lucky to find this little hidden gem in Granada. The location, room, facilities, breakfast, everything is wonderful. And yet, the best is their hospitality. Julio is a wonderful host (
Thank you very much!!). Soon after booking, we received an email from them explaining how to get there (free pick-up by taxi at the bus station). It made us feel well-cared. This feeling continued, or even doubled up during our stay. Just ask them if you have any questions or requests, or suggestions, or whatever it is. I'm sure they will be happy to make you happy!!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are wonderful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hisami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights with Antonio in the beginning of September 2013. The room (Persia, large, some 30 sqms, I guess) was impeccably clean with a wonderful view of the Alhambra. Although the B&B is situated in the midst of the buzzling and charming Albayzín, the nights were calm and quiet. Antonio makes his guests feel welcome in a very discreet way. Breakfast is great by the normal standards of Southern Europe - coffe/tea, a toasted loaf of bread, fresh tomato relish with a supplement of olive oil and vinegar, butter, marmelades and last but not least a freshly made fruit salad and a glass of freshly made orange juice. Superb. The breakfast room is very inviting and just like the rest of the B&B each and every piece of furniture has been selected with the utmost care and knowledge. Between the breakfast room and the building housing the guest rooms there is a small, partly roof covered terrace with lots and lots of flowers - a wonderful place to relax with a glass of wine.The Alhambra is within walking distance and the city centre is only a 10-15 minute's very varied stroll away. There are plenty of cosy and very reasonably priced restaurants in the area. You can't bring your own car into the Albayzín, which traffic wise is a restricted area, but that is not a problem - just telephone Antonio, and within minutes he will arrange for a taxi to pick you up and take you to Solar Montes Claros. Thus a car is not needed. If you do bring a car, however, and you have the time, please do not miss visiting the Sierra Nevada and the mezquitan in Cordoba. The roads are to a very high standard.
Summing up, Solar Montes Claros is far from ordinary, so if you prefer the ubiquitous hotel furnishings and can't live without a tv in the room you must look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorgen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A spectacular little find. We stayed for three nights in August, and the service was spectacular, the hotel amazing, and the location ideal. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderfully genial Julio- from the taxi shuttle from the bus station to recommendations of vegetarian restaurants. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, the décor stunning, the rooms of exemplary quality... I cannot think of a way our stay could have been improved. I have recommended this place to anyone who will listen!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Property: Solar Montes Claros
Address: Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solar Montes Claros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing