We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the wow factor, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solar Montes Claros
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Experience the wow factor, excellent”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked the duplex apartment also called the Saba room, via the web site for a three night stay at a cost of 107E per night. This included breakfast. We received a quick response and paid in full at the time of booking. We left our car at the bus station, free parking, thanks Trip Advisor, and caught a taxi to the apartment at a cost of 10E. We were warmly greeted by Julio who showed us through the apartment, general information about Granada restaurants, tapas bars etc. The apartment was on the top floor, so no noise transfer( one of my gripes) and very quite. On the top area the bedroom, comfortable bed and outside terrace with a brilliant view of the Alhambra. On the floor below, small kitchenette, bathroom and small sitting area. However this also had a relaxing balcony with outstanding views. A very nice touch was several bottles of very enjoyable Spanish wine, in the mini bar, the cost 10E each which was reasonable and some beers. In all, the apartment was extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated and peaceful, what more can you ask. The wi if worked well no problems. Breakfast in the morning was very satisfying consisting of fresh orange juice, bowl of fresh fruit, bread, jams home made cake and coffee. The apartment is well suited, an uphill walk of five or six minutes to some lovely squares with tapas bars and about a 15 minutes walk to the centre of the old town. Julio was the perfect host, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the apartment and in particular the duplex.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
263
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Here is a very nice place to stay in Granada! We had a very good host here.
Also, My wife lost her necklace in the room, and we found it out after we had left. Then we called the host, and he found it and mailed it to us in US.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Solar Montes Claros. We loved everything about it! The location is on a hilll in the Albayzin neighborhood with amazing views of the Alhambra, which we could see from our decks or while laying in bed. We are both very active so the 15 min walk into the city centre and back was not an issue for us.

You can tell that a lot of attention to detail was given when decorating Solar Monte Claros, which had a definite Morrocan theme. We were in the Saba room, which incuded a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink, a couple of plates, utensils and wine glasses. The bed was also very comfortable. The cold beers and wine in our mini fridge were also much appreciated!

The rooms are small but that is what we found to be the norm in Spain. If you want large North American style rooms then go elsewhere.

Our hosts (Antonio & Ben) during our stay were also very kind and helpful! I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We had the Saba room which is the top 2 floors of the B & B. Quite a climb from the reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain-Proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Montes Claros. We loved the location: away from the crowds in the center and great for exploring the Albayzin neighborhood. The bus stop around the corner was very useful: getting around the city by bus is easy and we used it often to save our energy for exploring the sights. The service was excellent and friendly. The wifi connection in the common area was reliable. As others have mentioned, the hotel is up a narrow pedestrian alley and some carrying of suitcases is required on arrival and departure. Packing light is useful, if possible. That being said, we used the hotel’s airport pickup service and the driver helped us with the bags, so there was no problem at all. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had booked a room back in Jan for this place a superior room with balcony - the only balcony we got was big enough for my feet! there was no wi fi in rooms and our room had no view whatsoever unless you leaned out of the little pretend balcony! We saw the room across which seemed much nicer and empty- wonder why we were not put in that room! I feel we did not get our money's worth staying at this place. I would advise to talk to the owner before booking to make sure you get what you think you are going to get and are paying for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiBhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Its hard to reach Solar MontesClaros. We had to leave the car in a Commercial car Park and take a taxi to the Hotel/B and B .. 16.50 € for the parking 20€ for taxis so an extra 36€ on top of the B and B charges. Its a lot of steps but we had help from Ben which was both needed and welcomed. The house is narrow and in the Arab Quarter . The view to the AlHambra Palace is superb. The room at the top of the house was sweet, there was a small sitting room downstairs and a terrace. But all cramped. The decor was very tasteful and created an Arab atmosphere. The breakfast - loved the freshly-squeezed orange juice- was pleasant. Everything was clean and very tidy.
Might be an idea to start breakfast a little earlier for tourists visiting the Palace.

Room Tip: If you are visiting any of the Palaces - book online and at least 2 weeks beforehand. Take the littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenc527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have lived in several different countries- and stayed in MANY different hotels. This one is, hands down, the absolute best. Amazing breakfast. Amazing room...with an amazing view. Amazing staff. Solar Montes Claros is truly incredible, feels like home, and I will recommend this hotel to literally everyone I know. I've never seen such tastefully decorated rooms, and terrific attention to detail. You will feel like family...family that is VERY spoiled. This hotel is terrific.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. One can see the Alhambra-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWilliam392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Property: Solar Montes Claros
Address: Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solar Montes Claros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing