We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solar Montes Claros
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at Solar Monte Claros in June and have very fond memories of our stay with Antonio and Julio. Our room was the Persia room and we were very happy with the size, standard, decoration and layout of the room we requested. It was extremely comfortable and functional. The view from the room was stunning. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location of the B&B was good and in close proximity to Mirador San Nicholas which offers great views to the Alhambra and it is really interesting to explore the streets in the Albaycin, the Alhambra was an easy 20 minute walk from the B&B across the bridge and up the back road a really unique adventure (the Alhambra experience was excellent highly recommend booking an early visit time for the Nasrid Palace). We used the bus service which was easy to use and a simple circle route. During our stay in Granada there was a public holiday for Corpus Christi this added some interest to the Cathedral visit! We found the restaurants along Calle Darro near the bridge and with a view to the Alhambra were really nice for a relaxed lunch. Solar Monte Claros was a lovely place to relax and rest after lots of walking in Granada. The taxi pick up from the railway station was fantastic and much appreciated the driver was superb pointing out sights along the way. We had the same taxi driver to take us to the airport at the end of our stay he was great!
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
262
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

From the first moment we arrived here we felt like we had gone to a little piece of heaven. Everything was perfect. Antoinio, the host was there to make sure everything was as we needed it to be. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully decorated. The location was also a big bonus as it was a few minutes walk to most places.The view of the Alhambra was also superb.I can not wait to go back here again.

Room Tip: every room looked amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We only stayed a little while but it was one of the nicest experiences of our trip. The owners, Antonio and Julio have fashioned a wonderful bed and breakfast. The rooms are beatifully decocorated in the Moorish style, the hotel located on a hillside in the old quarter of Albaicin, beautiful views of the Alhambra and breakfast made with care and attention to detail with the freshest ingredients. In fact everything about Solar Montes speaks of care and attention to detail. Our contact was with Julio who makes the difficult job of looking after people look easy, from carrying heavy luggage to your room, delivering complimentary ice cold beer and water on arrival and answering our tourist questions with welcome advice. We found that our stay was more than just enjoyable, it was a memorable experience. What more can you ask for?

Green Features: Low chemical gardening Toiletries with organic ingredientsBiodegradable toiletries Education for guests on green practices Air conditioning temperature set to save energy
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branchoelhoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We did not really know what to expect of this place, and we were very positively surprised!
Perfectly located in the heart of the Albaicín, beautifully decorated (and rather large) rooms, nice terrace, delicious breakfast... 100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 13 - 14th May, so this a little late (!) but heartfelt nonetheless. We had a lovely two days in Granada and this was the perfect base, near the top of the Albaicin district, a short walk down the through winding, narrow streets between the whitewashed houses of the Albaicin to town centre and the cathedral and just across the valley from the Alhambra - also an easy walk to the main entrance. Best of all, we had the top room with a terrace and spectacular views over the Alhambra and the city and the plains beyond. A glass of wine, perfect views, sunset, the Alhambra - absolutely perfect. Our bedroom was tiny, but no matter, we had the run of a small 'flat' with our kitchen and dining area as well. Service and hospitality was excellent, the owners Julio and Antonio were always helpful and brilliant in explaining directions for our stay in Granada, helping with taxis, and carrying luggage up and down the very steep steps to the hotel and also within the guest house. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Top room has a terrace with the best views of the Alhambra and city
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmental policieis of the guest house were fine by me.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

After a Hiking-Trip in the beautiful Sierra Nevada we decided to spend some more days in Granada, for just relaxing and enjoying the Spanish sun. For this we found the “Hotel“ in the Albaicin, a magic and very special Arabian quartier in – Granada. The whole area spread a wonderful, oriental spirit. It’s very comfortable and a great place to hide from the afternoon heat. In the evening you have a perfect view all over the Alhambra.The owner – Ben, which is actually a French man - really made our stay even more inviting. Especially the authentic andalucian breakfast, with fresh fruits, organic orange juice, bread and fresh tomato pulp (no meat!) made us really happy. A perfect place for a trip to Granada!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinJulianBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We really appreciate this guest house in Grenada. It is a little bit hard to climb up there but the personnal and the ambiance was really nice. The patio of our room was peaceful at night. They give us many ideas to organise our stay in Grenada.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Property: Solar Montes Claros
Address: Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solar Montes Claros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing