We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dancing, mediocre dinner”
Review of Cueva de la Rocio

Cueva de la Rocio
Ranked #5 of 77 Nightlife in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good dancing, mediocre dinner”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very over priced show. Large cave/restaurant with just our table of 4 and one other couple hence no atmosphere whatsoever. food very basic, no choice at all, wine terrible! when we were called at 10pm for the show were shown into another"cave" with rows of childrens sized chairs down each side and packed with what must have been a japanese tour party, half of whom fell asleep during the show. Very uncomfortable chairs, only 1 drink offered during the show, some of which were served at the beginning and the rest, after much shouting, at the interval. 2 shows going on at the same time so musicians and dancers kept running in and out of the show! We were rushed out on to coaches at the end, even though we had booked a mini bus, staff desperate to get the next load in for the next show - chaotic! Told to get off coach after 3-4 mins driving for a 20 minute walk to see Alhambra by night! lots of people in heels, unsuitable footwear for cobbled streets and at 11.30pm, none of this was mentioned in advance. Would not recommend this show to anyone, even at half the price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank john4viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    29
    26
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Expensive, bad show, crass director, uncomfortable seat. Terrible experience for my and my family, the director and managers simply such a bad people.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really disappointing flamenco show.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After seeing 3 wonderful flamenco shows in Madrid and Seville, i was really looking forward to the authentic flamenco show by gypsies in their caves i Granada but was so disappointed. Short dances, no passion, just a money making show and i thought quite unprofessional. If you are looking for good flamenco, villa Rosa in Madrid and Bail in burritos Santa Cruz in Seville...now they were full of passion. Oh and it was expensive compared to the others, in factdouble the price

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“See some real Flamenco by Gypsies!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had heard a rumour about the "Cave Gypsies" in Granada, and their raw Flamenco performances, so with a basic idea of where to go - we headed off to the caves. We came upon this place, it looked busy and the atmosphere was exciting! We paid 20Euro and got a show and a beverage. The show was fantastic - even my boyfriend, who was not interested at all became a full Flamenco enthusiast after the first few foot stomps! The dancers were amazing and ranged in ALL ages, The show was raw and not commercialised like the others in town (where you pay up to 50Euro!) Fully recommend this to any visitor who wants a more unique Flamenco experience. The caves themselves were also amazing - patrons are lined up along the walls of the caves and the dance takes place right in front of you - literally!!! (watch your toes!)
The shows go for an hour and there is a restaurant upstairs (if all the free tapas in Granada has not filled you)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Touristy”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Somehow its like a Disney attraction. You feel like you are running to see the show. One show ends, then the other start. The employees are a little rough, its a really impersonal experience. On the other hand the show itself is enjoyable. Not the real thing but acceptable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie_in_action
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cueva de la Rocio also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Cueva de la Rocio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing