We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories of Alhambra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Numero 8

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Numero 8
Ranked #37 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Welland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Memories of Alhambra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 3 nights in this unique apartment, situated in the Albaycin of Granada. The apartment was clean, comfortable and quiet. Although it was quite cool during our stay (January), we were still able to utilize the rooftop terrace for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at sunset while we watched the colours change on the Alhambra and the rooftops of the city around us. Just getting to and from our apartment was interesting and colourful, an experience we will never forget. What a wonderful city! We hope we will be able to visit again and would certainly stay at this location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at El Numero 8 for three nights and couldn't have asked for more. It is located right in the heart of the Albaycin. So everything is very accessible just by walking. There is a spectacular view of the Alhambra from the roof-top terrace. We spent some time up there each afternoon or evening enjoying the view and sipping some wine. The apartment was cute and completely stocked with all needs for making coffee, tea or even a meal if we had wanted to. The bed was comfortable so we got 3 great nights of sleep. There is even a washing machine for clothes on the floor just below the terrace. -Which my husband took advantage of after being in Spain for a week. Carmen was the hostess and very helpful when we first arrived and explained everything about the apartment and property to us. She also led us out to a spot in the Albayzin so we knew how to orientate ourselves and get from place to place. So thankful we found this place and I hope we can take another trip in the future and stay here again.

Room Tip: Heart of Albayzin. Apartment. View of Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenekika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent four nights at El 8 - two in the cheapest room on the ground floor with the separate bathroom, which wasn't a problem and two in the nicest room on the top floor, which was lovely. Both were great and I only wish we'd had more time to enjoy them and the wonderful roof terrace. Granada is such a fantastic city, with so many great bars and cafes - there just wasn't enough time to relax - though we did try! Maybe next time...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

El Numero Ocho ticked all the boxes for us. Perfect location, eco-friendly, clean, and self-contained apartments in a social setting. We met some great people also staying at El Ocho and hit some local Albayzin bars with them. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to unwind with a drink after a day of sightseeing while looking out at the ancient Alhambra. The apartments are naturally very cool. We didn't need any cooling and it was 30 degrees outside. We drove into Granada and parked at Severo Ocho carpark as instructed on the website. The taxi up to the drop off point in the Albayzin was only €7. There is a communal mini bar in the central Patio with an honesty box system allowing you to purchase cold water, beer, milk, juice and wine. You can use the laundry for €3 per load. This place is perfect for independent travellers on a budget. Our apartment had everything we needed including Fair Trade ground coffee, salt, corkscrew, scissors, a portable CD player/radio with cable for iPods/iPhones and even a universal adaptor. We highly recommend this this place for your visit to Granada.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightestspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I live in Barcelona but just spent a week in Granada in a place called El Ocho in the Albayzin area. Firstly, this district of Granada is amazing! All winding street and sleepy plazas. El Ocho matches the atmosphere perfectly. Really relaxed really authentic feel about it, views of the Alhambra from the terrace, just perfect! It is not exactly a hostal as it has self contained apartments which are great for a bit of extra privacy. One other thing, the Albayzin has almost zero noise all day and is in absolute silence at night (apart from the evening flamenco singing that drifts across from time to time) so you will sleep like a baby!
If you have been to Granada then go, and check out this little gem too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudhon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I selected this place based primarily on the reviews of others on this site, and I fully concur with what they said. This is an outstanding place, and I feel very good about spending my money to support a person of such integrity as the owner (Rafa; unfortunately, I never met his partner).

My partner and I stayed there for three days almost a month ago during the summer heat of Andalucia. In contrast to other places where we had stayed in the region, this one did not have A/C. However, in contrast to those other places, this one did not need it whatsoever. We never felt hot, and for only one short brief siesta after walking back in the hot afternoon spell, did we feel a need to use the portable fan in the bedroom (we stayed in Room 3 which is on the first floor and is en-suite). The bed was very comfortable, and the living room was cozy with a portable CD stereo player that I hooked up to an iPAD to allow for streamed music and news. The kitchen and bathroom were more than adequate for our needs.

As others also have noted, this place is in El Albayzín, which is an incredible neighborhood. After spending several days in Granada, I am not sure why any traveler would want to stay in any other neighborhood if the primary purpose is to experience the city and one is not limited in walking.

Others also already have commented about the amazing views of Alhambra from the rooftop terrace of this apartment. This benefit cannot be under-emphasized in understanding and enjoying Granada and Spain. An added bonus of this amenity is that we got to know Rafa and the other guests staying at this place, as it was part of everyone's evening routine. And, similar to a magnet, Rafa is pulling in a very interesting and diverse set of travelers.

Bottom line: this place is relatively cheap (due in large part to the social/environmental/political ethos of Rafa and his partner as they could probably charge much more), romantic, well located, comfortable, and magical.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

If staying in Granada, you must open all of your senses to truly experience this majestic city. El Numero 8, allows for this. The location is one of the many things that allows for this. Located in the Albazin (the old moorish neighborhood) you immediately are taken back in time and the experience begins. Yes, you will climb hills and cobblestone streets to get to El Numero 8, but it's part of the experience. I will concur with the other reviewers, if your not able to climb stairs, or wish not to walk uphill then this might not be for you. I stayed in apt. 5 which was the smallest, but the accommodations had everything you would need for a short stay. The bathroom outside of the room wasn't an inconvenience like I thought it would be. You do have to place toilet tissue in bins, as the plumbing is old in this section of town (it's not as bad as it sounds...). Rafa, is a gracious and accommodating host who is more than willing to help you while on you're visit. He will meet you at a destination which is easy to get to by cab. I came to Granada by bus and from the bus station to the destination point it was only 5-6 euros. The rooftop terrence is a wonderful bonus. Wonderful place to sit in the evenings, gaze up at the Alhambra and enjoy a bottle of Spanish wine. Enjoy and open up your senses. This is something that the guide books leave out, but is imperative in order to fully experience Granada.

-Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photojohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#29 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Casa Bombo
#9 of 96 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Solar Montes Claros
Solar Montes Claros
#8 of 137 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Albaicín
Alhambra Apartamentos Turisticos
Albaicín
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
Apartamentos Muralla Ziri
#27 of 137 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Numero 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Numero 8

Property: El Numero 8
Address: | Aljibe de las Tomasas, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Numero 8 is not a typical hotel. It is a traditional casa de vecinos separated into separate apartments located in the ancient Moorish area of Granada, the Albayzin. It is also our home that we share with travelers. It is a very tranquil place to stay and we ask our guests to come with respect for the house and for the neighborhood which is all pedestrian and very quiet for being right in the center of the city of Granada. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing