We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived before the room was ready. Staff was not helpful at all. We came back when we were told that the room would be ready and it was not. Room was small but clean and nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlatko12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    250
    51
    18
    5
See reviews for
119
603
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September.We arrived by car using a combination of our GPS and the small map that the hotel had provided.I am a Paramedic so I don't get stresses out easily while driving.We ended up asking a small tourist office where the hotel was and found it easily.
My advice would be to reserve a parking space with the hotel before you go,as this will get you a spot in the underground in the bottom of a hotel located just 50 meters up the street otherwise you will be parking a few blocks away.
The hotel is very nice,it has 3floors,has a lift,and feels like a Morrocan riad.
The rooms are scarcely decorated but very quaint!
Breakfast in the cellar is nice but relatively basic.
You can easily walk to all attractions including the Albaicin.Bring runners as the streets are rough.You can stop and have a drink at a cafe and see beautiful views of the Alhambra.
Oh....I forgot to mention to ask the hotel to book your Alhambra tickets for you ahead of time to avoid the long lines at the entrance.
All and all a very nice little hotel with a very helpfull reception.
Go ahead....book it already!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank getcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The staff is very nice and helpful, when we arrived we were told we hand gotten a room upgrade so we got to stay in one of the suites. The room was beautiful and stylish, we had plenty of space. Free wifi in our room and breakfast included!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyandben08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here on a trip from Valencia, across Spain to Malaga. We stayed for two nights and were really looking forward to it. It looks amazing on the website. Wish we could have stayed on the website! The hotel itself is quite disappointing. A lovely building and a good location but our room was small, felt cramped and we were in a superior room of some sort. We didn't really feel very welcomed which from the website, you would expect. The decor is ok and clearly photographs well but the place just did not feel comfortable. It felt a little sterile. Whenever we did interact with staff (they are not there at night- any problems you contact their sister hotel nearby)

They run an honesty bar- which is a nice idea. However, the honesty bar is locked at night. I don't know exactly why, but this kind of typified the hotel to me- some nice ideas badly executed. If you are going to operate an honesty bar then surely you trust your guests to be honest all the time. Me- i like a little night cap now and then. And when you come in at night, you have to buzz their sister hotel- they ask you which room you are in. Darned if i could remember the long name! The booking site we used (not their website) promised memory foam mattresses- which i had been hoping for as my back is not brilliant. Not in our room. Our bed was ok but not great. Breakfast is basic but ok - and again it kind of typifies their attitude where their website basically says, 'breakfast is included and because its included we are only making it basic'. Its just odd. Pre-apologising, in retrospect, should have been a warning...

I think i agree with other people that this is a posh b and b but the service is not great and we just did not feel comfortable there. Lacks atmosphere. Thank goodness Granada has so much else going on so you don't need to be there for long.

Practicalities- we drove past the hotel a couple of times trying to find it. Its just tucked back off the street near the top. Its well located, the street noise can be a little high in the mornings- the street outside is used by workers in the morning so lots of modeds and little sound insulation. There is a car park not far which i think was 15 euros a day. I found their instructions confusing about whether we needed to give the hotel our car registration or not. I rang them to give it (as we had picked up a hire car) and they told us we didn't need to but the instructions they had sent were quite clear that we should... so we worried a bit about what would happen. But it all seemed ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel is in a good location within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops, Plaza Nueva, and the Cathedral. The bus stop for the Alhambra is just a couple of blocks away. The room was lovely, small, and clean. The bathroom is good size. The lighting is a bit dim if you're planning on doing bedtime reading. The staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast is very good. The fresh baked goods in the a.m. are terrific. Yes, it's a bit noisy at night from the neighboring restaurants but the volume does decrease as it gets later.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsetg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stylish and attractive bed and breakfast - definitely not a hotel. Rooms small and claustrophobic. We were upgraded to a "suite" which was in fact a reasonably sized double room.

City centre location so very noisy - kept awake for hours - but convenient for sights. Poor air conditioning.

Staff helpful, well informed and efficient

Breakfast -continental only but fresh and plentiful. No drink making facilities in room and no
other facities in hotel after 11.30am.

Priced on decor not facilities.

Room Tip: Push for an upgrade to a suite. Ask for rooms away from street to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8TNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is a lovely place to stay in Granada, we had a great room, but the street is noisey especially at night. The bottle bank outside the hotel is used by local bars in the early hours. Otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John32Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Property: Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing