We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was guided by reviews in choosing this hotel for a 2 night stay. Never before have i been so disappointed in such a well rated and expensive hotel. The photos of the Foyer / Attrium look stunning and in real life they are. Other than that this hardly rates as a hotel at all. There is no Bar, Restaurant,you have to ring at door to get in. The rooms are tiny , dark ,noisey from street all night.They are sparsley furnished with no wardrobe or shelving. Look closey at the photos and u will see how bare the rooms are . It is not possible to unpack as there is nowhere to put anything.
The bathroom had not even somewhere to put a washbag.
My room was reached by a stairs as lift did'nt reach. No help with bags. No landing at top so had to balance 2 heavy bags on steps as i opened door.
We debated leaving, but had only 1 full day in Granada to see The Alhambra and finding new hotel etc. would ruin our day.
Standard of cleanliness in room was not great and towels were threadbare.
Hotel gave 10% discount at check out on complaining. But it was still grossly overpriced for what it is.
It would be an average B&B.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room "La layenda de la rosa de la Alhambra" or at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitchcork5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    252
    51
    18
    5
See reviews for
119
604
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is beautiful and in an ideal location for exploring Granada. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. We also got a free room upgrade which was very kind. My only complaint, which isn't a fault of the hotel, is that I am a light sleeper and being in the historic centre meant some street noise at times. All in all a lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Not decided
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

As most people did, we were fascinated by the pictures on their website. They’ve sent me a map instruction, which was very difficult for first visitor of Granada. The bed and pillow was so great I almost felt like sleeping on a cloud. But, if I visit Granada again, I wouldn’t visit this hotel.

About 12pm after I checked in, I asked a staff in reception to help me with booking Flamenco for that night. Without any explanation she said “NO”, suggest that I should ask to the next staff who is in shift from 4pm., I asked why? She pointed at some receipts on her desk and said she is too busy.

If she suggested me to ask the next shift staff with reasonable explanation(such as the flamenco show reservation starts late in the afternoon or so), I would have gladly understand. But her reason was that she was too busy, so I should come back 4 hours later. I though making a call only takes, what, 10 seconds? So we just walked to the Secremento for the flamenco and made reservation for ourselves.

Never experienced such service in any Hotel or even backpackers guesthouse. Thank god, other two staffs were nice.

Some reviews suggested about trust issues of the hotel, and I also agree. There is a computer on base floor, without a keyboard. You have to ask for it to reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Worldwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

The room we stayed in was not so big but the bathroom was huge with a big bath tub with whirlpool. The hotel is located in the centre of the town and everything is accessible by foot.
Definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Got a last minute deal for one night. Fantastic location, really handy for exploring town. The hotel has been beautifully restored sympathetically - combining modern features, around a beautiful old building with a fine cental courtyard. The courtyard is a wonderful space, with the original stone pillars and wooden carved decorations - it is very impressive.

The public rooms are very stylish, but not the homeliest. Wifi very fast.

Check in was fast and efficient. We stayed in a deluxe room - on the second floor. It was very large, and very minimally decorated, with wooden carvings / sculpture above the bed, and poetry stencilled onto the wall. The bathroom was stylish, clean and again, minimalist. Most comfortable nights sleep we had. We passed on breakfast which wasn't included as we booked through a third party (overpriced to buy at the hotel and plenty of great cafes nearby). My girlfriend took advantage of their spa service, and had a very good massage. By Spanish standards I would be reluctant to pay too much more for this hotel - but I suppose it is located in Granada, and prices aren't that cheap generally - we got a good deal however. Also, I was under the impression that the hotel parking was free - it isn't, you simply get a discount.

Overall, great location for exploring - this hotel tries to be sleek, chic and modern - and for the most part it is successful, achieving this with much more authenticity than other hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Small hotel and a decent price, rooms and the general area were literally so clean you could eat off the streets. Our room was on the top floor and very quiet. Although, the hotel could look into a few minor things. Seemed one of our lights were out or the lighting in the room was very dim. The shower was a bit awkard, having to step up into it, a knee high step. Staying here for a longer period of time could be difficult due to no true closet and few drawers, although there are a few hangers and 3 drawers. Certainly was a lovely and acceptable place, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but might also consider trying out something else.

Room Tip: If you require elevators, request a 1 or 2nd floor room. There is a 3rd floor that requires a fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiquiHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We chose to stay here as it looked so pleasant and stylish on the website and we were in search of a treat. However, our "superior" room was a disappointment. We had booked a double room but were given a twin, with no explanation or apology. When we enquired about this we were told that it was all that was left. The room was gloomy and not very clean. It was also quite tatty. The room contained a picture that lit up that could be hidden behind wooden doors. However, the light could not be turned off which was annoying at night time as light seeped through the doors. We had to turn the electricity off at bed time to turn the picture light off.
The breakfast, which we thought was included in the price, was extra and very basic. We were given a free breakfast as compensation for our room but this was not much of a bonus.
As a standard rate hostel/hotel/b and b this would be fine but the price suggests it is a lot better than it is. I did sneak a look at a different room (possibly a suite?) and this seemed better but I imagine it was much more expensive.
The bathroom was modern and clean with a good shower and the hotel location is excellent. However, essentially the website suggests that this is a luxury boutique hotel but it does not in any way live up to this.

One of the members of staff was helpful and booked our ticket to The Alhambra for us which was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask what type of room you are getting and enquire what makes the room "superior" if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlottelevene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Property: Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing