We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, Cozy, Friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central, Cozy, Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great location as it sits near the Plaza Nueva with easy access to the bus, shopping, dining, everything else offered to tourists. Tucked away in a quiet area with close access to the things you want to see. Hotel is nicely decorated, clean, and roomy. Breakfast is great with a staff that wants to please your every wish. Only downside is lack of parking in the area but if you reserve it, they can find you a place in a nearby hotel underground parking (not in this hotel). Spent Christmas here and enjoyed it tremendously.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    250
    51
    18
    5
See reviews for
119
603
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were extremely pleased. Very luxurious, unique, and modern. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very courteous and helpful with recommendations as the hotel is in a great location. We appreciated how they immediately called us when we checked out of the hotel after leaving one of our bags in the lobby!

Room Tip: The African themed room was very interesting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a special reason for staying here and were delighted at pretty much everything we experienced. It is a different place to stay and should not be compared with bland luxury modern hotels. It is VERY central - we walked everywhere we needed to go, including the Alhambra and the Albaicin. There is a minimalist and yet affluent feel to the hotel, particularly the lovely room we had. We agree with another review, that the bare wooden floors mean that noise travels. We experienced this with the early riser above us, and were also requested to keep the noise down (by a very apologetic receptionist) when we were sitting in the lounge drinking a last bottle of wine with people we had enjoyed spending an evening meal with - clearly we disturbed the people above us. The La Olivia tasting evening which was the immediate antecedent to us being told off was equally a unique experience, Fransisco Lilla our host was hugely informative and generous. Well worth booking this through him directly or the hotel. Five wines, 15 courses! For us, we (mostly) liked the idiosyncrasies and much preferred this hotel over the usual accommodation fare.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms might be quieter. Suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorntonhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

very beautiful boutique hotel... we traveled there in March 2012 but still keen to write this review now !!
the hotel building is 400+ years old, and, it has only about a dozen rooms, and, each is called by the name of a music composer. Each room is unique and beautifully designed.
The staff upgraded us to the suite, which was absolutely fabulous... very large room, with a beautiful bed, sitting areas, bose music systems, jacuzzi... one of the most beautiful rooms i have stayed in till date (pics uploaded).

The only downside is the staff / reception desk is available only in the day, there is no one at night. And apart from breakfast, no other meals are available (though there are plenty of restaurants close by). These 2 flaws are well worth the trade off with the experience of staying in such beautifully crafted rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhyanesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli P, Gerente at Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Dhyanesh S,
Thank you so much for your review! It is truly appreciated.
Your words really made us all very happy and proud. It's amazing that you speak so highly of your stay at our Gar Anat hotel in March last year. The fact that you write a review even if you stay in March 2012 and still remember to recommend us to your friends means we did a good job and it is the best compliment you can give us! Thank you so much.
It's a pleasure to hear that you found the Gar Anat Hotel as a pleasant place to stay and uniquely designed.
I will just comment about the reception desk and the restaurant service you mentioned as a downside aspect during your stay:

I have good news for you and I would like to inform you that we have already 24 -hour reception desk available for your need.
We have also a restaurant named La Oliva, well rated in Tripadvisor , placed in our nice Cave S.XVI where you can book your dinner or meal in advance.( maximum 23 persons)

Again, we thank you for your stay with us and very much appreciate and value your feedback saying that Serena de Amarillos suite is one of the most beautiful rooms you have stayed in till date.
We hope we will have a chance to welcome you again at our Gar Anat hotel.
Warm regards from Granada
Araceli Puertas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance of the city. However, if travelling in by car, it is difficult to find somewhere to park on arrival as there is only minimal space outside the hotel. Parking is at a nearby hotel, on the third floor down in an underground garage. This is very tricky to get in and out of, even in a small car. When leaving, ask if the doors to the garage can be operated remotely by the host hotel, rather than with a key that has to be returned to the Gar Anat afterwards.
The hotel itself was disappointing. At first glance the hotel looks good but was actually rather sparsely furnished. There was very little storage space in our room, the wardrobe consisted of a rail hanging over the only set of drawers in the room. In the bathroom there was nowhere to put toiletries and the towels were thin and worn.
On a more positive note, all members of staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli P, Gerente at Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear JBranley,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at Gar-Anat.
Reading your review, I might say that your low rate is due to basically parking problems you found at the moment of your arrival.
Our hotel dates back to 17th century an area that is protected as a zero category monument, there is not a lot of easy parking places in the heart of Granada.
We have more than 10 meters length of private parking at our building where you can park your car for some minutes at the moment you arrive, so you can take your luggage to your room and also get instructions where you can park your car. There is space for 2 big cars in the parking place.
I am really surprised about your review on this aspect. Maybe it was occupied at the moment you arrived by some other clients cars and you were not able to park on it.
You mentioned also that our private parking is in a nearby hotel. In fact, there is another hotel close to us but this does not mean that it belongs to this other hotel.
Our parking is private; we have only 4 parking spaces and it is necessary to book in advance with us. The Parking name is Gamboa. It is true that there are other hotels parking on it and also many neighbors have their own space in the same building. There is a man in charge of the opening door and cleaning and he does not depend on any host hotel.
You are completely right saying that it is very tricky to get in and out of the Parking. Parking in the centre of Granada is complicated, so be aware of this!
Concerning the little storage space in your room, I must say that in some rooms there are not typical wardrobes. Some people do like this concept and others do not. Simplicity and minimalism is not everybody’s choice.
Normally when you spend one or two days with us, the shape of a wardrobe is not so much important when it has its funtion.
Our rooms tell stories to our travellers that try to enrich their personal “world trip". It is optional to get it for yourself or not .For others is most important the wardrobe shape. This is also your choice too.
Thank you for sharing your experience, we will considered every aspect you mentioned and thank you indeed mentioning also positive details about our staff and our localization hotel.
I sincerely hope you will return to Gar Anat hotel and we all very much look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel Gar-Anat prides itself on providing the Granada experience. Situated in the heart of Granada at the foot of the Alhambra hill on the one side and the Albaizin on the other, the visitor can reach all the major sights of the city and explore the interesting and picturesque backstreets on foot. The staff are welcoming and offer helpful advice either about museum entry, public transport and other sybaritic pursuits such as the Turkish baths, flamenco evenings and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable , individual and well-appointed. Breakfast was provided in a tastefully decorated basement and above all ,we enjoyed an attempt at conversation with the lady on duty. We very much enjoyed our 1 week stay because we began to feel at home and liked to talk with the young receptionists about their wonderful city. Our only suggestion would be that the management review their 'complementary tea' as the current arrangement is less than satisfactory . All in all the hotel lives up to the aspirations expressed on the web-site and provides boutique combined with cultural character.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzieverychoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a beautifully designed and decorated hotel. Comfortable beds in lovely rooms, fully modern bathrooms. It's right in the heart of the old city center - a great location for walking Granda, but NOT a place to drive to! Drop off your rental car and get a taxi to the hotel.

The wood floors are great, but they don't reduce noise at all. We did hear other guests somewhat. And the wi-fi only works in the central courtyard.

The available afternoon tea was a treat, and we did have breakfast in the hotel, which was delicious and convenient, but much more expensive than at a cafe.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful. As were the other guests we met in the share areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique

Property: Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Address: Plaza de los Peregrinos 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Gar-Anat Hotel de Peregrinos)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is a small and unique hotel restored 17th-century building set in central Granada. It has been skillfully restored, retaining most of its original architectural features The building forms part of Placeta de los Peregrinos square, in the historic city centre. At the Gar Anat Hotel Boutique, each guestroom is different. All rooms are spacious and bright, with simple decor and original features.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, all ensuite, with air conditioning, safe, hairdryer in bathroom and free WiFi internet access. It is a designed as place of calm and reflection. It offers free afternoon snacks, free Wi-Fi and a typical Granadian columned patio/courtyard. Gar Anat Hotel Boutique is ideally located for visiting Granada's tourist attractions and staff can help guests arrange reservations for flamenco shows and excursions also recommending the best places to visit and eat. There are many restaurants and tapas bars located within walking distance of the hotel. Our small property is a 5-minutes walk from Granada Cathedral and a short walk to the famous Alhambra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gar Anat Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing