We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to try Pastel Moruna!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pasteleria Lopez Mezquita

Pasteleria Lopez Mezquita
Ranked #22 of 39 Dessert in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro - Sagrario
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You have to try Pastel Moruna!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Came here from reading a traveller's blog and ordered the two things the person recommended - Pastel Moruna (chicken pie with cinnamon sugar on top) and Torta de Santiago (Spanish almond cake). They were both delicious! I particularly loved the sweet and savory flavours the Pastel Moruna provided! Service was excellent. We went in at 9am and could see many locals grabbing a cup of coffee with a croissant - instantly we knew that we were in good hands. Eat where the locals eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatnoir-miaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful patisserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We didn't eat in so I can't comment on the café. We took out some pastries and they were fresh and crumbly, the sort where you get your fingers all greasy, picking up the flakes...
I can definitely recommend the tuna pie (empanada). The date-and-bacon, I'd give a miss because you can hardly taste the bacon. They also have spinach, goat's cheese, etc.
While you're there, you should also try the pionono, a speciality of Granada. Read it up in Wiki.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiew_Pang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great caféteria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just get yourself a coffee and... the hot chocolate crêpe! Wow!!!

PS They also have a good pionono and some excellent empanadas. And both the shop and the caféteria look very nice, ancient style.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aliasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely for a coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I randomly walked into this place in desperate need of a quiet sit down and refreshment after a hectic day, and it fit the bill beautifully.

It's a very clean and professional pastelaria and the cake I had was super-fresh and delicious (flat spongey cake layered with raspberry jam).

I also tried the coffee frappe which was also really good and creamy and hit the spot on a warm afternoon.

The guy serving was lovely too - and I saw him deal professionally with a couple of rude tourist couples who simply barked at him in their own language (ahem - English...) instead of remembering any kind of manners.

Helpful?
Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“place to have beer/wine and tapas or any other goodies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

we were in Granada 4 days. Think we went to this Pasteleria all 4 days!!! sometimes twice in the one day to have a beer or a wine and eat something. The guy behind the bar who spoke english was great. Sorry we did not get his name. he was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AsokaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pasteleria Lopez Mezquita also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Pasteleria Lopez Mezquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing