We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of abba Granada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
abba Granada Hotel
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were 2 families travelling together and as I wanted a hotel to accommodate both adults and 2 teenagers in the one room, our options for hotels in Granada was limited. My friend booked this on a discount hotel website at a good rate and I was happy that it could meet our request for a family room. It was walking distance from the train station which we only discovered once we got to the station. The room wasn't quite ready as we arrived early so they were happy to store our luggage until we could check in. When we returned to check-in in the afternoon, there was only one person at the desk. I think she may have been a trainee and she got very confused and took forever to take down all the necessary (or perhaps unnecessary information). In the meantime, she had to answer phones and attend to other guests that came to the desk. The whole process was very time consuming and frustrating and she had only just checked in my friend to their room and still had my booking to go! Thankfully another lady came around to help with my booking only to say that she couldn't find the booking for my room. We had all the confirmations printed luckily so knew that it was just a continuation of their confusion. Eventually she located my booking and checked us in too. The whole process took over 30 minutes. The room however was just great. It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The decor was modern and the bed was so comfortable and really huge. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but we ate there a few times and it was always nice and reasonably priced. The bar was also really great and the drinks and food we ordered there during our stay was really nice. It was a lovely social area and we would often spend time having a drink there before heading out. There are a few breakaway rooms and one night we played cards there with our friends. We stayed for three nights and our stay was very comfortable. I did feel that perhaps the hotel was a little far from the tourist attractions. We did walk most of the time and it was perhaps a 25 minute walk to the main area. Sometimes we would just catch a cab home after a full day. Checkout was another drama. Once checkout time hit there was a huge lineup at the desk and only one staff member. Luckily this staff member was very competent but it was still ridiculous to have just one staff member there considering the size of the hotel. We did really enjoy our time at this hotel though and I wouldn't have a problem returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo110865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    303
    139
    53
    25
See reviews for
95
365
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was a fairly new room with lots of amenities. Everything was clean. I liked that there was an extra door at the end of the hallway at the entrance to the sleeping area. That gave me another barrier so I didn't hear any noise from the outside hallway. My room was on the small side, but I was traveling as a solo. It was big enough for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We selected the hotel on a late bookings website which made it excellent value - although the rack rate looked high! Modern, clean and very helpful staff and just around the corner for the station ready for an early start. Although next to a busy road the insulation was good and it was one of the quietest hotels we've stayed at making for a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just what you´d want from a city hotel, clean and modern. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, and there is a small gym and small pool on the site. The staff were smart and helpful. In addition the bedroom had very thick curtains, so if you are a light sleeper this may appeal.

I thought the parking charge was a bit excessive, and there was no iron available at reception meaning the expense and inconvenience of using the laundry service for an ironed shirt, but these are minor grumbles.

If you were planning to stay for a longer period, I´m sure you could find something with more local flavour or character, (there are actually not many windows, odd as that might sound, and once inside you could be anywhere in the world) but all in all very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, very handy for railway station but a bit further from centre than many other hotels. Good selection at breakfast. Hotel has small plunge pool and terraced area with loungers next to gym, sauna and jacuzzi on 3rd floor. Good value for money.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GJoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

the hotel is located right in the center of the city , closed to everything
the staff were very friendly
rooms were spacious , clean and modern
the breakfast was good and the staff there were very helpful
the only issue as as in all Spain hotels , the AC is very not good enough

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basheersalem06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in May whilst visiting Andalucia for a wedding. We chose the hotel for practical reasons, mainly it looked clean and modern, has a (tiny) pool area and we got it for a very good price. In reality, it was clean and modern, the pool was good for cooling down, and it was within walking distance of the sights. It was cool enough to walk in May but I'm not sure it would have been walking distance in 40 degree heat in the Summer months. One thing to note was that we met a couple when we arrived who claimed a bag had been stolen from their locked room, but we didn't encounter any problems during our stay.
Overall, it ticked all the boxes for us but wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,380 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allegro Granada
#53 of 122 in Granada
413 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#71 of 122 in Granada
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to abba Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about abba Granada Hotel

Property: abba Granada Hotel
Address: Avenida Constitucion 21, 18014 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — abba Granada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish hotel offers an outdoor pool, a gym and a spa with Turkish bath, hot tub and saunas. Rooms include LCD satellite TV. Granada Train Station is 300 metres away. Abba Granada is located next to Fuente Nueva Park and the University of Granada. The historic Albaicin district and Granada Cathedral are around 1 km away. Each air-conditioned room has modern décor and elegant dark wood furniture. Bathrooms come with toiletries and a hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Staff at the hotel's 24-hour front desk are happy to provide information about the city. The hotel’s Abba Mia restaurant serves Italian and international food. You can try typical tapas in the lively Elvira Street, a 10-minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your abba Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing