We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, without trying too hard to be trendy”
Review of abba Granada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
abba Granada Hotel
Ranked #53 of 122 Hotels in Granada
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool, without trying too hard to be trendy”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This feels like a smart place to stay (as in cool rather than formal) with a high standard of design, furnishings and service throughout. Extra large, extra comfy twin beds in a spacious room, with well fitted bathroom, made this a good choice for a brief stay in Granada. Good breakfast and convenient location (only a short stroll to the Cathedral; a bit further to the Alhambra). Under no circumstances miss Alexander's Bar around the corner. Extraordinary place to have a late night drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    301
    139
    53
    24
See reviews for
94
364
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had a pleasent stay in room 503. It was clean. Nice set of ammenities. Fairly newly renovated, excellent bed. It could have been slightly better if the hotel was a bit more in the center but then again it is a 10 minute walk or a short a cheap taxi ride to town. Would definitely recommend to other people. A nice plus is the spa + a small outside pool. We stayed in the first week of January.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank groothov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I was really impressed by the availability of the receptionist Diego who took time to fing for me on the net some addresses and called to check if the places were open and so.. Also the rooms are really nice. With Two children 8 and 11 we had a very nice stay. I really recommend this hotel. Best quality price thanks to booking.com

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrkaiszayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Nice location. Very basic accommodation. The food is appalling. We ate there once only and never would again. Pizza in the pretend italian restaurant was vile. Wooden base with soggy sort of ersatz muck on top sprinkled with too much thyme. Service was poor. No coffee in room. No iron in room or available on request. They have fixed their phones so you can't use a calling card. Only place in Spain that I have encountered this. Quite cheap but still overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisendaMolina, Gerente at abba Granada Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear William,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to writing your opinion about your stay in our hotel; we really appreciate it as it helps us improve.
In reference to your comments, we are really surprised about your opinion of our pizzas as they are home-made using first quality ingredients, they are our most successful dish in the restaurant and in the room service, and we had never had complains about them.
Regarding the time you had to wait to be attended, we had that day many simultaneous requests that caused a little delay in our service, we are really sorry about it.
Talking about coffee service and iron in the room, we have to say that this is a service we have never had in the hotel, as you can see in our website.
Finally, we would like to inform you that it is not possible to call using a card because our system does not allow this kind of cards, but we will do our best to try to solve this problem in the near future.
Looking forward to having you among us very soon,
Best regards,
abba Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel with my family (2 senior citizen parents, 2 thirty-something kids) for one night as part of a Gate 1 tour of Spain. The hotel is located about a 15-20 minute walk from the city center. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel. The hotel is located on the busy Avida Constitucion, but there's a great pedestrian walkway down the middle of the boulevard. We stayed in 2 double rooms. Both rooms were clean and modern with hardwood floors. The beds were very comfortable; I had a great, restful sleep after spending the day at the Alhambra. The bathroom was spotless. Be sure to ask for the free in-room wifi password at the front desk. The one drawback was that the hotel hallways were rather dark, which was a little odd.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were 2 families travelling together and as I wanted a hotel to accommodate both adults and 2 teenagers in the one room, our options for hotels in Granada was limited. My friend booked this on a discount hotel website at a good rate and I was happy that it could meet our request for a family room. It was walking distance from the train station which we only discovered once we got to the station. The room wasn't quite ready as we arrived early so they were happy to store our luggage until we could check in. When we returned to check-in in the afternoon, there was only one person at the desk. I think she may have been a trainee and she got very confused and took forever to take down all the necessary (or perhaps unnecessary information). In the meantime, she had to answer phones and attend to other guests that came to the desk. The whole process was very time consuming and frustrating and she had only just checked in my friend to their room and still had my booking to go! Thankfully another lady came around to help with my booking only to say that she couldn't find the booking for my room. We had all the confirmations printed luckily so knew that it was just a continuation of their confusion. Eventually she located my booking and checked us in too. The whole process took over 30 minutes. The room however was just great. It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The decor was modern and the bed was so comfortable and really huge. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but we ate there a few times and it was always nice and reasonably priced. The bar was also really great and the drinks and food we ordered there during our stay was really nice. It was a lovely social area and we would often spend time having a drink there before heading out. There are a few breakaway rooms and one night we played cards there with our friends. We stayed for three nights and our stay was very comfortable. I did feel that perhaps the hotel was a little far from the tourist attractions. We did walk most of the time and it was perhaps a 25 minute walk to the main area. Sometimes we would just catch a cab home after a full day. Checkout was another drama. Once checkout time hit there was a huge lineup at the desk and only one staff member. Luckily this staff member was very competent but it was still ridiculous to have just one staff member there considering the size of the hotel. We did really enjoy our time at this hotel though and I wouldn't have a problem returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo110865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was a fairly new room with lots of amenities. Everything was clean. I liked that there was an extra door at the end of the hallway at the entrance to the sleeping area. That gave me another barrier so I didn't hear any noise from the outside hallway. My room was on the small side, but I was traveling as a solo. It was big enough for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abades Nevada Palace
#70 of 122 in Granada
725 reviews
Saray Hotel
#35 of 122 in Granada
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to abba Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about abba Granada Hotel

Property: abba Granada Hotel
Address: Avenida Constitucion 21, 18014 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — abba Granada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish hotel offers an outdoor pool, a gym and a spa with Turkish bath, hot tub and saunas. Rooms include LCD satellite TV. Granada Train Station is 300 metres away. Abba Granada is located next to Fuente Nueva Park and the University of Granada. The historic Albaicin district and Granada Cathedral are around 1 km away. Each air-conditioned room has modern décor and elegant dark wood furniture. Bathrooms come with toiletries and a hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Staff at the hotel's 24-hour front desk are happy to provide information about the city. The hotel’s Abba Mia restaurant serves Italian and international food. You can try typical tapas in the lively Elvira Street, a 10-minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your abba Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing