We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value but could be better”
Review of abba Granada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
abba Granada Hotel
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Easy to find on main city road though not well located for Alhambra. On site parking is a bonus. Room was small and plain though bathroom just above average for this quality of hotel. Common areas a little dated, drab and poorly lit. Buffet breakfast was a bonus though staff slow to restock if you arrive much after 0930. The gym and pool areas are a big disappointment but overall the hotel is probably good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

... window (in our room) could not open entirely (it's blocked). Window looks in inner courtyard and other rooms (no privacy). There is no enough lighting in the hallways.
But is it clean and near the center (20 min walk).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Barga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We simply loved everything about this hotel. Our room was very nice and clean, breakfast was amazing - offering local specialty churro & hot chocolate was a nice touch, and Plaza Nueva (from which there is an 850 m climb to Alhambra) is easily reached from the hotel by following Avenida Constitucion (there is a promenade with benches - some occupied by statues of famous Granada citizens - and Christopher Columbus' head marking its end), then taking Gran Via de Colon until you see the statue of Columbus asking Isabella I to fund his exploratory trip to India, and finally turning left to Calle Reyes Catolicos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a business hotel in Granada, locatedat the main avenue.
The receptionist was pleasant and helped us a lot, even upgraded our room without a request.
The room was Large and comfortable..
In Granada itself, there is nothing to do but going to Alhambra. The city is not touristic and dirty, the walls at the center are covered with ugly graffiti.
We stayed only one night and left the city.
We took the hotel because it's very close to the train station, where we had to return the car we rented.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ika165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

When I booked this hotel it said it has A/C. However, they forget to mention that they will only cool your room to a minimum of 26c. That is not my idea of A/C! Also it was impossible to get the room down to even 26c. If you open the window, the 'A/C' goes off! Also if you are out of the room it goes off. So we took to going back at about midday and leaving one key in the power switch so that we could go out and leave the 'A/C' on. Still it was so hot that I never got more than 3 hours sleep any night. The lighting is supposed to be romantic... in reality they are just being cheap. Could not read except in the bathroom! Not clean! Towels were old and very grubby. Only shampoo and body wash and a tiny bar of soap in the bathroom. Also an alarming number of long black hairs on the floor. We both have short blond hair! Also bought premium internet connection. It worked (slowly) on my laptop but would not work on my phone?? Totally messed it up! The only reason I am giving two starts in that the breakfast is actually good. I would have moved hotels but I had pre-paid at the conference rate.

Room Tip: Get a room which has as few windows as possible. They get so hot that they act as radiators making h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaLovelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here when on a bus tour. The room tidy, the bathroom clean, the bed very comfortable. Check in was smooth, staff courteous and the wi-fi worked on the first try.
What more did we need? We found everything quite satisfactory and would stay here again as well as recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank DelrayJack07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Minibar only with expensive water; we were told that alcoholic drinks could only be served under proper surveillance. No coffee or room service possible after 11:00 pm. Free, but very poor WiFi (10 kB/s upload). I bought a Premium internet connection for 15 € for 1 week (cheapest though I only needed it for the remaining two days at the hotel). It brought the real upload speed up to 29 kB/s. In the bathroom only two pieces of soup; nothing extra. For us, it is the first and last time at this hotel. However, the cleaning personal did a good job, but the rest was like the hotel.
Of course, if every things else in Granada is book, you may need to use this hotel; otherwise there are much better options in Granada.

Room Tip: Hotel Granada Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Allegro Granada
#39 of 122 in Granada
485 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#66 of 122 in Granada
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carmen Granada
#42 of 122 in Granada
1,445 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#74 of 122 in Granada
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to abba Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about abba Granada Hotel

Address: Avenida Constitucion 21, 18014 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — abba Granada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish hotel offers an outdoor pool, a gym and a spa with Turkish bath, hot tub and saunas. Rooms include LCD satellite TV. Granada Train Station is 300 metres away. Abba Granada is located next to Fuente Nueva Park and the University of Granada. The historic Albaicin district and Granada Cathedral are around 1 km away. Each air-conditioned room has modern décor and elegant dark wood furniture. Bathrooms come with toiletries and a hairdryer. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Staff at the hotel's 24-hour front desk are happy to provide information about the city. The hotel’s Abba Mia restaurant serves Italian and international food. You can try typical tapas in the lively Elvira Street, a 10-minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your abba Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing