We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, stinky, and had NO HOT WATER!”
Review of Marquis Portago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marquis Portago
Ranked #88 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“dirty, stinky, and had NO HOT WATER!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This place is DIRTY, STINKY, and had no hot water! We were there for a couple nights and all the once white walls were dirty. The room smelled like mildew and there was NO HOT WATER! We talked to the front desk and they said the floor used up its limit of water for the morning! We waited 1 hour when after we were promised it would be on in 20 minutes minutes, and nothing!

I am all about sweet, cute, and quaint, but clean, and hot water is more important. Pics will be attached soon!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else...lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbolton212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    70
    62
    24
    22
See reviews for
66
111
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

An ancient Spanish city Manor, the house of a Gran de Espana, a marquis who tragically died aged only 29 in 1957, in one of the most famous car-races of all times, bringing an end to it for ever.

Not a super-fancy / jet-set / high-tech place but very interesting with charm and a lot of 'atmosphere'. All necessary (and sufficient) amenities, cleanliness, a welcoming staff and close location to all Granada delightful spots.

And life, in Spain, as everybody knows, evolves outdoors...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

It is a very good place to stay: very good situation, nice staff, close parking, free internet, good breakfast with nespresso. The room are pretty big and well furnished. The only bad point is the noise: we were located on the San Mathias street and it was very noisy. We bought earplugs and the issue was solved. I imagine it is the same for all the hotels: the use dougle glazing would be very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de sail g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Portago suites is in a great location and the staff are lovely and helpful. The breakfast is good with a nice spread and good options. There is a nice courtyard and a it's all done up with a very modern and chic interior. We were given an upgrade on arrival into a room that was basically a 2 bedroom apartment. We had several problems with the bathroom (toilet button broken, bin broken, the shower head) but all of these were fixed when we brought them up with the staff.
The room we had was brilliant with our own kitchen, living area and two big bedrooms.

The only downside was that it was on the street level and directly across the road from a club which has a high number of drunk people spilling out of it onto the street and making a huge amount of noise in the early hours of the morning. Also, when the vehicle traffic starts early in the morning it's very loud. This is only a problem in the front bedroom (not the main one) but any bedrooms facing the street would be subject to this. It didn't bother me much until the last night when I found it impossible to get to sleep! Some soundproof windows would serve those rooms well.

Other than that, great place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The rooms are a great size, particularly for a family, and we found the staff to be very helpful. However, the noise from the road is insane. People drinking and walking past shouting until the early hours, mopeds screaming past, and just as that died down, the delivery trucks arrive. It's a busy little road, but also it's so thin any noise echoes around. We pulled the mattresses into the hall to try to sleep, but it didn't work.

The location is great and access by car wasn't too bad (using the rest of Andalucia as comparison), but the lack of sleep ruined our experience of this hotel and of Granada. Shame, because everything looks great from the design to the staff, and everyone was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel is in nice walking area (forget about car), close to plaza Nueva. Probably refreshed not so long ago. Suites are quite big: living room, bathroom, kitchen and a smaller bedroom. Staff is nice.
BUT don't expect having sleeping hours. Windows aren't soundproofing from outside at all. At night since there is a bar/club just in front, you hear people talking, shouting. We asked reception to tell the persons to be quiet, in vain.
And in the morning, cars are driving this small street.

A place not to stay in unless you plan partying.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastien-a-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

zwolle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the Portago Suites for two nights, to visit the city and the Alhambra. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's close to the cathedral and the shopping area and to visit the Alhambra all you have to do is take bus 30 or 34 and it will get you there in 10 minutes. The staff was distant, but helpfull when we had something to ask.
Nice thing about the Portago Suites is the fact that you have a lot of room (a bedroom and a living room) for the price of a standard room in a regular hotel. On top of that, the room looks modern and designy (like the rest of the hotel). The matrass on the bed was kind of hard, but we liked that. The bathroom was decent. The only negative thing I can think of is that the modern looking showerwand wasn't very functional. It constantly fell off the holder.
Another thing that didn't work properly was the DVD-player, which was a bit of a disappointment, because we brought a lot of DVD's and the only language on t.v. is Spanish.
Apart from that we liked our room. It was nice and quiet and we appreciated the good working airconditioning, since it was 40 degrees outside.
When you want to book a room here, make sure that you have a good map or car-navigation, because this hotel is difficult to find. Apart from that, there's no parking at the hotel. It's even hard to park your car in front of the hotel to drop off your luggage, due to the fact that the streets are narrow and busy in Granada.
So, the best thing you can do is go directly to the Trex parkinggarage at Plaza los Campos to park your car. The hotel offers a discount on the parkingfare. From the parkingplace it's a ten minutes walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleguijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#43 of 122 in Granada
476 reviews
Navas Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
522 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
#66 of 122 in Granada
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,096 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#23 of 122 in Granada
545 reviews
Hotel Molinos
#65 of 122 in Granada
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Portago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Portago

Property: Marquis Portago
Address: Calle San Matias 20, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Portago Suites)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis Portago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Portago is a former palace built in the s. Century, recently restored respecting its historical value, providing all the innovation and comfort necessary to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The apartment is named after the Marques de Portago, one of the best Spanish racing drivers Formula 1.Three plants, 20 fully equipped suites with one of the most modern design by the famous interior designer Tomas Alia. You will find suites with personalized service and emphasis on quality and excellence.Two courtyards chill-out with different environments. Located in the historic center, on Calle San Matias, a short distance from the most important monuments of the city such as the Alhambra, the Cathedral, Capilla Real, etc., And the most typical tapas bars in Granada and exclusive boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Marquis Portago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portago Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing