We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Position”
Review of Marquis Portago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Portago
Ranked #85 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were travelling with our 23YO daughter and had a 2 bedroom apartment which we found to be just ok. The main problem was the noise from the street out the front ehich went to late at night and then started early in the morning, but we excepted that as an offset to being in a good position and being able to walk to where we needed to go. The place was curiously decorated in some bright colours which was ok. The hotel was not great but suited our needs wantwo bedroom apartment.

Room Tip: get one that does not face the street at the front
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Marquis Portago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Do not stay here unless you can go into a sleep coma. The noise is unbearable and the management are unwilling to help and refuse to acknowledge the problem properly. We asked them prior to our first night if it would be noisy and they said they didn't know and yet there are many other comments online complaining about the noise so other guests have obviously complained too. We told them we wanted to check out but they said they would still charge us for the nights we had booked. We travelled with three young children so our holiday was ruined by total lack of sleep. The interior walls must be paper thin as every time a tap was switched on somewhere in the building we could hear it. I hope other people read this and i now highly value the comments on trip advisor. I just wish I had read them before my trip. A lesson learned!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joolsireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had reservations for 5 nights, but only stayed for one night! Our room was based on the ground-floor next to the the courtyard, it was pitch dark in that room with only one small window to the courtyard. There was a airco unit in the room, which you could not adjust. It had only one position which was cold, very cold. So, the next morning we left and found another Hotel.
You can park opposite the Hotel in a old barn, but you have to make a appointment the get a space. In the street it self is no parking, also not close by.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This place is DIRTY, STINKY, and had no hot water! We were there for a couple nights and all the once white walls were dirty. The room smelled like mildew and there was NO HOT WATER! We talked to the front desk and they said the floor used up its limit of water for the morning! We waited 1 hour when after we were promised it would be on in 20 minutes minutes, and nothing!

I am all about sweet, cute, and quaint, but clean, and hot water is more important. Pics will be attached soon!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else...lol
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbolton212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

An ancient Spanish city Manor, the house of a Gran de Espana, a marquis who tragically died aged only 29 in 1957, in one of the most famous car-races of all times, bringing an end to it for ever.

Not a super-fancy / jet-set / high-tech place but very interesting with charm and a lot of 'atmosphere'. All necessary (and sufficient) amenities, cleanliness, a welcoming staff and close location to all Granada delightful spots.

And life, in Spain, as everybody knows, evolves outdoors...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

It is a very good place to stay: very good situation, nice staff, close parking, free internet, good breakfast with nespresso. The room are pretty big and well furnished. The only bad point is the noise: we were located on the San Mathias street and it was very noisy. We bought earplugs and the issue was solved. I imagine it is the same for all the hotels: the use dougle glazing would be very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank de sail g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Portago suites is in a great location and the staff are lovely and helpful. The breakfast is good with a nice spread and good options. There is a nice courtyard and a it's all done up with a very modern and chic interior. We were given an upgrade on arrival into a room that was basically a 2 bedroom apartment. We had several problems with the bathroom (toilet button broken, bin broken, the shower head) but all of these were fixed when we brought them up with the staff.
The room we had was brilliant with our own kitchen, living area and two big bedrooms.

The only downside was that it was on the street level and directly across the road from a club which has a high number of drunk people spilling out of it onto the street and making a huge amount of noise in the early hours of the morning. Also, when the vehicle traffic starts early in the morning it's very loud. This is only a problem in the front bedroom (not the main one) but any bedrooms facing the street would be subject to this. It didn't bother me much until the last night when I found it impossible to get to sleep! Some soundproof windows would serve those rooms well.

Other than that, great place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#45 of 122 in Granada
511 reviews
Navas Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
536 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#55 of 122 in Granada
332 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Juan Miguel
Hotel Juan Miguel
#105 of 122 in Granada
567 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
Marquis Hotels Issabel's
#59 of 122 in Granada
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Portago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Portago

Address: Calle San Matias 20, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Portago Suites)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £40 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis Portago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Portago is a former palace built in the s. Century, recently restored respecting its historical value, providing all the innovation and comfort necessary to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The apartment is named after the Marques de Portago, one of the best Spanish racing drivers Formula 1.Three plants, 20 fully equipped suites with one of the most modern design by the famous interior designer Tomas Alia. You will find suites with personalized service and emphasis on quality and excellence.Two courtyards chill-out with different environments. Located in the historic center, on Calle San Matias, a short distance from the most important monuments of the city such as the Alhambra, the Cathedral, Capilla Real, etc., And the most typical tapas bars in Granada and exclusive boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Portago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portago Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing