We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted!”
Review of Bar Avila

Bar Avila
Ranked #11 of 1,484 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Realejo - San Matias
Sully, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was just around the corner from our hotel, the Carmen. It was a great tapas bar. A free tapa was offered with each drink. We ordered a bottle of house red and were offered three free tapas from the extensive menu. Each plate was bigger than a normal side plate and the was enough to share between two. The quality and range was excellent. We went before seven and the place was deserted but within the hour it was heaving with locals, always a good sign.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dai_&_Julie_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    187
    50
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best tapas bar in spain”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

until we visited this restaurant, we were tired of mediocre tapas bars for tourists.
but Bar Avila was a perfect, genuine tapas bar!!!
there were lots of local people and the atmosphere was so good!!
we had a perfect meal there and it was the best meal we'd had in spain!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank estelle_seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“tapas como toca!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Amazing little bar ! cheap big tapas and small ones for free ordering any drink! Staff were frienldy all the time. I really enjoyed my friends dinner over there. Try Gazpacho andaluz is a cold soup drink made of cucumber,tomato,vinegar,olive oil and garlic. Must be served cold and is very healthy! typical drink from south of Spain.
Great spanish cuisine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex84_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great ambiance. A small refuge in a tourist city”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

IS the food artisinal and delicious? Not really. Is it honest, cheap, fast, and satisfying? Yep.

The vibe here is great. And for two sizeable tapas and two beers, served instantly with no B/S, 4 Euros is pretty damn good.

WORD

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local hangout”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had found this place mentioned on a few Spanish blogs so I figured we couldnt go wrong. This was a great local spot- we were definitely one of the few foreigners in there and it was packed so we had to fight our way to the counter. We shared the jamon asado (since that's their specialty) and the ribs. Both solid choices washed down with a caña!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyctravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Avila also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bar Avila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing