We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative, laid back tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Oil Tour

Olive Oil Tour
Ranked #12 of 85 Tours in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the world of liquid gold in our wonderful tours! We'll pick you up and drop you off at your hotel in Granada, Lecrin Valley or Costa Tropical. Together with our English speaking guide, walking amongst majestic olive trees, experience the beautiful Andalusian countryside. After visiting a beautifully preserved 15th century olive oil mill in a charming white village, enjoy tasting and discovering the different characteristics of various olive oils. We will discuss with you the many health benefits and different culinary uses. In our specialized store you will find the best selection of olive oils, cosmetics made from organic extra virgin olive oil and related Andalusian products.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Informative, laid back tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We found ourselves with a spare day in Granada and wanted to see something that was distinctly Andalucian but where we didn't have to walk for an entire day (which we had been doing previous to this with amazing visits to the Alhambra, Albaicyn and Sacramonte).

So it was nice to be taken on a tour in a small mini bus with a friendly, courteous driver. Learning about olive oil processing and how it was made in the past and how it is made today was really interesting. It helps if you are into food and olive oil of course! We learnt about the quality of olive oil and how to taste it properly. We're trying to apply this now that we're back home and are now rather picky about how we choose our olive oils!

Lunch was a slight let down. Unfortunately, because we came during Winter (and we arrived rather early for Spanish lunch times), the restaurant was empty apart from the two of us. So not much atmosphere. Also my very large salad was somewhat ruined by the fact it was drowned in balsamic vinegar. A complete contradiction as we had just learnt how to make a delicious salad dressing during the tour (using just a spray of vinegar). My other half thought the garlic soup was amazing though.

We then moved on to a beautiful look out point with interesting scupltures. A lovely way to end the day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveOilTour, Manager at Olive Oil Tour, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to talk about your recent experience on our OliveOilTour. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed it!

As a result of your comments on the salad at the restaurant we have subsequently tried the dish with both balsamic vinegar and the sherry vinegar spray. So in future the chef will use the sherry vinegar spray in small quantities and he will also leave the bottle on the table in case someone wants more! We agree with you that the salad tastes much better this way.

You are quite right that the Spanish lunch and dinner are traditionally taken quite late in the day so this is the reason that the restaurant was so quiet while you were there. As most of our visitors are used to having lunch earlier we arrange our booking to accommodate your needs. Normally the restaurant is extremely busy from 3:00pm onwards as it is a very popular restaurant among local people.

We appreciate your bringing this detail to our attention.
Thank you for helping us improving our tour.

David Carrillo
OliveOilTour Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    30
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Our best tour" from a 10 year old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We, a family with 2 girls ages 10 and 11 were in Granada for 2.5 days in November and in addition to booking the obvious (tour of Alhambra, walking tour of the Albacin) I booked the half day Olive Oil tour with added wine tasting for my husband and myself. My daughters were reluctant to go but knew they had no choice. We were picked up from our hotel and taken outside of Granada where we met Violetta in an olive grove. It was a very informative tour and concluded with an olive oil and wine tasting. Violetta engaged the girls and my 10 year old now thinks its "The best tour she's been on"
I highly recommend it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Tour for this Part of Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Olive Oil Tour was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to Spain. Violetta was our guide and did a fantastic job explaining to us the history and vital importance of the olive oil industry to southern Spain.

We opted for the wine-tasting add-on and the lunch add-on. Both were exceptional. For 15 euros more, we had our best meal in Spain - beautiful duck confit and broiled bream preceded by a gorgeous (and HUGE) salad and vegetable gratin. Lunch included beer, wine and dessert.

After touring the olive orchards and the pressing facility, our train trip the next day through miles of terrain covered with olive trees was made all the more enjoyable and appreciated.

If you're a serious foodie, this tour is a must!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“#1 on our first trip to Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

After reading the rave reviews decided to book this as it appealed to the idea of seeing something fun and different. We loved every minute of it! We had done a great of walking in Granada and this was nice to just sit and relax while taking in some spectacular views! The educational aspect was a bonus and we learned so much to bring home and share with family and friends. When we were picked up in the van it didn't take long to learn the other family was from our home state of PA! They exchanged their experiences of Granada and stated it was their last day in Spain. It is such a nice simple tour but packed with views, vistas, smells, sights and tastes. To leave the busy city and drive out to the country was relaxing. To walk in the farm was relaxing. To go to the small village of 1000 and SEE the lifestyle was rewarding especially with the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountain views. The tour of the old mill was brief ad not labor intensive. Crossing the street to the building turned tour office was refreshing. Listening to the video and the tasting the 5 oils was fun. Being able to purchase items right there was convinent. Watching the local people interacting in the town "square" was memorable. Driving on to the Valley to see the orange and lemon trees with the reservior in another small town was spectacular! The meal in yet another village of about 3,000 was a favorite treat.
For the price the tour, the drive, the meal, the views, the tastes and the experience was our best activity. The tour guide, the owner, and Pablo the driver were all gracious and knowledgeable. We didn't really engage with Pablo at first but once the group started asking him questions he opened up with responses. My only regret is not asking him more and learning all the great little things he shared. One thing he pointed out at the overlook was the unusual sculptures were from Gaudi and he said he was an artist from Barcelona --a local had the artwork donated and they made a park/overlook. He also pointed out broken ceramics in the walls. One was a pomegranate plate--which he said is the hidden symbol of Granada. Which was WONDERFUL to learn --on our return to the city then we realized it WAS all around us and we would have never known! We wound up buying gifts with the pomegranate design on it. What a great rememberance we will have!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PURPLESCOUT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Different and educational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We did the full day tour and it was only us and another couple. It was nice to have such a small group - lots of personal attention. It was very interesting to see how the olive oil was made in the past at the mill and it was also really interesting to see the olive trees in the groves and learn about them. The guide Violetta is great and can answer any question you can think of! The olive oil tasting was really cool. You get to try 5 different oils and I was surprised at how different they all taste from each other. We learned how to make a nice salad dressing too. We also added on the wine tasting which included some tapas. We enjoyed this part and would recommend it. We bought quite a bit from their shop...different kinds of olive oil, some wine, some salt and some souvenirs. They have really cute items. The lunch was ok, nothing great but we enjoyed the company of the other couple. We then took a drive up to the Lecrin valley which is stunning. I wish we could've walked through the orange or lemon groves though. Pablo, the driver, is really sweet and took us back to the centre of Granada when the tour was over (same place he picked us up at) because our B&B in the Albayzin isn't accessible to vehicles that are not for the locals who live there. It was nice to get out of the city and admire the countryside.

This was by far the most unique tour we took while in Spain and we enjoyed every minute of it! We would highly recommend it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JennyG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Oil Tour also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Olive Oil Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing