We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if you don't want to sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shine Hotel and Bar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shine Hotel and Bar
Ranked #42 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you don't want to sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Sound is a major issue at the Hotel Shine: people shouting all night in the square, bins being emptied. It's a great location, but bring your earplugs.

Aside from the lack of soundproofing, you might notice the absence of some useful hotel items like a rubbish bin, drinking glasses or soap. They kept putting the clean towels on the toilet lid!

Wifi didn't work to start with and we had lots of interaction with staff, who were excellent: very helpful and friendly. When it finally got going they told us it would only work as far as the third floor!

It's an ok hotel, but for EUR80 a night in Grenada, you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyew0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

you can have a nice view of alhambra from the room, this is the biggest attraction of this hotel. I booked the best suite with this view, i thought it is room 302. The building is old, granada style. Interior decoration is a stylish modern way, with all furnitures from ikea. Some furniture's condition is not the best. And the floor is a bit dusty. this would be a minus to the hotel.
Hotel is very close to the nuevo plaza, easy to book tours, have dinner or do shopping.
Overall i love this hotel, would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

This Hotel was very nice and stylish and good value for the price, but as some others seem to have found, there is no reception, and they sent an email asking when we would arrive. A person arrived shortly after our arrival and let us in, but she wasn't the normal staff member. Everything was fine, but we spent the next day at the Alhambra, and found that our key didn't work which meant a phone call and 15 minute wait and re-check in. Also we were leaving late on our check out date, and as there is not staff had to take our luggage to their other hotel about 1km away. This hotel is very nice unless you run into any problems or need to leave your luggage.

Room Tip: Not regular staff, so if cheking out late you need to take your luggage to other Hotel about 1km awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofsamorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Great location, I would guess, for a recently refurbished hotel. Very modern decor, with free wifi in the room. Being a small reception we were advised reception is not always manned and were asked to advise our arrival time, in advance. We arrived on the button but still had to make a phone call to get access. That is as big as the obstacles were. From that point on we had a swipe card, and never saw another soul until the day we needed to check out. The bar was never open while we were there and may be up for sale, not sure.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a central location - surrounded by loads of good restaurants, and in a busy square, with early evening street entertainers, but not enough noise to disurb your sleep

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaNorthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

This hotel is in a great location. Right next to Cathedral, walking distance of Alhambra and the square itself is wonderful. The rooms are also clean and modern. The price, given the location, is also reasonable. The desire to achive the contemporary chic look in the rooms, does, however, come at the cost of practicality (no hooks for anything, anywhere nor any storage space) and privacy (call me a prude but i'd prefer the loo to be behind a proper door). The biggest bugbear though is the noise. Our very pretty looking windows didn't shut properly and so it felt like we were trying to sleep in the square. The noise was considerable (particularly from the bars empyting their bottles into recyling bins throughout the night and early morning) and kept us awake most of the night. A real shame - and we wanted to tell the receptionist, so they could sort it, but they weren't interested in our feedback. Summary - great if you don't like to sleep at all. Don't do it if you do.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsandgrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Pros:
- Very contemporary, comfortable rooms (gray painted walls, long drapes from floor to ceiling, flat screen TV)
- Great location right in a major square. While we were staying at this hotel, there was a festival right outside our hotel (flamenco dancers and activities for kids). Very walkable to restaurants, shopping, tourist sites.
- The drinks are good downstairs in their restaurant/bar area.

Cons:
- Front desk doesn't really speak English but they did try to be helpful.
- Making up the room needs to happen before 1pm (they are a small hotel) so if you want your room cleaned, you need to be out by then.
- Not a big separation between bathroom and bedroom so you can hear everything!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennluvsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Marquis Portago
#88 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Los Tilos
Los Tilos
#45 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#32 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Khu Hotel
Khu Hotel
#21 of 96 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Zacatin
Hostal Zacatin
#28 of 96 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Hotel and Bar

Property: Shine Hotel and Bar
Address: Plaza Bib 22, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing