We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better view than food”

Carmen de San Miguel
Ranked #184 of 1,470 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Better view than food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Despite some reservations about the food, I would still make an effort to eat here. The view south from the Alhambra across the lights of the city is fantastic! The staff are nice and helpful, but the effort to do a sort of nouveau Spanish (which is what we thought they were trying to do) did not quite work. We had a starter of rabbit and asparagus with mustard and lemon sorbet that we liked (believe it or not), and an oxtail pasty-type dish with potato straws that went hard as soon as they cooled. Then we had hake -- very oily and not so good. We thought this was a good restaurant that could have been better if they had done more straightforward cooking. But we still had a great night!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    55
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for the first night of our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were staying at the Alhambra Palace Hotel and after a long journey wanted somewhere near by to eat on our first evening. The hotel staff suggested the Carmen de San Miguel. It appealed particularly as it was on the same level as the hotel and just along the lane. We didn't feel like walking back down into Granada city centre.
We got there at 7.30, just as it was opening and were the first customers so got the choice of tables. We were shown to a table with an amazing panoramic view over Granada below us. We were served our delicious complementary olives and bread whilst we considered the menu. Our wine, rather nicely we thought, was left on a side table near us rather than on the table and a waiter would appear and top our glasses up at the right moment.
Due to travel fatigue and the presence of bread and olives we decided to order main and pudding. However they bought us a starter each, free of charge! It was pretty quiet that night and maybe they needed using but I'd like to think it was honeymoon magic. Anyway, the meat wrapped in pastry was delicate and delicious. All the food was in fact delicious, perfect balances of flavours and quantities. The staff were friendly and helpful in suggestions from the menu and all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impressed by wine recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A short but steep walk from town centre brings you to this restaurant where we had superb far reaching views over the city. Clientele was mainly several American tourist groups which did make it at times rather loud. Food, including anchovies on tomato toast, marinated vegetables, suckling pig with prunes, was tasty. My dessert, ginger cake with bananas in rum and ice cream, was enormous and I couldn't do it justice. Most tasty item of the evening was actually the free appetiser of fried aubergine sticks. Most impressed by the fact that the waiter's wine recommendation was in fact one of the cheapest reds on the wine list and an excellent wine. Service was good throughout until the end when a long wait for the bill was frustrating but it came with a free drink by way of apology.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosieCFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was inedible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The restaurant has a very scenic view, however, the scenery matters little if the food is Inedible. My wife and I had the beef tenderloin entree and it was nothing but fat and gristle. Do yourself a favor and find another restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed very simple lunch, beautifully presented in outstanding surroundings. Service perfect, not intrusive. About 35 euros for two including 3 beers and 2 coffees ... Barely 5 minutes walk from Plaza Nueva. Excellent, fortuitous discovery on our part.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crianlarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmen de San Miguel also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Carmen de San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing