We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Duquesa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duquesa Plaza
Ranked #85 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too much disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the pension. The location is central but the website said it had private parking places and it did not (another hidden website page actually showed the city parking prices) we had to park in a public undergroung carpark and pay €32 for 2 days parking.
The staff is alright as is the breakfast but the room is noisy and quite small. The biggest negative point is that the mattress had some fleas in it!!! We got quite bruised...
I do not recommand this hostel, even for the good location / price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    25
    28
    49
See reviews for
12
58
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Pension Duquesa for a weekend with a friend.

Positives -
Central location
Really friendly staff
Great roof terrace
Clean (shared bathroom cleaned regularly)

Negatives -
Our room was 4th floor with no lift (not recommended for the unfit!)
Noisy
No working blind in the first room which meant in the morning the room was in daylight (we asked to be moved rooms and the second room was better)
Breakfast finished at 10am

Overall, i would not return but if you are on a budget and don't mind roughing it, this is a good choice.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you plan using your hotel as somewhere to dump your bags, wash, sleep and meet friends then Duquesa is perfect. Ok, it's not the Ritz bit for 32 euro for a double with en suite, we couldn't really complain. The bed was comfortable enough, bedding clean, many clean towels, friendly staff and bang in the centre of the city. Breakfast was ok, again, for the money you have to be realistic and if you're on a budget then ignore the picky revues this place seems to get and if you aren't happy with your room, ask to move! Not really rocket science, our friends did that and were given keys to all the free rooms and chose the one they liked best. And all central places are going to get noisy so just invest in earplugs!
There's also a fridge and kitchen for guests to use.

Room Tip: Top floor at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eguilles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Extremely helpful and courteous staff. Great location, great tips for where to eat or visit from the owners. they use the places they recommnded to us themselves. Spot on. Helped discover a great restaurant- Antonio's bodega and another in the Alpujarras.The hostal is steps away from the indoor market, right in the centre of the old town. Comments about street noise are normal for Granada is after all a university town full of young people. I am retired but loved the atmosphere. we cannot wait to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EguillesMichael_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Good price and location but very thin walls, had five hours sleep as we were unlucky to get noisy and rumpy pumpy neighbourghs (at 4 am). Otherwise staff were friendly and helpful. Booking.com is cheapest way to get a deal. Breakfast wasnt an appealing sight so we decided to eat out. Bed very creaky, not a great mattress. You cant expect a lot and we were happy to stay in a clean place even with a shared bathroom. No lift. Ok for a nights pit stop or plan to be out till late.

Room Tip: High up if you don't mind going upstairs as you won't get as much noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The only good thing about this place is the staff who are trying hard to compensate this appalling establishment. We were given a tiny room with a sink only and an inside window that opens on a courtyard accessible by anyone: the only safe option was to keep the shutters close. The very narrow bathroom is also below par. We hardly slept the first night because of very noisy neighbors who went to sleep at 8am. The second night was better as they had left. The other rooms might be better but avoid 104 at all cost. This room (€35 for 2!) should be written off. Thankfully Granada is exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Worst room I've stayed in in 20 years...no sleep til 3am due to noisy students in the street. Staff speak good english and are friendly - the only good point.

Room Tip: Don't believe the marketing photos from the hotels themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJillyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#18 of 96 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Hostal AB
#72 of 96 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Residencia Ziri
Residencia Ziri
#28 of 96 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Martinez
Pension Martinez
#53 of 96 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Alhambra Zoom
Alhambra Zoom
#65 of 138 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Alcazaba
Pension Alcazaba
#70 of 96 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duquesa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duquesa Plaza

Property: Duquesa Plaza
Address: Calle Duquesa 10, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly Duquesa Pension)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duquesa Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duquesa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing