We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #28 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We spent one night at Shine Albayzin, it was a cute little hotel with modern comfort. Here's what we felt:

+ve
1. Convenient location.
2. Charming lobby.
3. Modern rooms & bathrooms.
4. Friendly staff.

-ve
1. My room did not catch wifi signal.
2. Rooms were small.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    104
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
79
224
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at the Shine Albayzin for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The location was perfect for visiting the Alhambra, and close to plenty of restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming and the staff was friendly. Yes, there is only hot water for 20 minutes at a time, but that was plenty of time for 2 of us to have a shower. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I wanted to stay in a "nice" hotel in Granada and was mis-led by others reviews and the hotel's description. This hotel is very overpriced for what you get. Yes, it is beautiful inside, and possibly luxurious for the area, but I have a feeling that you're paying for their remodel. The hot water in the shower only lasts about 10 minutes. My view was nothing to write home about and the breakfast buffet is easily outdone by a tapas bar a block away and for 2 Euros less. They pushed together two twin beds to make it look like a king bed - completely non-functioning as a "king" bed because of the seam down the middle! The room was very hot, and there was no instruction as to how to make the air conditioner remote work properly

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redside33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

beautiful andalucian style wiht modern twist made for very sensual rooms. hotel is located on the river darro with stunning views up to the alhambra. realtively very quiet part of town, though their are few truly quiet places to stay in granada. definitely would recomend, and hotel staf wass very helpful in arranging tours and giving recomendations for food/drink

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NS_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Granada was to be the highlight of our trip to Andalucia with the Alhambra and Shine did not disappoint. I had booked 2 separate days for visiting Alhambra in case of rain, and of course we ended up with our alternate date and made last minute searches on Tripadvisor for this hotel as our other one was fully booked. While services are basic, no food, bar or room service, the room was a contemporary but very comfortable decor, and very spacious (we had the suite). We had 2 small balconies that looked up to the Alcazaba. There is a cafe right next door though for anything you might need (except ice which us Americans like). We were able to walk up through the Albaycin to San Nicholas that night for dinner with a wonderful view of Alhambra (see my review on Aljibe del Poeta). Not exactly sure how to get there, we just kept going up. Coming back to the hotel was much easier going downhill. The hotel entrance is just steps from Plaza Nueva, right on the River Darro and we managed to park temporarily and walk our bags, come back and retrieve the car to go to a parking garage though you could certainly drop your bag at the entrance and drive on through the Albycin. The lack of convenient parking is my only shortcoming with this hotel. So allow plenty of time to get settled in. We had a reservation at Nasrid Palace and were a bit harried. It is really not feasible to walk your bags all the way from the closest parking through busy streets. At the end of a full day of walking it was wonderful to open our doors, hear the river, look out over Calle Darro and up at Alhambra and prop my feet up with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: The suite was well worth the additional price.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank skhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,669 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Property: Shine Albayzin
Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing